Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources
What to know in Alaska.
RCA’s net-metering regulations address eligibility, export credits, and interconnection; applicability includes exemptions for certain small or fully renewable electric systems.
Ask the serving utility whether RCA net-metering standards and any waiver apply to its specific electric system; do not treat the program as universal across remote grids.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
University of Alaska dataset assembles active utility boundaries from RCA service-area files; verify the exact address with the utility.
Electric Service Areas of Alaska — Alaska Energy Data GatewayBrowse 66 reported provider records in Alaska
66 records
Electric delivery utilities 66
- Chugach Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 3522
Reported counties (2)
Anchorage, Kenai Peninsula
- Matanuska Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 11824
Reported counties (2)
Anchorage, Matanuska Susitna
- Golden Valley Elec Assn IncCooperative · EIA 7353
Reported counties (4)
Denali, Fairbanks North Star, Southeast Fairbanks, Yukon Koyukuk
- Homer Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 19558
Reported counties (1)
Kenai Peninsula
- Alaska Electric Light & Power Co.Investor Owned · EIA 213
Reported counties (1)
Juneau
- Alaska Village Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 221
Reported counties (8)
Bethel, Dillingham, Kodiak Island, Kusilvak, Nome, Northwest Arctic, Yakutat, Yukon Koyukuk
- Ketchikan Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 10210
Reported counties (1)
Ketchikan Gateway
- City & Borough of Sitka - (AK)Municipal · EIA 17271Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sitka
- Alaska Power and Telephone CoInvestor Owned · EIA 219
Reported counties (4)
Haines, Prince of Wales Ketchikan, Skagway Hoonah Angoon, Yukon Koyukuk
- Kodiak Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 10433
Reported counties (1)
Kodiak Island
- Copper Valley Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 4329Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Valdez Cordova
- City of Seward - (AK)Municipal · EIA 16955Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kenai Peninsula
- Petersburg Borough - (AK)Municipal · EIA 14856Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wrangell Petersburg
- Nome Joint Utility SystemsMunicipal · EIA 13642Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nome
- Barrow Utils & Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1276Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
North Slope
- City of Wrangell - (AK)Municipal · EIA 21015Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wrangell Petersburg
- Cordova Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 40215Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Valdez Cordova
- Nushagak Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13870Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dillingham
- Inside Passage Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 18963Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Haines, Skagway Hoonah Angoon, Wrangell Petersburg
- North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK)Municipal · EIA 26616Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
North Slope
- Kotzebue Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 10451
Reported counties (1)
Northwest Arctic
- Naknek Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 13201Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bristol Bay
- City of Unalaska - (AK)Municipal · EIA 19454Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians East
- Metlakatla Power & LightMunicipal · EIA 12385Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Prince of Wales Ketchikan
- Galena Electric UtilityMunicipal · EIA 6915Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- Unalakleet Valley Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 40548Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nome
- Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility CoInvestor Owned · EIA 7833Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- City of King Cove - (AK)Municipal · EIA 9897Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians East
- I-N-N Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 9188Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- Akiachak Native Community ElectricCooperative · EIA 192Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- McGrath Light & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12119Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- Kuiggluum KallugviaInvestor Owned · EIA 9832Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- City of Saint Paul - (AK)Municipal · EIA 17898Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians West
- Aniak Light & Power Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 4959Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- Middle Kuskokwim Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12485Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- City of Tenakee Springs - (AK)Municipal · EIA 18541Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Skagway Hoonah Angoon
- Tanana Power Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 18474Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- Tuntutuliak Comm Services AssnCooperative · EIA 19267Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- Gold Country EnergyInvestor Owned · EIA 56739Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- Napakiak Ircinraq Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13211Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- City of ChefornakMunicipal · EIA 3422Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- G & K, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 6866Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Fairbanks North Star
- TDX Manley Generating LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 56503Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- City of Ouzinkie - (AK)Municipal · EIA 14234Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kodiak Island
- City of White Mountain - (AK)Municipal · EIA 20535Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nome
- Atmautluak Tribal UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 878Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- Pelican UtilityMunicipal · EIA 29297Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Skagway Hoonah Angoon
- Kokhanok Village CouncilPolitical Subdivision · EIA 10455Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- City of Chignik - (AK)Municipal · EIA 3421Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wrangell Petersburg
- Chitina Electric IncInvestor Owned · EIA 3465Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Valdez Cordova
- City of Elfin Cove - (AK)Municipal · EIA 5721Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Not Applicable, Skagway Hoonah Angoon
- City of Akutan - (AK)Municipal · EIA 24486Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians East
- Ipnatchiaq Electric CompanyMunicipal · EIA 9416Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Northwest Arctic
- City of Larsen Bay - (AK)Municipal · EIA 10716Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kodiak Island
- Tatitlek Electric UtilityMunicipal · EIA 18480Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Valdez Cordova
- Igiugig Electric CompanyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 9192Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- Nelson Lagoon Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13477Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians East
- Hughes Power & Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9000Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yukon Koyukuk
- Pedro Bay Village Council - (AK)Municipal · EIA 14633Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- Birch Creek Village Elec Util - (AK)Municipal · EIA 1747Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Valdez Cordova
- City of Atka - (AK)Municipal · EIA 56256Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Aleutians West
- City of Egegik - (AK)Municipal · EIA 57351Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- Kwig Power CompanyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 10491Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bethel
- Manokotak Power CompanyMunicipal · EIA 26317Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dillingham
- Native Village of Perryville - (AK)Municipal · EIA 14832Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lake and Peninsula
- TDX North Slope Generating CoInvestor Owned · EIA 19277Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
North Slope
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Alaska
2 state & utility records

New Home Construction Rebate
Alaska Housing Finance Corporation · Efficiency
AHFC is accepting applications while funds remain for qualifying new, owner-occupied efficient homes.
- Benefit
- Potential $10,000 rebate, paid after completed construction and final approval.
- Who may qualify
- Foundation completed/inspected on or after January 2, 2025; minimum 5-Star Plus energy standard; owner-occupied single-family through fourplex.
- Before applying or buying
- Apply through AHFC. Preliminarily approved construction must be completed within 18 months of application; authorized energy-rater proof required.

HOMES / HEEHR rollout status
Alaska Housing Finance Corporation · Multiple upgrades
AHFC says these home-retrofit rebates have not launched, with no estimated launch date.
- Benefit
- No current rebate available under these pathways; new-home construction is a separate exception.
- Who may qualify
- Future program eligibility and measures must follow AHFC announcements.
- Before applying or buying
- Do not purchase expecting a retroactive rebate: AHFC expressly says there are no retroactive rebates.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
The new-construction offer is separate from the unlaunched home-retrofit rebates. No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
Alaska Labor’s Mechanical Inspection section identifies the state inspection scope, licensed-worker requirements, and electrical-safety statutes. Confirm municipal inspection responsibility for your dwelling.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
