OR · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Oregon solar regulations.

Check the serving utility’s net-metering process alongside Oregon electrical requirements.

A view of Crater Lake and Wizard Island
Crater Lake and Wizard Island from Discovery Point, OregonPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Oregon.

Which rules cover your project?

A Pacific Power handbook applies to that utility’s customers, not automatically to every Oregon utility. Ask your utility or consumer-owned provider for its current application and tariff, and the local permit office for inspections.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

State map includes electric and gas utilities. Boundaries are approximate; verify the address with the provider.

Oregon Department of Energy: Find Your Utility
Browse 45 reported provider records in Oregon

Electric delivery utilities 43

  • Portland General Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15248
    Reported counties (7)

    Clackamas, Columbia, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington, Yamhill

  • PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (25)

    Benton, Clatsop, Coos, Crook, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Umatilla, Wallowa, Wasco

  • City of Eugene - (OR)Municipal · EIA 6022
    Reported counties (1)

    Lane

  • Central Lincoln People's Ut DtPolitical Subdivision · EIA 3264
    Reported counties (4)

    Coos, Douglas, Lane, Lincoln

  • Central Electric Coop Inc - (OR)Cooperative · EIA 3240
    Reported counties (6)

    Crook, Deschutes, Grant, Jefferson, Linn, Wasco

  • City of Springfield - (OR)Municipal · EIA 17839
    Reported counties (1)

    Lane

  • Oregon Trail El Cons Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14109
    Reported counties (4)

    Baker, Grant, Harney, Union

  • Tillamook Peoples Utility DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 18917
    Reported counties (3)

    Clatsop, Tillamook, Yamhill

  • Emerald People's Utility DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 40437
    Reported counties (4)

    Benton, Douglas, Lane, Linn

  • Consumers Power, IncCooperative · EIA 4743
    Reported counties (6)

    Benton, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk

  • Midstate Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 12439
    Reported counties (4)

    Deschutes, Klamath, Lake, Lane

  • Salem Electric - (OR)Cooperative · EIA 16555
    Reported counties (2)

    Marion, Polk

  • City of McMinnville - (OR)Municipal · EIA 12187
    Reported counties (1)

    Yamhill

  • Columbia River Peoples Ut DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 40438
    Reported counties (2)

    Columbia, Multnomah

  • Coos-Curry Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4317
    Reported counties (3)

    Coos, Curry, Douglas

  • Idaho Power — official logo
    Idaho Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9191
    Reported counties (5)

    Baker, Grant, Harney, Malheur, Wallowa

  • Umatilla Electric Coop AssnCooperative · EIA 19325
    Reported counties (3)

    Morrow, Umatilla, Union

  • City of Ashland - (OR)Municipal · EIA 907Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Lane Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 10681
    Reported counties (1)

    Lane

  • Douglas Electric Coop - (OR)Cooperative · EIA 5327Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Coos, Douglas, Lane

  • City of Forest GroveMunicipal · EIA 6582
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Northern Wasco County PUD - (OR)Political Subdivision · EIA 13788
    Reported counties (1)

    Wasco

  • Canby Utility BoardMunicipal · EIA 2955Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clackamas

  • City of HermistonMunicipal · EIA 8515Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Umatilla

  • City of Monmouth - (OR)Municipal · EIA 12789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • Wasco Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20138Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Gilliam, Jefferson, Sherman, Wasco, Wheeler

  • West Oregon Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 20385Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook, Washington, Yamhill

  • City of Milton-Freewater- (OR)Municipal · EIA 12615Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Umatilla

  • City of Bandon - (OR)Municipal · EIA 1176Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Coos, Curry

  • Columbia Basin Elec Cooperative, IncCooperative · EIA 4005Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Gilliam, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Wheeler

  • Hood River Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 8830Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hood River

  • Clatskanie Peoples Util DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 28541
    Reported counties (2)

    Clatsop, Columbia

  • Blachly-Lane County Coop El AssnCooperative · EIA 1736Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lane

  • Harney Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 11589Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Crook, Deschutes, Harney, Lake, Malheur

  • Columbia Power Coop Assn Inc - (OR)Cooperative · EIA 4008Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Grant, Umatilla, Wheeler

  • Surprise Valley ElectrificationCooperative · EIA 18260
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake

  • City of Cascade Locks - (OR)Municipal · EIA 3136Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Hood River, Multnomah

  • City of Drain - (OR)Municipal · EIA 5354Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Douglas

  • Clearwater Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 3739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wallowa

  • Umpqua Indian Utility CooperativeCooperative · EIA 65352Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Douglas

  • Columbia Rural Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 4041
    Reported counties (1)

    Umatilla

  • Bonneville Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 1738Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (28)

    Baker, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Umatilla, Union, Wasco, Washington, Yamhill

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Klamath

On-site energy sellers 2

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Oregon

2 state & utility records

Energy Trust of Oregon — official logo
Utility · rebateApplications listed as open

Energy Trust solar and battery incentives

Energy Trust of Oregon · Solar / Storage

The 2026 status report lists solar and battery-storage incentives as open for eligible Portland General Electric and Pacific Power customers.

Benefit
Solar and storage incentives differ by utility and income-qualified program; use the current report rather than combining historical offers.
Who may qualify
An eligible Oregon site served by a participating utility, qualifying equipment, and program design/installation requirements.
Before applying or buying
Work with an approved Solar Trade Ally and reserve the applicable incentive before installation. Confirm current funding and any stacking restrictions.
Oregon Department of Energy — administrator logo
State · rebatePaused

Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program

Oregon Department of Energy · Solar / Storage

The June 2026 update says available funds were fully reserved and new rebate reservation applications are not being accepted.

Benefit
No new reservation available at the review date; do not budget a state rebate as secured.
Who may qualify
Program requirements apply if funding reopens; solar-only and solar-plus-storage rules differ.
Before applying or buying
A reservation is required before construction or installation. Follow the state’s updates rather than starting work on the assumption of a rebate.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.