HI · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Hawaii solar regulations.

Choose an exporting or non-exporting DER pathway with your island’s utility and check the county permit rules.

Sunset above Haleakalā crater, Maui, Hawaii
Sunset above Haleakalā crater, Maui, HawaiiPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Hawaii.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the program with Hawaiian Electric or the serving island utility; a program offered in one service territory is not automatically available throughout Hawaii.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

PUC lists electric utilities by island; grids are not interconnected. Hawaii Energy rebates exclude Kauai, which uses KIUC programs.

Electric Utilities by island — Hawaii PUC
Browse 9 reported provider records in Hawaii

Electric delivery utilities 4

  • Hawaiian Electric Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 19547
    Reported counties (1)

    Honolulu

  • Hawaii Electric Light Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 8287
    Reported counties (1)

    Hawaii

  • Maui Electric Co LtdInvestor Owned · EIA 11843
    Reported counties (2)

    Kalawao, Maui

  • Kauai Island Utility CooperativeCooperative · EIA 10071
    Reported counties (1)

    Kauai

On-site energy sellers 5

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Hawaii

3 state & utility records

Hawaii State Energy Office — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit

Hawaii Department of Taxation / Hawaii State Energy Office · Solar

HSEO explains Act 24 changes and Executive Order 26-02 preserving 2026 solar-credit treatment while later-year rules change.

Benefit
Use the tax-year instructions and current implementation guidance; no universal credit amount is assumed.
Who may qualify
Qualifying renewable systems, taxpayer and tax-year rules; system sizing/certification and ownership conditions apply.
Before applying or buying
Confirm current-year installation and filing requirements with DOTAX before relying on the credit; older pages may not reflect 2027 changes.
Hawaii Energy — official logo
Utility · instant rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Hawaii Energy heat-pump water-heater rebate

Hawaii Energy · Heat pumps

2026–27 conservation-program rebates include qualifying heat-pump water heaters sold through participating retailers.

Benefit
Up to $700 instant rebate, subject to model, size and retailer rules.
Who may qualify
Eligible residential ratepayers on Hawaii, Lanai, Maui, Molokai and Oahu; Kauai is excluded from Hawaii Energy.
Before applying or buying
Choose a participating retailer and qualifying model before purchase; verify service-area and current offer eligibility.
Hawaii State Energy Office — administrator logo
State · program statusNot launched

eHale Energy Saver rollout status

Hawaii State Energy Office · Multiple upgrades

HSEO says the HEEHR and HOMES pathways will be available in early 2027, rather than currently available statewide.

Benefit
No present award assumed; monitor the official launch and application terms.
Who may qualify
Future household/project eligibility will follow published implementation rules.
Before applying or buying
Do not buy expecting a future rebate until the official program confirms eligibility and application timing.

2026 solar-credit treatment and 2027 changes must be distinguished. Hawaii Energy rebates are separate from the future eHale rebate launch. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The State Building Code Council notes county code-adoption authority and housing-proclamation effects. Confirm the electrical, building and fire code in force with the county, rather than relying on a statewide edition alone.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.