CA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

California solar regulations.

Check both the utility’s Rule 21 process and the billing tariff for the application date.

Valley View in Yosemite National Park, California
Valley View in Yosemite National Park, CaliforniaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in California.

Which rules cover your project?

Rule 21 is not a single tariff for every California utility. CPUC lists each jurisdictional utility’s implementation; municipal utilities and FERC-jurisdictional projects need the appropriate separate process.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Statewide service-area map includes utilities beyond CPUC-regulated investor-owned utilities. Confirm the serving distribution utility and any separate supply provider.

Electric Utility Service Areas — California Energy Commission
Browse 94 reported provider records in California

Electric delivery utilities 61

  • Pacific Gas and Electric Company — official logo
    Pacific Gas & Electric Co.Investor Owned · EIA 14328
    Reported counties (50)

    Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba

  • Southern California Edison — official logo
    Southern California Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17609
    Reported counties (16)

    Fresno, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Los Angeles, Madera, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura

  • Los Angeles Department of Water and Power — official logo
    Los Angeles Department of Water & PowerMunicipal · EIA 11208
    Reported counties (2)

    Inyo, Los Angeles

  • San Diego Gas and Electric — official logo
    San Diego Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 16609
    Reported counties (2)

    Orange, San Diego

  • Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) — official logo
    Sacramento Municipal Util DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 16534
    Reported counties (3)

    Placer, Sacramento, Yolo

  • Imperial Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 9216
    Reported counties (3)

    Imperial, Riverside, San Diego

  • City of Anaheim - (CA)Municipal · EIA 590
    Reported counties (1)

    Orange

  • Modesto Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 12745
    Reported counties (2)

    San Joaquin, Stanislaus

  • City of Riverside - (CA)Municipal · EIA 16088
    Reported counties (1)

    Riverside

  • Turlock Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19281
    Reported counties (3)

    Merced, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

  • City of Glendale - (CA)Municipal · EIA 7294
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Angeles

  • City of Roseville - (CA)Municipal · EIA 16295
    Reported counties (1)

    Placer

  • City of Pasadena - (CA)Municipal · EIA 14534
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Angeles

  • City of Santa Clara - (CA)Municipal · EIA 16655
    Reported counties (1)

    Santa Clara

  • City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA)Municipal · EIA 2507
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Angeles

  • Liberty UtilitiesInvestor Owned · EIA 57483
    Reported counties (7)

    Alpine, El Dorado, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sierra

  • City of Redding - (CA)Municipal · EIA 15783
    Reported counties (1)

    Shasta

  • PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (4)

    Del Norte, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou

  • Alameda Municipal PowerMunicipal · EIA 207
    Reported counties (1)

    Alameda

  • City of Palo Alto - (CA)Municipal · EIA 14401
    Reported counties (1)

    Santa Clara

  • City of Lodi - (CA)Municipal · EIA 11124
    Reported counties (1)

    San Joaquin

  • Bear Valley Electric ServiceInvestor Owned · EIA 17612
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City of Colton - (CA)Municipal · EIA 4003
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City of AzusaMunicipal · EIA 1050
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Angeles

  • City of Lompoc - (CA)Municipal · EIA 11148Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Santa Barbara

  • Truckee Donner P U DPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19229Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Nevada, Placer

  • City of Banning - (CA)Municipal · EIA 1192Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Riverside

  • Merced Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 12312
    Reported counties (1)

    Merced

  • Lassen Municipal Utility DistrictMunicipal · EIA 10724Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lassen

  • City of Moreno Valley - (CA)Municipal · EIA 55787
    Reported counties (1)

    Riverside

  • City of Ukiah - (CA)Municipal · EIA 19397Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mendocino

  • Plumas-Sierra Rural Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 15308Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Lassen, Plumas, Sierra

  • Trinity Public Utilities DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19131Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Trinity

  • City of Healdsburg - (CA)Municipal · EIA 8348Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sonoma

  • Anza Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 694Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Riverside

  • City of Shasta Lake - (CA)Municipal · EIA 17896
    Reported counties (1)

    Shasta

  • Lathrop Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 62779Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Joaquin

  • Rancho Cucamonga Municipal UtilityMunicipal · EIA 56224Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City & County of San Francisco - (CA)Municipal · EIA 16612
    Reported counties (2)

    San Francisco, San Mateo

  • City of Gridley - (CA)Municipal · EIA 7677Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Butte

  • City of Needles - (CA)Municipal · EIA 13149Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • Surprise Valley ElectrificationCooperative · EIA 18260
    Reported counties (2)

    Lassen, Modoc

  • Colorado River Indian Irr ProjFederal · EIA 3990Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • DOD USMC Marine Air Ground CombatFederal · EIA 58789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City of Corona - (CA)Municipal · EIA 4390
    Reported counties (1)

    Riverside

  • Kirkwood Meadows PUDPolitical Subdivision · EIA 66052Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Alpine, Amador

  • City of Biggs - (CA)Municipal · EIA 1702Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Butte

  • Shelter Cove Resort Improvement Dist No. 1Political Subdivision · EIA 66062Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Humboldt

  • Pittsburg Power CompanyMunicipal · EIA 58126Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Solano

  • City of Industry - (CA)Municipal · EIA 57194Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Port of OaklandMunicipal · EIA 60715Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Alameda

  • Aha Macav Power ServicePolitical Subdivision · EIA 58123Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City of Victorville - (CA)Municipal · EIA 55962Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Bernardino

  • City of Vernon - (CA)Municipal · EIA 19798
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Angeles

  • Port of Stockton - (CA)Municipal · EIA 60502Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Joaquin

  • Tuolumne County Pub Power AgnyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19174Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tuolumne

  • Valley Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 19840
    Reported counties (2)

    Inyo, Mono

  • Bonneville Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 1738Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Siskiyou

  • City of Escondido - (CA)Municipal · EIA 5969Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Diego

  • Kings River Conservation DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 10325Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fresno

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (31)

    Alameda, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Fresno, Glenn, Imperial, Lassen, Madera, Merced, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Shasta, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 27

  • San Diego Community PowerCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 64289
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clean Power Alliance of Southern CaliforCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61526
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ava Community EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61475
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Marin Clean EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 56692
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Central Coast Community EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61432
    Reported counties (5)

    Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz

  • CleanPowerSFCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 60181
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • San Jose Clean EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61858
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • WestLight EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 60402
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Silicon Valley Clean Energy AuthorityCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 60759
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clean Energy AllianceCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 64425
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sonoma Clean Power AuthorityCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 59126
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Orange County Power AuthorityCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 64928
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pioneer Community EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61431
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Valley Clean Energy AllianceCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61462
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Redwood Coast Energy AuthorityCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 60868
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Lancaster Choice EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 59625
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy for Palmdale's Independent ChoiceCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 65259
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pomona Choice Energy (PCE)Community Choice Aggregator · EIA 63725
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Santa Barbara Clean EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 64555
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Desert Community EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 64195
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Apple Valley Choice EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 60758
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pico Rivera Innovative Municipal EnergyCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61083
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • San Jacinto PowerCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61433
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Rancho Mirage Energy AuthorityCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61471
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pilot Power Group, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 14999
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • King City Community PowerCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 61570
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • 3 Phases Renewables IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 21093
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 6

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for California

1 state & utility record

California Public Utilities Commission — administrator logo
State · cash incentiveEligibility / funding conditions

Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP)

CPUC and SGIP program administrators · Storage

Incentives support eligible customer-side storage and combined solar/storage; Residential Solar and Storage Equity targets qualifying low-income homes.

Benefit
Budget-specific incentives. CPUC directs applicants to the live SGIP budget page for open, closed and waitlist status.
Who may qualify
Technology, customer, budget and administrator requirements apply; equity and resiliency pathways have additional criteria.
Before applying or buying
Work with the applicable program administrator/developer to confirm budget availability and reservation requirements before committing to equipment.

SGIP eligibility and funding depend on the program budget and administrator; this is not a universal solar rebate. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

California’s official code portal links Title 24’s electrical, building and fire parts. Confirm the edition governing the permit application and local amendments with the reviewing authority.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.