AZ · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Arizona solar regulations.

Use the serving utility’s distributed-generation process and confirm local permit requirements separately.

Grand Canyon from Powell Point, Arizona
Grand Canyon from Powell Point, ArizonaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Arizona.

Which rules cover your project?

UniSource’s instructions describe its territory and regulated-utility rules. Confirm the equivalent tariff with APS, SRP, a cooperative, or your municipal provider.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Includes electric-company maps. City, district and tribal utility service is outside ACC electric ratemaking jurisdiction; confirm boundary addresses.

Electric utilities and service-area maps — Arizona Corporation Commission
Browse 53 reported provider records in Arizona

Electric delivery utilities 47

  • Arizona Public Service — official logo
    Arizona Public Service CoInvestor Owned · EIA 803
    Reported counties (14)

    Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo, Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, Yavapai, Yuma

  • Salt River Project — official logo
    Salt River ProjectPolitical Subdivision · EIA 16572
    Reported counties (3)

    Gila, Maricopa, Pinal

  • Tucson Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 24211
    Reported counties (2)

    Cochise, Pima

  • UNS Electric, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 19728
    Reported counties (2)

    Mohave, Santa Cruz

  • Trico Electric Cooperative IncCooperative · EIA 19189
    Reported counties (3)

    Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz

  • Sulphur Springs Valley E C IncCooperative · EIA 18280
    Reported counties (4)

    Cochise, Graham, Pima, Santa Cruz

  • Mohave Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative · EIA 21538
    Reported counties (3)

    Coconino, Mohave, Yavapai

  • Navopache Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13318
    Reported counties (4)

    Apache, Gila, Greenlee, Navajo

  • Electrical Dist No3 Pinal CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 30518
    Reported counties (1)

    Pinal

  • Navajo Tribal Utility AuthorityState · EIA 13314
    Reported counties (3)

    Apache, Coconino, Navajo

  • City of Mesa - (AZ)Municipal · EIA 12351
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • USBIA-San Carlos ProjectFederal · EIA 19604
    Reported counties (5)

    Gila, Graham, Maricopa, Pima, Pinal

  • Graham County Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 7456Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Graham

  • City of Safford - (AZ)Municipal · EIA 16538Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Graham

  • Electrical Dist No2 Pinal CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 15048
    Reported counties (1)

    Pinal

  • Page Utility EnterprisesMunicipal · EIA 14373Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Coconino

  • Wellton-Mohawk Irr & Drain DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 25060Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Yuma

  • Tohono O'Odham Utility AuthorityPolitical Subdivision · EIA 14543Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Maricopa, Pima, Pinal

  • Electrical Dist No4 Pinal CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 15049Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pinal

  • Town of Thatcher- (AZ)Municipal · EIA 18805Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Graham

  • Dixie Escalante R E A, IncCooperative · EIA 40165
    Reported counties (1)

    Mohave

  • Gila River Indian Utility Authority (GRICUA)Cooperative · EIA 65261
    Reported counties (2)

    Maricopa, Pinal

  • City of Williams - AZMunicipal · EIA 56535Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Coconino

  • Duncan Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5438Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Graham, Greenlee

  • Morenci Water and ElectricInvestor Owned · EIA 12919
    Reported counties (1)

    Greenlee

  • Hohokam Irr & Drain DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 8700Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pinal

  • Colorado River Indian Irr ProjFederal · EIA 3990Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    La Paz

  • Town of WickenburgMunicipal · EIA 20618Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Garkane Energy Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 6957
    Reported counties (2)

    Coconino, Mohave

  • Town of Fredonia - (AZ)Municipal · EIA 6753Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Coconino

  • Ajo Improvement CoInvestor Owned · EIA 176
    Reported counties (1)

    Pima

  • Aha Macav Power ServicePolitical Subdivision · EIA 58123Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mohave

  • Columbus Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4071Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cochise

  • Ak-Chin Electric Utility AuthorityState · EIA 25866
    Reported counties (1)

    Pinal

  • Roosevelt Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 16273Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • McMullen Valley Water C&D DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 12191Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    La Paz

  • Ocotillo Water Conserv. Dist.Political Subdivision · EIA 13961Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Electrical Dist No6 Pinal CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 40357Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Buckeye Water C&D DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 2469Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Harquahala Valley Pwr DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 8139Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Maricopa County M W C Dist #1Political Subdivision · EIA 40355Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Electrical Dist No7 MaricopaPolitical Subdivision · EIA 21239Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tonopah Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19016Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Aguila Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 737Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Electrical Dist No8 MaricopaPolitical Subdivision · EIA 5729Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Maricopa

  • Southern California Edison — official logo
    Southern California Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    La Paz

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (12)

    Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, Yuma

On-site energy sellers 6

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Arizona

1 state & utility record

Arizona Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

Credit for Solar Energy Devices

Arizona Department of Revenue · Solar

Nonrefundable individual income-tax credit for qualifying purchased solar devices installed at an Arizona residence.

Benefit
Current statute: 25% of device cost, with a $1,000 maximum credit and $1,000 cumulative cap for the same residence; unused credit may carry forward up to five years.
Who may qualify
Individual taxpayer installing a qualifying device at an Arizona residence. Purchased devices qualify; leases/PPAs do not qualify under the published instructions.
Before applying or buying
Retain installation and compliance records and use the tax-year form. Confirm current-year requirements before relying on the credit.

The state solar tax credit is distinct from federal credits and utility export compensation. This is not a cash rebate or an eligibility guarantee. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Use your city or county permit office. Phoenix, for example, publishes a residential SolarAPP+ process and identifies a separate fire permit; that example is not a statewide permit rule.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.