ID · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Idaho solar regulations.

Check the export-credit tariff separately from the technical interconnection requirements.

View from Inferno Cone at Craters of the Moon, Idaho
View from Inferno Cone at Craters of the Moon, IdahoPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Idaho.

Which rules cover your project?

The schedules cited here are Idaho Power’s. Confirm the approved tariff and connection rules with Avista, Rocky Mountain Power, a cooperative, or a municipal utility if it serves your address.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official maps distinguish investor-owned, cooperative and municipal electric areas; confirm service at the project address.

Utility service-area maps — Idaho PUC
Browse 32 reported provider records in Idaho

Electric delivery utilities 32

  • Idaho Power — official logo
    Idaho Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9191
    Reported counties (24)

    Ada, Adams, Bannock, Bingham, Blaine, Boise, Camas, Canyon, Cassia, Elmore, Gem, Gooding, Idaho, Jerome, Lemhi, Lincoln, Minidoka, Oneida, Owyhee, Payette, Power, Twin Falls, Valley, Washington

  • Avista CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 20169
    Reported counties (9)

    Benewah, Bonner, Clearwater, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce, Shoshone

  • Rocky Mountain Power — official logo
    PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (14)

    Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Clark, Franklin, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison, Oneida, Power, Teton

  • Kootenai Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 10454
    Reported counties (3)

    Benewah, Bonner, Kootenai

  • City of Idaho Falls - (ID)Municipal · EIA 9187
    Reported counties (1)

    Bonneville

  • Northern Lights, IncCooperative · EIA 13758
    Reported counties (3)

    Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai

  • Fall River Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 6169
    Reported counties (5)

    Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison, Teton

  • Clearwater Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 3739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Benewah, Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce, Shoshone

  • City of Burley - (ID)Municipal · EIA 2545Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cassia, Minidoka

  • United Electric Co-op, Inc - (ID)Cooperative · EIA 19502
    Reported counties (2)

    Cassia, Minidoka

  • Idaho County L&P Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 9186Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Idaho, Lewis

  • City of Weiser - (ID)Municipal · EIA 20297Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • City of Rupert - (ID)Municipal · EIA 16416Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minidoka

  • Lost River Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 11211Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Blaine, Butte, Custer

  • City of Bonners Ferry (ID)Municipal · EIA 1956Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boundary

  • Salmon River Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 16565
    Reported counties (3)

    Blaine, Custer, Lemhi

  • Inland Power & Light CompanyCooperative · EIA 8699
    Reported counties (3)

    Benewah, Bonner, Kootenai

  • City of Soda Springs - (ID)Municipal · EIA 17493Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Caribou

  • City of Heyburn - (ID)Municipal · EIA 8532Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minidoka

  • Lower Valley Energy IncCooperative · EIA 11273
    Reported counties (2)

    Bonneville, Caribou

  • Raft Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 22814
    Reported counties (4)

    Cassia, Oneida, Owyhee, Power

  • City of Plummer - (ID)Municipal · EIA 15297Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Benewah

  • South Side Electric, IncCooperative · EIA 17576Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cassia

  • East End Mutual Elec Co LtdCooperative · EIA 5584Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cassia, Minidoka

  • Riverside Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 56536Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minidoka

  • City of Albion - (ID)Municipal · EIA 244Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cassia

  • Farmers Electric Company, Ltd - (ID)Cooperative · EIA 6155Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minidoka

  • City of Declo - (ID)Municipal · EIA 7084Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cassia

  • Missoula Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 12692
    Reported counties (1)

    Idaho

  • Vigilante Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 23586Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Bonneville Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 1738Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (16)

    Bingham, Bonner, Butte, Clearwater, Custer, Elmore, Fremont, Gem, Jefferson, Kootenai, Latah, Madison, Nez Perce, Power, Shoshone, Teton

  • City of Minidoka - (ID)Municipal · EIA 12609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minidoka

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Idaho

1 state & utility record

Idaho Power — administrator logo
Utility · cash rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Heating and Cooling Efficiency Program

Idaho Power · Heat pumps

Cash incentives cover eligible residential heating/cooling equipment and services, including specified heat-pump measures.

Benefit
Equipment-specific incentives; check the current existing-home or new-construction schedule.
Who may qualify
Idaho Power residential customers and qualified homes/equipment; not all fuel-switching or replacements qualify.
Before applying or buying
Check terms and required participating/licensed contractor before ordering; complete the applicable worksheet and incentive submission.

No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified. Idaho Power efficiency rebates apply only in its territory and vary by existing/new-home equipment. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Idaho DOPL publishes on-site inspection documentation requirements for grid-connected and non-grid-connected renewable energy and storage systems.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.