CO · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Colorado solar regulations.

Verify the utility type, approved system size, and export-credit election before final design.

Maroon Bells and Maroon Lake, Colorado
Maroon Bells and Maroon Lake, ColoradoPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Colorado.

Which rules cover your project?

Do not apply investor-owned utility rules automatically to a municipal utility or cooperative. Obtain the current tariff and interconnection checklist from the provider on your bill.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official retail electric-service boundary dataset. Confirm address-level service and whether a municipal/cooperative or investor-owned utility serves the property.

Utilities Boundaries — Colorado Geospatial Data Portal
Browse 66 reported provider records in Colorado

Electric delivery utilities 59

  • Xcel Energy — official logo
    Public Service Co of ColoradoInvestor Owned · EIA 15466
    Reported counties (56)

    Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Delta, Denver, Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, El Paso, Elbert, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, La Plata, Lake, Larimer, Las Animas, Logan, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Morgan, Otero, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Miguel, Summit, Teller, Washington, Weld, Yuma

  • City of Colorado Springs - (CO)Municipal · EIA 3989
    Reported counties (2)

    El Paso, Teller

  • CORE Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 9336
    Reported counties (11)

    Adams, Arapahoe, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Douglas, El Paso, Elbert, Fremont, Jefferson, Park, Teller

  • United Power, IncCooperative · EIA 19499
    Reported counties (6)

    Adams, Boulder, Broomfield, Gilpin, Jefferson, Weld

  • Black Hills Colorado Electric, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 56146
    Reported counties (7)

    Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Otero, Pueblo, Teller

  • City of Fort Collins - (CO)Municipal · EIA 6604
    Reported counties (1)

    Larimer

  • Mountain View Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 13058
    Reported counties (8)

    Arapahoe, Crowley, Douglas, El Paso, Elbert, Lincoln, Pueblo, Washington

  • Poudre Valley REA, IncCooperative · EIA 15257
    Reported counties (3)

    Boulder, Larimer, Weld

  • Holy Cross Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 8773
    Reported counties (5)

    Eagle, Garfield, Gunnison, Mesa, Pitkin

  • City of LongmontMunicipal · EIA 11187
    Reported counties (2)

    Boulder, Weld

  • La Plata Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 10539
    Reported counties (5)

    Archuleta, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, San Juan

  • City of Loveland - (CO)Municipal · EIA 11256
    Reported counties (1)

    Larimer

  • Delta Montrose Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 5086
    Reported counties (4)

    Delta, Gunnison, Montrose, Ouray

  • Yampa Valley Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 21081
    Reported counties (5)

    Eagle, Grand, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt

  • San Isabel Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 16616
    Reported counties (7)

    Costilla, Custer, Fremont, Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, Pueblo

  • Mountain Parks Electric, IncCooperative · EIA 13050
    Reported counties (5)

    Grand, Jackson, Larimer, Routt, Summit

  • Grand Valley PowerCooperative · EIA 7563
    Reported counties (3)

    Delta, Garfield, Mesa

  • City of FountainMunicipal · EIA 6638
    Reported counties (1)

    El Paso

  • Sangre De Cristo Elec Assn IncCooperative · EIA 16649Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake, Saguache

  • Empire Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 5862
    Reported counties (3)

    Dolores, Montezuma, San Miguel

  • San Miguel Power Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 16622
    Reported counties (6)

    Dolores, Mesa, Montrose, Ouray, San Juan, San Miguel

  • Gunnison County Elec Assn.Cooperative · EIA 7787Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Gunnison, Hinsdale, Saguache

  • Town of Estes ParkMunicipal · EIA 5997Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Boulder, Larimer

  • San Luis Valley R E C, IncCooperative · EIA 16603
    Reported counties (7)

    Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Hinsdale, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache

  • Southeast Colorado Power AssnCooperative · EIA 17592
    Reported counties (11)

    Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, El Paso, Kiowa, Las Animas, Lincoln, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo

  • City of Glenwood Springs - (CO)Municipal · EIA 7300Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Garfield

  • Morgan County Rural Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 12860
    Reported counties (6)

    Adams, Arapahoe, Logan, Morgan, Washington, Weld

  • City of Fort MorganMunicipal · EIA 6610
    Reported counties (1)

    Morgan

  • Highline Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 8570
    Reported counties (7)

    Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, Yuma

  • Y-W Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 21075
    Reported counties (2)

    Washington, Yuma

  • City of Gunnison - (CO)Municipal · EIA 7826Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gunnison

  • City of Trinidad - (CO)Municipal · EIA 19204Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Las Animas

  • City of Lamar - (CO)Municipal · EIA 10633Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Bent, Prowers

  • City of La Junta - (CO)Municipal · EIA 10536Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Otero

  • City of Delta - (CO)Municipal · EIA 5036Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Delta

  • K C Electric AssociationCooperative · EIA 10066
    Reported counties (4)

    Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lincoln

  • City of Aspen- (CO)Municipal · EIA 918Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitkin

  • White River Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 20576
    Reported counties (3)

    Garfield, Moffat, Rio Blanco

  • City of Las Animas - (CO)Municipal · EIA 10730Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bent

  • City of Burlington - (CO)Municipal · EIA 2550Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kit Carson

  • City of Yuma - (CO)Municipal · EIA 21143Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Yuma

  • Moon Lake Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 12866
    Reported counties (3)

    Garfield, Moffat, Rio Blanco

  • City of Center - (CO)Municipal · EIA 3227Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Rio Grande, Saguache

  • City of WrayMunicipal · EIA 21021Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Yuma

  • City of Holyoke - (CO)Municipal · EIA 8777Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Phillips

  • Town of Lyons - (CO)Municipal · EIA 11376Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boulder

  • City of Julesburg - (CO)Municipal · EIA 9928Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sedgwick

  • City of Springfield - (CO)Municipal · EIA 17834Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Baca

  • Town of Oak Creek - (CO)Municipal · EIA 14054Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Routt

  • High West Energy, IncCooperative · EIA 27058
    Reported counties (3)

    Larimer, Logan, Weld

  • Town of Haxtun - (CO)Municipal · EIA 8311Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Phillips

  • Town of Holly - (CO)Municipal · EIA 8751Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Prowers

  • Town of Granada - (CO)Municipal · EIA 7478Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Prowers

  • Town of Fleming - (CO)Municipal · EIA 6418Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Logan

  • Wheatland Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20510
    Reported counties (3)

    Cheyenne, Kiowa, Prowers

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (OK)Cooperative · EIA 19160
    Reported counties (1)

    Baca

  • Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (NM)Cooperative · EIA 17715
    Reported counties (1)

    Las Animas

  • Deseret Generation & Tran CoopCooperative · EIA 40230Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rio Blanco

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (38)

    Adams, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Custer, Delta, Dolores, Douglas, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Jackson, Jefferson, La Plata, Lake, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Morgan, Ouray, Phillips, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Routt, Saguache, San Miguel, Sedgwick, Summit, Washington, Weld, Yuma

On-site energy sellers 7

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter · EIA 60025
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Colorado

2 state & utility records

Colorado Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · contractor tax credit discountEligibility / funding conditions

Heat Pump Tax Credit — contractor discount

Colorado Energy Office / Colorado Department of Revenue · Heat pumps

Registered contractors claim the credit and must provide the required customer installation discount.

Benefit
Discount depends on technology and tax year; current Colorado Energy Office amounts apply.
Who may qualify
Qualifying heat-pump technology installed through a contractor registered with Colorado Energy Office.
Before applying or buying
Confirm contractor registration, equipment qualification and the invoice discount before signing; the customer does not simply claim the contractor credit.
Colorado Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

Residential Energy Storage System Credit

Colorado Department of Revenue · Storage

Building owners purchasing and installing qualifying residential energy-storage systems can seek the state income-tax credit.

Benefit
Use current eligibility certification and assignment rules (Form DR 1307); not every battery purchase qualifies.
Who may qualify
Owner retains qualifying storage in a Colorado residential building; eligible lessees require lessor approval.
Before applying or buying
Review certification and any assignment election with the seller/installer before purchase; confirm the applicable tax year and retain records.

Contractor heat-pump discounts and owner storage tax credits are separate benefits with distinct filing and equipment rules. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the electrical permitting and inspection authority for the address and obtain the current adopted code and amendments. Colorado’s electrical statutes authorize board rulemaking tied to the NEC.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.