DE · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Delaware solar regulations.

Identify your utility before applying the state’s net-metering provisions or estimating annual credits.

Cape Henlopen State Park, Delaware
Cape Henlopen State Park, DelawarePhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Delaware.

Which rules cover your project?

The regulatory definitions include Delmarva accounts; the cooperative has separate instructions. Check your specific provider and the latest rule amendments instead of assuming identical credit treatment statewide.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Explains distribution versus competitive supply and Delmarva jurisdiction; municipal providers and Delaware Electric Cooperative need their own contacts.

Electric Consumer Information — Delaware Division of the Public Advocate
Browse 41 reported provider records in Delaware

Electric delivery utilities 11

  • Delmarva PowerInvestor Owned · EIA 5027
    Reported counties (3)

    Kent, New Castle, Sussex

  • Delaware Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 5070
    Reported counties (2)

    Kent, Sussex

  • City of Dover - (DE)Municipal · EIA 5335
    Reported counties (1)

    Kent

  • City of Newark - (DE)Municipal · EIA 13519
    Reported counties (1)

    New Castle

  • Town of Middletown - (DE)Municipal · EIA 12478
    Reported counties (1)

    New Castle

  • City of Milford - (DE)Municipal · EIA 12540
    Reported counties (2)

    Kent, Sussex

  • Town of Smyrna - (DE)Municipal · EIA 17457Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Kent, New Castle

  • City of Seaford- (DE)Municipal · EIA 16852Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sussex

  • City of Lewes - (DE)Municipal · EIA 10935Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sussex

  • New Castle Municipal Serv CommMunicipal · EIA 13424Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    New Castle

  • Town of Clayton - (DE)Municipal · EIA 3732Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kent

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 28

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • WGL Energy Services, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 20659
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmco Power DE, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61349
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spark Energy, LPRetail Power Marketer · EIA 17710
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Delaware, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58632
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Energy Delaware, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61201
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ResCom Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59848
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 2

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Delaware

2 state & utility records

Delaware DNREC — administrator logo
State · grantEligibility / funding conditions

Green Energy Program

Delaware DNREC · Solar

Grants can offset eligible renewable-system installation costs for Delmarva Power customers.

Benefit
Grant schedule and available funding apply; cooperative/municipal customers use their own renewable programs.
Who may qualify
Delmarva Power site and eligible renewable equipment under Green Energy Program regulations.
Before applying or buying
Confirm application/reservation process before installation and submit through the official Green Grant Delaware route.
Delaware DNREC — administrator logo
State · grantEligibility / funding conditions

Solar + Storage Pilot Program

Delaware DNREC · Storage

Pilot guidelines effective August 11, 2026 cover new solar-plus-storage and eligible storage added to existing solar.

Benefit
Residential: $250/kWh, maximum $6,000, and no more than 50% of eligible storage cost.
Who may qualify
Delmarva Power & Light electric customer; battery paired with qualifying new or existing solar and all Green Energy Program conditions.
Before applying or buying
Review the appropriate application pathway with DNREC before committing; grant approval and available funds control payment.

Delmarva, cooperative and municipal renewable incentives are different programs. The state grant and storage pilot below are for qualifying Delmarva customers. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Board of Electrical Examiners says the Fire Commission determines the applicable NEC version and that inspections also use applicable local building codes.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.