DC · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

District of Columbia solar regulations.

Treat utility interconnection and DOB construction permitting as separate approvals.

Washington Monument at Dusk
Washington Monument at dusk, Washington, DCPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in District of Columbia.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the serving utility’s interconnection approval and export-credit enrollment separately from DOB permits. Historic properties and commercial/multifamily buildings follow different permit routes; inspectability and zoning remain relevant.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Identifies Pepco as the local electric delivery utility; third-party energy suppliers are a separate arrangement.

DC Office of the People’s Counsel: Electric Utility
Browse 33 reported provider records in District of Columbia

Electric delivery utilities 1

  • Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15270
    Reported counties (1)

    District of Columbia

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 30

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • WGL Energy Services, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 20659
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmco Power DC, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61283
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunSea Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61972
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Horizon Power and Light, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59062
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Washington DC, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59312
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Median Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63168
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Energy Columbia, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58476
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Renaissance Power & Gas, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 2

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for District of Columbia

1 state & utility record

District of Columbia DOEE — administrator logo
State · bill creditEligibility / funding conditions

District of Columbia Solar for All

DC Department of Energy & Environment · Solar

DOEE’s District program connects eligible residents with rooftop or community solar benefits; renters and multifamily residents can use community solar.

Benefit
Solar-related bill credits or an approved rooftop arrangement; actual savings depend on the program and generation.
Who may qualify
Income-qualified District residents and program account/address requirements; available project capacity and enrollment determine participation.
Before applying or buying
Apply through DOEE’s current Solar for All channel and confirm eligibility. This District-funded program is distinct from the separate federal EPA program with a similar name.
DOEE: Solar for All Reviewed 2026-11-06

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.