ME · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Maine solar regulations.

Treat utility interconnection and net energy billing as separate applications, and check the current Maine PUC rules before committing to a project.

Portland Head Lighthouse, Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Portland Head Lighthouse, Cape Elizabeth, MainePhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Maine.

  • Central Maine Power states that a Chapter 313 net-energy-billing application is additional to the interconnection application. Other service territories should use their own utility forms.

  • Maine PUC publishes Chapter 313 net energy billing and the small-generator interconnection rules in its rules directory. Confirm the program and agreement available for the project rather than assuming every solar subscription or rooftop system has identical billing.

  • The Electricians’ Examining Board publishes electrical installation standards and current NEC adoption notices; its guidance also directs compliance with applicable municipal requirements.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the electrical permit with the Board or authorized local inspector and obtain the serving utility’s interconnection approval.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The delivery utility is separate from a competitive electricity supplier.

MPUC transmission and distribution utility map
Browse 27 reported provider records in Maine

Electric delivery utilities 9

  • Central Maine Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 3266
    Reported counties (14)

    Androscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo, York

  • Versant PowerInvestor Owned · EIA 1179
    Reported counties (6)

    Aroostook, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Waldo, Washington

  • Eastern Maine Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 5609
    Reported counties (3)

    Aroostook, Penobscot, Washington

  • Kennebunk Light & Power DistMunicipal · EIA 10144
    Reported counties (1)

    York

  • Houlton Water CompanyMunicipal · EIA 8883
    Reported counties (1)

    Aroostook

  • Town of Madison - (ME)Municipal · EIA 11477
    Reported counties (1)

    Somerset

  • Fox Islands Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 8780Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Knox

  • Van Buren Light & Power DistMunicipal · EIA 19702Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Aroostook

  • Matinicus Plantation Elec CoMunicipal · EIA 11844Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Knox

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 14

  • Electricity Maine, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58085
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • C. N. Brown Electricity, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58196
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Maine, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58630
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • FairPoint Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58158
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Great American Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67589
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 4

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59622
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Maine

1 state & utility record

Efficiency Maine — official logo
State · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Residential heat-pump rebates

Efficiency Maine Trust · Heat pumps

Rebates support eligible heat pumps used as the home’s primary heating system.

Benefit
Income-dependent per-outdoor-unit rebates and lifetime housing-unit caps; see current schedule.
Who may qualify
Eligible equipment, sizing and registered-vendor requirements apply; enhanced tiers have income/principal-residence conditions.
Before applying or buying
Verify enhanced-income eligibility first, use a Residential Registered Vendor, and submit the claim within six months of completion.

Efficiency Maine opportunities are separate from electricity export credits. This selection does not establish a universal solar installation rebate. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Electricians’ Examining Board publishes electrical installation standards and current NEC adoption notices; its guidance also directs compliance with applicable municipal requirements.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.