CT · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Connecticut solar regulations.

For new residential projects, start with Residential Renewable Energy Solutions rather than assuming the legacy net-metering program.

West Branch Reservoir and Colebrook Dam, Connecticut
West Branch Reservoir and Colebrook Dam, ConnecticutPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Connecticut.

Which rules cover your project?

The PURA program page identifies the regulated utilities administering RRES. Confirm eligibility, current-year tariff choice, and treatment of an existing system with the actual utility.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Lists regulated distribution companies and municipal electric providers. Retail suppliers are separate from the local distribution utility.

Electric Distribution Companies — Connecticut PURA
Browse 26 reported provider records in Connecticut

Electric delivery utilities 11

  • Eversource — official logo
    Connecticut Light & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 4176
    Reported counties (8)

    Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland, Windham

  • United Illuminating CoInvestor Owned · EIA 19497
    Reported counties (2)

    Fairfield, New Haven

  • Town of Wallingford - (CT)Municipal · EIA 20038
    Reported counties (1)

    New Haven

  • City of Norwich - (CT)Municipal · EIA 13831
    Reported counties (1)

    New London

  • Groton Dept of Utilities - (CT)Municipal · EIA 7716
    Reported counties (1)

    New London

  • City of South Norwalk - (CT)Municipal · EIA 17569Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fairfield

  • Norwalk Third Taxing DistrictMunicipal · EIA 13825Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fairfield

  • City of Jewett City - (CT)Municipal · EIA 9734Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    New London

  • Bozrah Light & Power CompanyMunicipal · EIA 2089
    Reported counties (1)

    New London

  • Mohegan Tribal Utility AuthorityPolitical Subdivision · EIA 49826Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    New London

  • Farmington River Power CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 6207Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hartford

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 9

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Connecticut, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57487
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 6

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Connecticut

1 state & utility record

Energy Storage Solutions — official logo
State · enrollment and performance incentiveEligibility / funding conditions

Energy Storage Solutions

Connecticut Green Bank, Eversource and United Illuminating · Storage

New enrollments use a limited enrollment incentive and performance payments tied to battery dispatch under the April 2026 structure.

Benefit
Payment depends on eligibility, battery performance and current program terms; old upfront figures are not assumed.
Who may qualify
Eligible Eversource/UI customers and approved equipment/contractor configuration; municipal customers should confirm separate options.
Before applying or buying
Use an eligible contractor and complete program/interconnection review before assuming an incentive; ongoing dispatch participation affects compensation.

Do not use legacy battery-upfront incentive figures for new enrollments: Energy Storage Solutions changed April 1, 2026. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Connecticut DAS publishes the state building-code framework, electrical requirements, interpretations and inspector contacts. Confirm the permit edition and local review requirements.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.