FL · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Florida solar regulations.

Separate the utility interconnection application from local building, fire and electrical approval.

Everglades National Park, Florida
Everglades National Park, FloridaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Florida.

  • FPL’s net-metering guidelines say qualifying renewable systems may offset metered usage, but normal operation must wait for its bidirectional meter installation.

  • FPL identifies separate conditions for battery backup and responsibility for preventing unsafe backfeed.

Which rules cover your project?

These operating instructions are for FPL customers. Obtain the current approved agreement, size tier, insurance conditions and export-credit rules from your own utility.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official interactive utility-territory map and county lookup; confirm the actual address with the serving utility.

Find Your Utility Service Territories — Florida PSC
Browse 55 reported provider records in Florida

Electric delivery utilities 52

  • Florida Power and Light — official logo
    Florida Power & Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 6452
    Reported counties (42)

    Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Duval, Escambia, Flagler, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Holmes, Indian River, Jackson, Manatee, Martin, Miami Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, Seminole, St Johns, St Lucie, Suwannee, Union, Volusia, Walton, Washington

  • Duke Energy — official logo
    Duke Energy Florida, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 6455
    Reported counties (32)

    Alachua, Bay, Brevard, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Flagler, Franklin, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Madison, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Volusia, Wakulla

  • Tampa Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 18454
    Reported counties (4)

    Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk

  • JEAMunicipal · EIA 9617
    Reported counties (4)

    Clay, Duval, Nassau, St Johns

  • Orlando Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 14610
    Reported counties (2)

    Orange, Osceola

  • Sumter Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 18304
    Reported counties (7)

    Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Levy, Marion, Pasco, Sumter

  • Lee County Electric Coop, Inc - (FL)Cooperative · EIA 10857
    Reported counties (6)

    Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Hendry, Lee, Monroe

  • Withlacoochee River Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 20885
    Reported counties (5)

    Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Polk, Sumter

  • Clay Electric Cooperative, Inc - (FL)Cooperative · EIA 3757
    Reported counties (15)

    Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Lake, Levy, Marion, Putnam, Suwannee, Union, Volusia

  • City of Lakeland - (FL)Municipal · EIA 10623
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • City of Tallahassee - (FL)Municipal · EIA 18445
    Reported counties (1)

    Leon

  • Gainesville Regional UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 6909
    Reported counties (1)

    Alachua

  • Kissimmee Utility AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 10376
    Reported counties (1)

    Osceola

  • Peace River Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14606
    Reported counties (10)

    Brevard, DeSoto, Hardee, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Manatee, Osceola, Polk, Sarasota

  • Choctawhatche Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3502
    Reported counties (4)

    Holmes, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton

  • Talquin Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 18449
    Reported counties (4)

    Gadsden, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla

  • City of OcalaMunicipal · EIA 13955
    Reported counties (1)

    Marion

  • Central Florida Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3245
    Reported counties (6)

    Alachua, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Levy, Marion

  • Beaches Energy ServicesMunicipal · EIA 9616
    Reported counties (2)

    Duval, St Johns

  • Florida Keys El Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 6443
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • New Smyrna Beach City ofMunicipal · EIA 13485
    Reported counties (1)

    Volusia

  • Utility Board of the City of Key West, FMunicipal · EIA 10226
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • West Florida El Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 20371
    Reported counties (4)

    Calhoun, Holmes, Jackson, Washington

  • Suwannee Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 18360
    Reported counties (4)

    Columbia, Hamilton, Lafayette, Suwannee

  • Florida Public Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 6457
    Reported counties (4)

    Calhoun, Jackson, Liberty, Nassau

  • City of Leesburg - (FL)Municipal · EIA 10868
    Reported counties (2)

    Lake, Sumter

  • City of Lake Worth Beach - (FL)Municipal · EIA 10620
    Reported counties (1)

    Palm Beach

  • Fort Pierce Utilities AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 6616
    Reported counties (1)

    St Lucie

  • City of Homestead - (FL)Municipal · EIA 8795
    Reported counties (1)

    Miami Dade

  • Gulf Coast Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7785
    Reported counties (6)

    Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Jackson, Walton, Washington

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (FL)Cooperative · EIA 19161
    Reported counties (4)

    Dixie, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor

  • Glades Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7264
    Reported counties (4)

    Glades, Hendry, Highlands, Okeechobee

  • City of Winter Park - (FL)Municipal · EIA 58124
    Reported counties (1)

    Orange

  • Escambia River Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5964
    Reported counties (2)

    Escambia, Santa Rosa

  • City of Bartow - (FL)Municipal · EIA 1300
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • Okefenoke Rural El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 31833
    Reported counties (2)

    Baker, Nassau

  • City of Mount Dora - (FL)Municipal · EIA 13033Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake

  • City of Quincy - (FL)Municipal · EIA 15566Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gadsden

  • City of Alachua - (FL)Municipal · EIA 201Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Alachua

  • City of Green Cove SpringsMunicipal · EIA 7593Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • City of ClewistonMunicipal · EIA 3774Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hendry

  • City of Newberry - (FL)Municipal · EIA 13521Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Alachua

  • City of Starke - (FL)Municipal · EIA 18004Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bradford

  • City of Wauchula - (FL)Municipal · EIA 20209Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hardee

  • City of Fort Meade - (FL)Municipal · EIA 6609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • City of Williston - (FL)Municipal · EIA 20735Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Levy

  • City of Bushnell - (FL)Municipal · EIA 2633Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sumter

  • Havana Power & Light CompanyMunicipal · EIA 8276Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gadsden

  • City of Blountstown - (FL)Municipal · EIA 1876Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Calhoun

  • City of Chattahoochee - (FL)Municipal · EIA 3406Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gadsden

  • City of Moore Haven - (FL)Municipal · EIA 12876Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Glades

  • Central Florida Tourism Oversight DistrictMunicipal · EIA 15776
    Reported counties (2)

    Orange, Osceola

On-site energy sellers 3

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Florida

1 state & utility record

Florida Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · tax exemptionEligibility / funding conditions

Solar Energy Systems sales-and-use-tax exemption

Florida Department of Revenue · Solar

Qualifying solar systems and integral components may be purchased or leased exempt from Florida sales/use tax.

Benefit
Tax exemption on qualifying documented items, rather than a rebate payment.
Who may qualify
Qualifying solar equipment/components certified under the state rules; packaged novelty products with inseparable costs are excluded.
Before applying or buying
Certify the qualifying use to the seller and retain documentation at purchase; confirm that standalone storage/accessories meet the stated solar-system criteria.

The solar sales-tax exemption reduces qualifying transaction tax; it is not a cash rebate and does not cover every battery or accessory purchase. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Florida building-code agency links the current and prior code editions. Confirm the edition, local wind/structural design requirements, and permit checklist with the city or county.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.