AR · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Arkansas solar regulations.

Determine whether the project receives legacy or non-legacy net-metering treatment before comparing economics.

Buffalo National River at Carver Landing, Arkansas
Buffalo National River at Carver Landing, ArkansasPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Arkansas.

Which rules cover your project?

Entergy’s tariff applies to its customers. Arkansas’s net-metering rules state their scope in terms of electric utilities under the Public Service Commission; confirm the applicable utility tariff and grandfathering status.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official links to regulated-utility license information and tariffs. A directory listing does not determine an address-level service boundary.

Utility license information and tariffs — Arkansas PSC
Browse 37 reported provider records in Arkansas

Electric delivery utilities 36

  • Entergy — official logo
    Entergy Arkansas LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 814
    Reported counties (65)

    Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Logan, Lonoke, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, St Francis, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White, Woodruff, Yell

  • Southwestern Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17698
    Reported counties (14)

    Benton, Carroll, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Miller, Pike, Polk, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, Washington

  • Carroll Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 3093
    Reported counties (7)

    Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Newton, Pope, Washington

  • First Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 6342
    Reported counties (17)

    Arkansas, Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Garland, Grant, Independence, Jefferson, Lonoke, Monroe, Perry, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Stone, White, Yell

  • Ozarks Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 14289
    Reported counties (5)

    Benton, Crawford, Franklin, Madison, Washington

  • Oklahoma Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14063
    Reported counties (7)

    Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Scott, Sebastian, Washington

  • Arkansas Valley Elec Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 817
    Reported counties (11)

    Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Newton, Pope, Scott, Sebastian, Washington, Yell

  • North Arkansas Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13676
    Reported counties (7)

    Baxter, Fulton, Izard, Lawrence, Marion, Sharp, Stone

  • City of North Little Rock - (AR)Municipal · EIA 13718
    Reported counties (1)

    Pulaski

  • City Water and Light Plant - (AR)Municipal · EIA 9879
    Reported counties (1)

    Craighead

  • Conway CorporationMunicipal · EIA 4280
    Reported counties (1)

    Faulkner

  • Craighead Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 4509
    Reported counties (8)

    Craighead, Crittenden, Greene, Independence, Lawrence, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp

  • Southwest Arkansas E C CCooperative · EIA 17671
    Reported counties (8)

    Columbia, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Polk, Sevier

  • City of Bentonville - (AR)Municipal · EIA 1586
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • C & L Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 2678
    Reported counties (9)

    Arkansas, Bradley, Cleveland, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Jefferson, Lincoln

  • Petit Jean Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 14864
    Reported counties (9)

    Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Marion, Newton, Pope, Searcy, Stone, Van Buren

  • City of Benton - (AR)Municipal · EIA 1581
    Reported counties (1)

    Saline

  • Paragould Municipal Utilities (AR)Municipal · EIA 14446
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • Woodruff Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 20963
    Reported counties (7)

    Cross, Lee, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, St Francis, Woodruff

  • Clay County Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 3712
    Reported counties (4)

    Clay, Greene, Randolph, Sharp

  • City of West Memphis - (AR)Municipal · EIA 20382
    Reported counties (1)

    Crittenden

  • South Central Ark El Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17540
    Reported counties (8)

    Clark, Dallas, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Montgomery, Nevada, Pike

  • City of Siloam Springs - (AR)Municipal · EIA 17184
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • Rich Mountain Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 15811Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Howard, Montgomery, Polk, Sevier

  • Ouachita Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 14238
    Reported counties (6)

    Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Dallas, Nevada, Ouachita

  • City of Hope - (AR)Municipal · EIA 8840
    Reported counties (1)

    Hempstead

  • Ashley Chicot Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 925Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Ashley, Chicot, Drew

  • Farmers Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 6206Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Independence, Jackson, Poinsett, White, Woodruff

  • Empire District Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5860
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • Clarksville Connected UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 3705
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnson

  • City of Osceola - (AR)Municipal · EIA 14216Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mississippi

  • Mississippi County Electric CoCooperative · EIA 12681
    Reported counties (1)

    Mississippi

  • City of Piggott - (AR)Municipal · EIA 15043Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • City of Paris - (AR)Municipal · EIA 14460Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Logan

  • City of Prescott - (AR)Municipal · EIA 15337Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nevada

  • City of Augusta - (AR)Municipal · EIA 1000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woodruff

On-site energy sellers 1

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Arkansas

1 state & utility record

Entergy — administrator logo
Utility · in kind assistanceEligibility / funding conditions

Home Energy Solutions

Entergy Arkansas · Efficiency

Authorized trade allies provide eligible home assessments, efficiency measures and instant invoice savings.

Benefit
Qualifying core measures may be installed at no additional cost; other incentives depend on assessment and current terms.
Who may qualify
Entergy Arkansas residential renters/owners in eligible single-family homes with ducted central HVAC; home-age or bill criteria apply to assessment.
Before applying or buying
Contact an authorized trade ally before arranging work; only trade allies submit incentive applications under the 2026 guidebook.

No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified. Entergy offers apply to eligible Entergy Arkansas accounts, not all Arkansas utilities. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the responsible city, county, or state electrical inspector and the adopted electrical requirements. Utility approval does not replace code inspection.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.