Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources
What to know in Alabama.
Alabama Power asks customers to obtain interconnection approval before purchasing or installing a rooftop system; applications use its PowerClerk platform.
Alabama Power identifies separate rate-rider and excess-energy purchase options; ask for the tariff applying to your account rather than assuming a retail export credit.
The Alabama Power process applies to its customers. Confirm the process with your cooperative, municipal utility, or other serving utility if different.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Links assigned service-area maps; confirm the property with the serving utility. Alabama Power does not serve every Alabama address.
Alabama electric service-territory maps — Alabama PowerBrowse 61 reported provider records in Alabama
61 records
Electric delivery utilities 61
Alabama Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 195Reported counties (59)
Autauga, Baldwin, Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Conecuh, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Escambia, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Greene, Hale, Henry, Houston, Jefferson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pickens, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington, Wilcox, Winston
- City of Huntsville - (AL)Municipal · EIA 9094
Reported counties (1)
Madison
- Baldwin County El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 1149
Reported counties (2)
Baldwin, Monroe
- Foley Board of UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 6491
Reported counties (1)
Baldwin
- City of Athens - (AL)Municipal · EIA 944
Reported counties (1)
Limestone
- Central Alabama Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3222
Reported counties (10)
Autauga, Bibb, Chilton, Coosa, Dallas, Elmore, Lowndes, Perry, Talladega, Tallapoosa
- City of Florence - (AL)Municipal · EIA 6422
Reported counties (1)
Lauderdale
- Cullman Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4618
Reported counties (4)
Cullman, Lawrence, Morgan, Winston
- Joe Wheeler Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 9739
Reported counties (2)
Lawrence, Morgan
- Tallapoosa River Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 18203
Reported counties (8)
Barbour, Chambers, Clay, Cleburne, Lee, Randolph, Russell, Tallapoosa
- Sand Mountain Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 16629
Reported counties (3)
DeKalb, Jackson, Marshall
- City of Dothan - (AL)Municipal · EIA 5309
Reported counties (2)
Dale, Houston
- Covington Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4430
Reported counties (6)
Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Escambia, Geneva
- Wiregrass Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20841
Reported counties (6)
Coffee, Covington, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston
- Decatur UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 4958
Reported counties (1)
Morgan
- Dixie Electric Coop - (AL)Cooperative · EIA 5204
Reported counties (8)
Barbour, Bullock, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Pike, Tallapoosa
- Southern Pine Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17646
Reported counties (5)
Baldwin, Conecuh, Covington, Escambia, Monroe
- Black Warrior Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 1780
Reported counties (12)
Choctaw, Clarke, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens, Sumter, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Wilcox
- Cherokee Electric Coop - (AL)Cooperative · EIA 3426
Reported counties (5)
Calhoun, Cherokee, DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall
- Clarke-Washington E M CCooperative · EIA 40127
Reported counties (4)
Clarke, Monroe, Washington, Wilcox
- Marshall-De Kalb Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 11714
Reported counties (3)
DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall
- South Alabama Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17534
Reported counties (8)
Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Crenshaw, Dale, Lowndes, Montgomery, Pike
- Coosa Valley Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4327
Reported counties (6)
Calhoun, Clay, Etowah, Shelby, St Clair, Talladega
- Sheffield UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 17033
Reported counties (1)
Colbert
- Pea River Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 14602
Reported counties (4)
Barbour, Coffee, Dale, Henry
- Arab Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 750
Reported counties (2)
Cullman, Marshall
- City of Opelika - (AL)Municipal · EIA 14146
Reported counties (1)
Lee
- North Alabama Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 13669
Reported counties (2)
Jackson, Marshall
- Pioneer Electric Coop, Inc - (AL)Cooperative · EIA 30517Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (9)
Autauga, Butler, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dallas, Lowndes, Monroe, Wilcox
- Tombigbee Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 19027Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Fayette, Lamar, Marion
- City of Bessemer UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 1640
Reported counties (1)
Jefferson
- Albertville Municipal Utilities Board (AL)Municipal · EIA 241
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of Troy - (AL)Municipal · EIA 19225
Reported counties (1)
Pike
- City of Muscle ShoalsMunicipal · EIA 13144
Reported counties (1)
Colbert
- City of Scottsboro - (AL)Municipal · EIA 16829
Reported counties (1)
Jackson
- Cullman Power BoardMunicipal · EIA 4617
Reported counties (1)
Cullman
- City of Fairhope - (AL)Municipal · EIA 6145Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Baldwin
- Fort Payne Improvement AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 6612
Reported counties (1)
DeKalb
- City of TuskegeeMunicipal · EIA 19308Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Macon
- Sylacauga Utilities BoardMunicipal · EIA 18395Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Talladega
- Franklin Electric Coop - (AL)Cooperative · EIA 6717
Reported counties (2)
Colbert, Franklin
- City of Alexander CityMunicipal · EIA 289Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Tallapoosa
- Guntersville Electric BoardMunicipal · EIA 7827
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of HartselleMunicipal · EIA 8226
Reported counties (1)
Morgan
- City of TuscumbiaMunicipal · EIA 19307
Reported counties (1)
Colbert
- City of Russellville - (AL)Municipal · EIA 16458
Reported counties (1)
Franklin
- City of AndalusiaMunicipal · EIA 604
Reported counties (1)
Covington
- City of RobertsdaleMunicipal · EIA 16140Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Baldwin
- City of Lanett - (AL)Municipal · EIA 10687Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Chambers
- City of Opp - (AL)Municipal · EIA 14151Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Covington
- City of Elba - (AL)Municipal · EIA 5728Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Coffee
- City of Piedmont - (AL)Municipal · EIA 15022Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Calhoun
- City of TarrantMunicipal · EIA 18472
Reported counties (1)
Jefferson
- City of Luverne - (AL)Municipal · EIA 11333Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Crenshaw
- City of Evergreen - (AL)Municipal · EIA 6052Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Conecuh
- City of Hartford - (AL)Municipal · EIA 8209Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Geneva
- City of Lafayette - (AL)Municipal · EIA 10570Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Chambers
- City of Brundidge - (AL)Municipal · EIA 2423Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pike
- Diverse Power IncorporatedCooperative · EIA 19219
Reported counties (1)
Chambers
- City of CourtlandMunicipal · EIA 40364
Reported counties (1)
Lawrence
- Singing River Elec CooperativeCooperative · EIA 17252
Reported counties (2)
Mobile, Washington
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Alabama
1 state & utility record

High Efficiency Heat Pump Rebate
Alabama Power · Heat pumps
Limited-time incentive for switching from a gas furnace to an all-electric high-efficiency heat pump.
- Benefit
- Advertised rebate: $1,000. Offer ends permanently December 1, 2026.
- Who may qualify
- Active Alabama Power residential customer and property owner; dominant HVAC unit; minimum 20 SEER or 18 SEER2.
- Before applying or buying
- Check availability before purchase; application must be completed within 90 days of purchase. W-9 required. Confirm how the December 1 cutoff applies to purchase, installation and application; the 90-day rule does not guarantee eligibility after closure.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified in this review. The listed heat-pump offer is utility-specific and has a near-term end date. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
The Alabama Board of Architects directs building-code questions to the municipality’s local building department; confirm the adopted edition and permits for the project address.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
