GA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Georgia solar regulations.

Have the serving utility review the proposed equipment before buying or beginning construction.

Live oaks in Forsyth Park, Savannah, Georgia
Live oaks in Forsyth Park, Savannah, GeorgiaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Georgia.

Which rules cover your project?

Georgia Power’s process is specific to its territory. Customers of an electric membership corporation or municipal utility should request that provider’s interconnection and purchase tariff.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official page links staff territorial maps and lists electric providers; Georgia Power offers do not automatically cover EMC or municipal accounts.

Electric utilities and territorial maps — Georgia PSC
Browse 98 reported provider records in Georgia

Electric delivery utilities 97

  • Georgia Power — official logo
    Georgia Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 7140
    Reported counties (155)

    Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Butts, Calhoun, Camden, Candler, Carroll, Catoosa, Charlton, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinch, Cobb, Coffee, Colquitt, Columbia, Cook, Coweta, Crawford, Crisp, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Douglas, Early, Echols, Effingham, Elbert, Emanuel, Evans, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Glynn, Gordon, Grady, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Houston, Irwin, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDuffie, McIntosh, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pierce, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Quitman, Rabun, Randolph, Richmond, Rockdale, Schley, Screven, Seminole, Spalding, Stephens, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Troup, Turner, Twiggs, Upson, Walker, Walton, Ware, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson, Worth

  • Jackson Electric Member Corp - (GA)Cooperative · EIA 9601
    Reported counties (12)

    Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Franklin, Gwinnett, Hall, Jackson, Lumpkin, Madison, Oconee, Oglethorpe, White

  • Cobb Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 3916
    Reported counties (5)

    Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Fulton, Paulding

  • Sawnee Electric Membership CorporationCooperative · EIA 16865
    Reported counties (7)

    Cherokee, Dawson, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Lumpkin

  • GreyStone Power CorporationCooperative · EIA 7090
    Reported counties (8)

    Bartow, Carroll, Cobb, Coweta, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Paulding

  • Walton Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 20065
    Reported counties (10)

    Barrow, Clarke, DeKalb, Greene, Gwinnett, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Rockdale, Walton

  • Snapping Shoals El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 17832
    Reported counties (8)

    Butts, DeKalb, Henry, Jasper, Morgan, Newton, Rockdale, Walton

  • North Georgia Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 13716
    Reported counties (7)

    Catoosa, Chattooga, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Walker, Whitfield

  • Flint Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 6411
    Reported counties (17)

    Bibb, Chattahoochee, Crawford, Dooly, Harris, Houston, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Muscogee, Peach, Schley, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Twiggs, Upson

  • Coweta-Fayette El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 4432
    Reported counties (8)

    Clayton, Coweta, Fayette, Fulton, Heard, Meriwether, Spalding, Troup

  • Colquitt Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 40212
    Reported counties (10)

    Berrien, Brooks, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift, Worth

  • Central Georgia El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 3248
    Reported counties (16)

    Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Clayton, Fayette, Henry, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Newton, Pike, Putnam, Spalding

  • Satilla Rural Elec Member CorporationCooperative · EIA 16674
    Reported counties (12)

    Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Brantley, Coffee, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Pierce, Tattnall, Ware, Wayne

  • Carroll Electric Member Corp - (GA)Cooperative · EIA 3081
    Reported counties (7)

    Carroll, Floyd, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk, Troup

  • Amicalola Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 562
    Reported counties (10)

    Bartow, Cherokee, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Gordon, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens

  • City of Marietta - (GA)Municipal · EIA 11646
    Reported counties (1)

    Cobb

  • Habersham Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 7887
    Reported counties (6)

    Habersham, Hall, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, White

  • Jefferson Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 9689
    Reported counties (11)

    Burke, Columbia, Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, McDuffie, Richmond, Warren, Washington

  • Diverse Power IncorporatedCooperative · EIA 19219
    Reported counties (14)

    Calhoun, Clay, Coweta, Dougherty, Early, Harris, Heard, Meriwether, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Stewart, Terrell, Troup

  • Albany Utility BoardMunicipal · EIA 230
    Reported counties (2)

    Dougherty, Lee

  • Blue Ridge Mountain EMC - (GA)Cooperative · EIA 1891
    Reported counties (4)

    Fannin, Gilmer, Towns, Union

  • Hart Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 8210
    Reported counties (6)

    Banks, Elbert, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Stephens

  • Okefenoke Rural El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 31833
    Reported counties (6)

    Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Glynn, Ware, Wayne

  • Canoochee Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 2903
    Reported counties (9)

    Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham, Emanuel, Evans, Liberty, Long, Tattnall, Toombs

  • Excelsior Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 5905
    Reported counties (8)

    Bryan, Bulloch, Candler, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Jenkins, Tattnall

  • Coastal Electric Member Corp - (GA)Cooperative · EIA 3843
    Reported counties (4)

    Bryan, Liberty, Long, McIntosh

  • Mitchell Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 12706
    Reported counties (14)

    Baker, Calhoun, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Worth

  • Tri-County Elec Member Corp (GA)Cooperative · EIA 18956
    Reported counties (8)

    Baldwin, Bibb, Jasper, Jones, Morgan, Putnam, Twiggs, Wilkinson

  • Southern Rivers EnergyCooperative · EIA 10624
    Reported counties (9)

    Bibb, Coweta, Crawford, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Pike, Spalding, Upson

  • Altamaha Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 407
    Reported counties (7)

    Emanuel, Johnson, Laurens, Montgomery, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen

  • Grady Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 7450
    Reported counties (6)

    Brooks, Colquitt, Decatur, Grady, Mitchell, Thomas

  • Rayle Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 15700
    Reported counties (10)

    Clarke, Greene, Hancock, Lincoln, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Taliaferro, Wilkes

  • Planters Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 14649
    Reported counties (7)

    Bulloch, Burke, Effingham, Emanuel, Jenkins, Richmond, Screven

  • City of East Point - (GA)Municipal · EIA 5582
    Reported counties (1)

    Fulton

  • Washington Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 20146
    Reported counties (10)

    Baldwin, Emanuel, Glascock, Hancock, Jefferson, Johnson, Laurens, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson

  • Sumter Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 18305
    Reported counties (11)

    Chattahoochee, Dougherty, Lee, Marion, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Terrell, Webster

  • City of Lawrenceville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 10800
    Reported counties (1)

    Gwinnett

  • City of Thomasville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 18848
    Reported counties (2)

    Grady, Thomas

  • Three Notch Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 18499
    Reported counties (6)

    Baker, Clay, Decatur, Early, Miller, Seminole

  • City of Griffin - (GA)Municipal · EIA 7679
    Reported counties (3)

    Lamar, Pike, Spalding

  • Dalton UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 4744
    Reported counties (1)

    Whitfield

  • City of Covington - (GA)Municipal · EIA 4433
    Reported counties (2)

    Newton, Walton

  • Tri-State Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 19154
    Reported counties (1)

    Fannin

  • Ocmulgee Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 13934Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Bleckley, Dodge, Laurens, Pulaski, Telfair

  • City of La Grange - (GA)Municipal · EIA 10585
    Reported counties (1)

    Troup

  • Irwin Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 9431Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Ben Hill, Berrien, Coffee, Irwin, Tift, Turner, Wilcox, Worth

  • Little Ocmulgee El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 26218Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Dodge, Laurens, Montgomery, Telfair, Wheeler

  • City of Chattanooga - (TN)Municipal · EIA 3408
    Reported counties (3)

    Catoosa, Dade, Walker

  • Oconee Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 13962
    Reported counties (7)

    Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Dodge, Laurens, Twiggs, Wilkinson

  • Upson Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 19581Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Crawford, Meriwether, Pike, Talbot, Taylor, Upson

  • Slash Pine Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 17290Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Berrien, Charlton, Clinch, Echols, Lanier, Lowndes, Ware

  • Newnan Wtr, Sewer & Light CommMunicipal · EIA 13547
    Reported counties (1)

    Coweta

  • Crisp County Power CommPolitical Subdivision · EIA 4538
    Reported counties (5)

    Crisp, Dooly, Turner, Wilcox, Worth

  • Middle Georgia El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 12472Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Ben Hill, Dooly, Houston, Macon, Pulaski, Turner, Wilcox

  • City of College Park - (GA)Municipal · EIA 3939
    Reported counties (3)

    Clayton, Fulton, Henry

  • City of Cartersville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 3108
    Reported counties (1)

    Bartow

  • City of Monroe - (GA)Municipal · EIA 12800Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Walton

  • City of Moultrie - (GA)Municipal · EIA 13026Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Colquitt

  • City of Acworth - (GA)Municipal · EIA 308Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Bartow, Cobb

  • Fitzgerald Wtr Lgt & Bond CommMunicipal · EIA 6380Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ben Hill

  • City of Norcross- (GA)Municipal · EIA 13646Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    DeKalb, Forsyth, Gwinnett

  • City of Thomaston - (GA)Municipal · EIA 18847Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Upson

  • City of Calhoun - (GA)Municipal · EIA 2812
    Reported counties (1)

    Gordon

  • Fort Valley Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 6617Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Crawford, Peach

  • City of Cairo - (GA)Municipal · EIA 2773Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grady

  • City of ElbertonMunicipal · EIA 5730Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Elbert

  • City of LaFayette - (GA)Municipal · EIA 10571Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Walker

  • City of DouglasMunicipal · EIA 5325
    Reported counties (1)

    Coffee

  • City of Fairburn - (GA)Municipal · EIA 6130Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fulton

  • City of Forsyth - (GA)Municipal · EIA 6598Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • City of Barnesville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 1232Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lamar

  • City of Commerce - (GA)Municipal · EIA 4091Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Adel- (GA)Municipal · EIA 123Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cook, Tift

  • City of BufordMunicipal · EIA 2487
    Reported counties (2)

    Gwinnett, Hall

  • City of CamillaMunicipal · EIA 2910Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mitchell

  • City of Sylvester - (GA)Municipal · EIA 18403Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Worth

  • City of Hampton - (GA)Municipal · EIA 8022Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • City of Blakely - (GA)Municipal · EIA 1826Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Early

  • City of Sandersville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 16637
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • City of QuitmanMunicipal · EIA 15573Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brooks

  • City of Palmetto - (GA)Municipal · EIA 14396Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Coweta, Fulton

  • City of Hogansville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 8698Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Troup

  • City of Sylvania - (GA)Municipal · EIA 18397
    Reported counties (2)

    Richmond, Screven

  • City of Washington - (GA)Municipal · EIA 20140
    Reported counties (1)

    Wilkes

  • City of Jackson - (GA)Municipal · EIA 9573Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Butts

  • City of West Point - (GA)Municipal · EIA 20393Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Harris, Troup

  • City of Monticello - (GA)Municipal · EIA 12851Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jasper

  • City of Grantville - (GA)Municipal · EIA 7515Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Coweta, Meriwether

  • City of EllavilleMunicipal · EIA 5796Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Schley

  • City of ChickamaugaMunicipal · EIA 3475
    Reported counties (1)

    Walker

  • City of Oxford - (GA)Municipal · EIA 40369Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Newton

  • Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 8333
    Reported counties (1)

    Rabun

  • City of Doerun - (GA)Municipal · EIA 5236Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Colquitt

  • City of Whigham - (GA)Municipal · EIA 20534Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grady

  • City of Mansfield - (GA)Municipal · EIA 11587Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Newton

  • Town of Brinson - (GA)Municipal · EIA 2236Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Decatur

  • Tennessee Valley AuthorityFederal · EIA 18642Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Walker

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Georgia

3 state & utility records

Georgia Power — administrator logo
Utility · cash rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Home Energy Improvement Program — heat pumps

Georgia Power · Heat pumps

The current August 2026 schedule supports qualified heat-pump water heaters and electric-furnace-to-air-source conversions.

Benefit
50% of eligible cost, up to $1,500 for the specified air-source conversion or $800 for a heat-pump water heater; annual customer cap applies.
Who may qualify
Georgia Power residential customer; air-source conversion must replace an electric furnace and meet AHRI/installer rules; measure-specific requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
Check reservation/preapproval conditions before work; apply within 60 days of purchase/installation. Current terms run August 1, 2026–December 31, 2028, subject to modification.
Georgia Home Energy Rebates (Georgia.gov state branding) — administrator logo
State · performance based rebateApplications listed as open

Georgia Home Efficiency Rebates (HER)

Georgia Environmental Finance Authority · Efficiency

Whole-home efficiency rebates depend on verified savings and household income, with no HER income ceiling.

Benefit
Published caps range from $2,000 to $16,000 according to income and the 20%–34% or 35%+ savings tier; cost-share caps apply.
Who may qualify
Qualifying Georgia home/project; a program-approved contractor assessment must establish the savings pathway.
Before applying or buying
Begin with a program-approved contractor energy assessment and application before work. Ask about assessment fees and funding availability.
Georgia Home Energy Rebates (Georgia.gov state branding) — administrator logo
State · income qualified rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Georgia HEAR — limited electrical upgrades

Georgia Environmental Finance Authority · Efficiency

Single-family HEAR has reopened only for wiring and panel upgrades accompanying an eligible HER project; multifamily and DIY pathways will not reopen.

Benefit
Current measure caps: wiring $2,500 and panel upgrade $4,000; income and cost-share limits apply.
Who may qualify
Eligible single-family HER participant below 150% of area median income; approved electrical work identified during assessment.
Before applying or buying
All new applications start with HER and an approved contractor assessment. Do not rely on older appliance or standalone-heat-pump HEAR offers.

Utility rebates and state-administered home rebates have separate eligibility and application routes. No universal state residential solar cash rebate was verified. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Georgia DCA publishes mandatory and permissive state construction codes and administration guidance. Confirm applicable local amendments and permit/inspection responsibility.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.