IL · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Illinois solar regulations.

Check the current utility tariff and the existing system’s eligibility before using older net-metering assumptions.

The historic Lincoln Home in Springfield, Illinois, with distant visitors outside
Lincoln Home National Historic Site in Springfield, IllinoisPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Illinois.

Which rules cover your project?

Ask the utility about new-system billing, any preserved legacy eligibility, and whether equipment changes trigger a new interconnection review.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official company database; distinguish the distribution utility from an Alternative Retail Electric Supplier. A supplier listing is not a delivery-territory guarantee.

Utility Company Database Entity Search — Illinois government / ICC
Browse 128 reported provider records in Illinois

Electric delivery utilities 72

  • Commonwealth Edison Co — official logo
    Commonwealth Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 4110
    Reported counties (24)

    Boone, Bureau, Carroll, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Ford, Grundy, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, LaSalle, Lake, Lee, Livingston, Marshall, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago, Woodford

  • Ameren Illinois Company — official logo
    Ameren Illinois CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 56697
    Reported counties (81)

    Adams, Alexander, Bond, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Kendall, Knox, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Massac, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, Richland, Saline, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St Clair, Stark, Tazewell, Union, Vermilion, Wabash, Warren, Washington, Wayne, White, Williamson, Woodford

  • MidAmerican Energy Co — official logo
    MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12341
    Reported counties (3)

    Henry, Mercer, Rock Island

  • City of Springfield - (IL) — official logo
    City of Springfield - (IL)Municipal · EIA 17828
    Reported counties (1)

    Sangamon

  • City of Naperville - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Naperville - (IL)Municipal · EIA 13208
    Reported counties (2)

    DuPage, Will

  • Corn Belt Energy Corporation — official logo
    Corn Belt Energy CorporationCooperative · EIA 4362
    Reported counties (18)

    Bureau, Champaign, DeWitt, Ford, Henry, Kendall, Knox, LaSalle, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Marshall, McLean, Piatt, Putnam, Stark, Tazewell, Woodford

  • Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) — official logo
    Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL)Cooperative · EIA 17697
    Reported counties (11)

    Bond, Clay, Clinton, Effingham, Fayette, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Shelby, St Clair

  • Southeastern IL Elec Coop, Inc — official logo
    Southeastern IL Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17585
    Reported counties (10)

    Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Saline, White, Williamson

  • Norris Electric Coop — official logo
    Norris Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 13292
    Reported counties (10)

    Clark, Clay, Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Jasper, Lawrence, Richland, Shelby, Wabash

  • Jo-Carroll Energy, Inc — official logo
    Jo-Carroll Energy, IncCooperative · EIA 9750
    Reported counties (4)

    Carroll, Henry, Jo Daviess, Whiteside

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL) — official logo
    Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL)Cooperative · EIA 18955
    Reported counties (10)

    Clay, Clinton, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Marion, Perry, St Clair, Washington, Wayne

  • City of St Charles - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of St Charles - (IL)Municipal · EIA 17860
    Reported counties (2)

    DuPage, Kane

  • Egyptian Electric Coop Assn — official logo
    Egyptian Electric Coop AssnCooperative · EIA 5535
    Reported counties (10)

    Franklin, Jackson, Johnson, Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St Clair, Union, Washington, Williamson

  • Wayne-White Counties Elec Coop — official logo
    Wayne-White Counties Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 20222
    Reported counties (11)

    Clay, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Marion, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, White

  • Southern Illinois Elec Coop — official logo
    Southern Illinois Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 17631Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Alexander, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Union, Williamson

  • Eastern Illinois Elec Coop — official logo
    Eastern Illinois Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 5585
    Reported counties (10)

    Champaign, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Vermilion

  • Illinois Rural Electric Coop — official logo
    Illinois Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 9209Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Morgan, Pike, Scott

  • City of Batavia - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Batavia - (IL)Municipal · EIA 1325
    Reported counties (1)

    Kane

  • Shelby Electric Coop, Inc - (IL) — official logo
    Shelby Electric Coop, Inc - (IL)Cooperative · EIA 17040
    Reported counties (9)

    Christian, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Macon, Montgomery, Moultrie, Sangamon, Shelby

  • M J M Electric Cooperative Inc — official logo
    M J M Electric Cooperative IncCooperative · EIA 8824Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Bond, Fayette, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery

  • Rock Energy Cooperative — official logo
    Rock Energy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 16196
    Reported counties (4)

    Boone, McHenry, Stephenson, Winnebago

  • Adams Electric Coop — official logo
    Adams Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 97Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike, Schuyler

  • Menard Electric Coop — official logo
    Menard Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 12395
    Reported counties (8)

    Cass, Logan, Macon, Mason, Menard, Morgan, Sangamon, Tazewell

  • City of Geneva - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Geneva - (IL)Municipal · EIA 7096
    Reported counties (1)

    Kane

  • Coles-Moultrie Electric Coop — official logo
    Coles-Moultrie Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3931
    Reported counties (8)

    Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Moultrie, Piatt, Shelby

  • Monroe County Elec Coop, Inc — official logo
    Monroe County Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 12803Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Monroe, Randolph, St Clair

  • City of Highland - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Highland - (IL)Municipal · EIA 8573Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Bond, Clinton, Madison, St Clair

  • Village of Chatham - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Chatham - (IL)Municipal · EIA 3405Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sangamon

  • Clinton County Elec Coop, Inc — official logo
    Clinton County Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3806Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Clinton, Fayette, Madison, Marion, St Clair, Washington

  • Village of Rantoul - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Rantoul - (IL)Municipal · EIA 15686Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Champaign

  • Rural Electric Conven Coop - (IL) — official logo
    Rural Electric Conven Coop - (IL)Cooperative · EIA 16420Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Christian, Macoupin, Montgomery, Morgan, Sangamon

  • Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL) — official logo
    Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL)Municipal · EIA 16179
    Reported counties (2)

    Lee, Ogle

  • City of Rock Falls - (IL) — official logo
    City of Rock Falls - (IL)Municipal · EIA 16198Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whiteside

  • Enerstar Power Corp — official logo
    Enerstar Power CorpCooperative · EIA 5531Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Clark, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Vermilion

  • City of Waterloo - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Waterloo - (IL)Municipal · EIA 20180Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Village of Winnetka - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Winnetka - (IL)Municipal · EIA 20824Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cook

  • McDonough Power Coop — official logo
    McDonough Power CoopCooperative · EIA 12070Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, McDonough, Schuyler, Warren

  • Spoon River Electric Coop, Inc — official logo
    Spoon River Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17838Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Fulton, Knox, McDonough, Peoria, Schuyler

  • City of Peru - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Peru - (IL)Municipal · EIA 14840
    Reported counties (1)

    LaSalle

  • City of Princeton - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Princeton - (IL)Municipal · EIA 15388Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bureau

  • Mt Carmel Public Utility Co — official logo
    Mt Carmel Public Utility CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13032
    Reported counties (1)

    Wabash

  • City of Mascoutah - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Mascoutah - (IL)Municipal · EIA 11790Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Clair

  • City of Geneseo - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Geneseo - (IL)Municipal · EIA 7095Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • City of Metropolis - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Metropolis - (IL)Municipal · EIA 12388Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Massac

  • Western Illinois Elec Coop — official logo
    Western Illinois Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 29296Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Adams, Hancock, Henderson, McDonough

  • Clay Electric Coop Inc - (IL) — official logo
    Clay Electric Coop Inc - (IL)Cooperative · EIA 3726Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Clay, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Marion, Richland, Wayne

  • City of Fairfield- (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Fairfield- (IL)Municipal · EIA 6141Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • City of Carmi - (IL)Municipal · EIA 3040Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    White

  • City of Sullivan - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Sullivan - (IL)Municipal · EIA 18277Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Moultrie

  • City of Marshall - (IL)Municipal · EIA 11736Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • City of Flora - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Flora - (IL)Municipal · EIA 6417Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • City of Oglesby - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Oglesby - (IL)Municipal · EIA 13993Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    LaSalle

  • City of Breese - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Breese - (IL)Municipal · EIA 2188Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clinton

  • City of Red Bud - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Red Bud - (IL)Municipal · EIA 15772Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Randolph

  • Village of Freeburg - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Freeburg - (IL)Municipal · EIA 6764Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Clair

  • City of Carlyle - (IL)Municipal · EIA 3037Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clinton

  • City of Casey - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Casey - (IL)Municipal · EIA 3153Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Village of Riverton - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Riverton - (IL)Municipal · EIA 16092Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sangamon

  • City of Newton - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Newton - (IL)Municipal · EIA 13560Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jasper

  • City of McLeansboro - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of McLeansboro - (IL)Municipal · EIA 12167Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamilton

  • City of Bushnell - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Bushnell - (IL)Municipal · EIA 2634Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    McDonough

  • City of Altamont - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Altamont - (IL)Municipal · EIA 406Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Effingham

  • City of Farmer City - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    City of Farmer City - (IL)Municipal · EIA 6192Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    DeWitt

  • Cairo Public Utility Company — official logo
    Cairo Public Utility CompanyMunicipal · EIA 2776Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Alexander, Pulaski

  • Village of Greenup - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Greenup - (IL)Municipal · EIA 7633Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cumberland

  • City of Roodhouse - (IL)Municipal · EIA 16269Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • Village of Bethany - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Bethany - (IL)Municipal · EIA 1648Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Moultrie

  • Village of Ladd - (IL) — municipal owner emblem
    Village of Ladd - (IL)Municipal · EIA 40367Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bureau

  • City of Albany - (IL)Municipal · EIA 229Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whiteside

  • Scenic Rivers Energy Coop — official logo
    Scenic Rivers Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 16740
    Reported counties (2)

    Jo Daviess, Stephenson

  • University of Illinois — official logo
    University of IllinoisState · EIA 19528Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Champaign, Cook

  • City of Allendale- (IL)Municipal · EIA 366Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wabash

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 52

  • MC Squared Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56379
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Homefield EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 970
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Dynegy Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59385
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Interstate Gas Supply, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58957
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Vista Energy Marketing, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 60696
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spark Energy, LPRetail Power Marketer · EIA 17710
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Harbor Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 6458
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmco Power IL, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58314
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Illinois, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57488
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Santanna Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59811
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ResCom Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59848
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Public Power LLC (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58119
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EcoPlus Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66113
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Viridian Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58162
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Energy Illinois, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61092
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • AEP EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55722
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Great American Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59064
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Retail Energy Solutions, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56286
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SFE Energy Illinois, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 62094
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ENGIE Power & Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57307
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tomorrow Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58952
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • South Bay Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61367
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Horizon Power and Light, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59062
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 4

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Illinois

2 state & utility records

Illinois Shines — official logo
State · renewable energy credit paymentEligibility / funding conditions

Illinois Shines

Illinois Power Agency / Illinois Shines administrator · Solar

The 2026–27 program supports eligible on-site and community solar through renewable-energy-credit contracts.

Benefit
REC prices and payment schedules depend on program category, project and contract; do not assume all proceeds go directly to the homeowner.
Who may qualify
Approved Vendor, eligible project category and current program capacity/contract conditions.
Before applying or buying
Use an Approved Vendor; review disclosure, REC ownership, payment terms and application approval before committing.
Illinois Solar for All — official logo
State · income qualified solar assistanceEligibility / funding conditions

Illinois Solar for All

Illinois Power Agency / Illinois Solar for All administrator · Solar

Income-eligible residents can pursue approved residential solar or community-solar participation through the program.

Benefit
Program consumer protections and project terms determine installation costs and bill benefits; not a universal cash award.
Who may qualify
Income verification, appropriate housing/project type, site suitability and an Approved Vendor are required.
Before applying or buying
Verify income through the official process and arrange an Approved Vendor site assessment before signing. Do not submit personal data to an unverified vendor.

Illinois Shines is REC-based support through Approved Vendors, not a blanket percentage rebate. Solar for All adds separate income and consumer-protection rules. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Illinois CDB directs project code questions to the city, village or county code official and explains differing state/local code applicability.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.