Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources
What to know in Kansas.
Kansas Corporation Commission says the net-metering requirement applies to investor-owned utilities; cooperatives and municipal providers may offer their own programs.
KCC describes parallel generation as a separate arrangement and states that Kansas utilities, including cooperatives and municipal providers, must offer it.
Ask the serving utility which program, current sizing/export rules and billing calculation apply to the project’s start date; KCC notes legislative changes in 2024.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Official statewide and county service-area maps. Confirm the serving utility and tariff for the address.
Electric Certified Areas by county — Kansas Corporation CommissionBrowse 152 reported provider records in Kansas
152 records
Electric delivery utilities 151
- Evergy Kansas Central, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 22500
Reported counties (41)
Atchison, Brown, Butler, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte
- Evergy Kansas South, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 10005
Reported counties (24)
Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Greenwood, Harvey, Kingman, Labette, Linn, Marion, McPherson, Montgomery, Neosho, Reno, Sedgwick, Sumner, Wilson, Woodson
- Evergy MetroInvestor Owned · EIA 10000
Reported counties (11)
Anderson, Bourbon, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Osage, Wyandotte
- City of Kansas City - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9996
Reported counties (1)
Wyandotte
- Midwest Energy Inc - (KS)Cooperative · EIA 12524
Reported counties (34)
Barton, Cheyenne, Decatur, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Greeley, Hodgeman, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Stafford, Thomas, Trego, Wallace
- Wheatland Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20510
Reported counties (12)
Barton, Finney, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Harper, Kearny, Kingman, Logan, Scott, Wallace, Wichita
- FreeState Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 10019
Reported counties (9)
Atchison, Douglas, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Osage, Pottawatomie, Shawnee, Wabaunsee
- Victory Electric Coop Assn IncCooperative · EIA 19820
Reported counties (9)
Clark, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Gray, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kiowa, Meade
- Prairie Land Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13799
Reported counties (18)
Cheyenne, Clay, Cloud, Decatur, Graham, Jewell, Mitchell, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Republic, Rooks, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Washington
- Southern Pioneer Electric CompanyCooperative · EIA 60839
Reported counties (11)
Barber, Clark, Comanche, Harper, Haskell, Kingman, Kiowa, Meade, Pratt, Reno, Seward
- 4 Rivers Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative · EIA 63286Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Rolling Hills Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 16267Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (16)
Barton, Clay, Cloud, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Republic, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Smith, Washington
- Heartland Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 16854Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (12)
Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Miami, Neosho, Wilson, Woodson
- City of Gardner - (KS)Municipal · EIA 6949Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Johnson
- City of Garden CityMunicipal · EIA 6941
Reported counties (1)
Finney
- DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative · EIA 4704Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (10)
Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Geary, Marion, McPherson, Morris, Ottawa, Rice, Saline
- Sedgwick County El Coop Assn IncCooperative · EIA 16920Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Harvey, Kingman, Reno, Sedgwick, Sumner
- Empire District Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5860
Reported counties (2)
Cherokee, Labette
- Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)Cooperative · EIA 2641Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (7)
Butler, Chase, Cowley, Greenwood, Harvey, Marion, Sedgwick
- Bluestem Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 23826Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (11)
Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Geary, Jackson, Marshall, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee, Washington
- City of McPherson - (KS)Municipal · EIA 12208
Reported counties (1)
McPherson
- Flint Hills Rural E C A, IncCooperative · EIA 6431Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (10)
Chase, Dickinson, Geary, Harvey, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Morris, Riley, Wabaunsee
- City of Ottawa - (KS)Municipal · EIA 14229Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Franklin
- City of Winfield - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20813
Reported counties (1)
Cowley
- Western Coop Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 20476
Reported counties (13)
Barton, Ellis, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Lincoln, Ness, Osborne, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Sheridan, Trego
- Lane-Scott Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10728Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (8)
Finney, Gove, Hodgeman, Lane, Logan, Ness, Rush, Scott
- Ark Valley Elec Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 40208Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (9)
Barton, Ellsworth, Harvey, Kingman, McPherson, Reno, Rice, Saline, Stafford
- Caney Valley El Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 2961Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Butler, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Montgomery
- Pioneer Electric Coop, Inc - (KS)Cooperative · EIA 15073
Reported counties (10)
Finney, Grant, Gray, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Morton, Seward, Stanton, Stevens
- City of Coffeyville - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3892
Reported counties (2)
Labette, Montgomery
- Sumner-Cowley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 18316Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (6)
Butler, Cowley, Harper, Kingman, Sedgwick, Sumner
- City of Chanute (KS)Municipal · EIA 3355
Reported counties (1)
Neosho
- City of Pratt- (KS)Municipal · EIA 15321Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pratt
- City of Wellington - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20315Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sumner
- City of Augusta - (KS)Municipal · EIA 998Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Butler
- Ninnescah Rural E C A IncCooperative · EIA 13570Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (10)
Barber, Comanche, Edwards, Harper, Kingman, Kiowa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Stafford
- City of Iola - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9418Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allen
- Nemaha-Marshall E C A, IncCooperative · EIA 13386Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Jackson, Marshall, Nemaha, Pottawatomie, Washington
- City of Russell - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16440Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Russell
- Brown-Atchison E C A IncCooperative · EIA 2354Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (6)
Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Nemaha
- CMS Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 2774
Reported counties (10)
Barber, Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Haskell, Kiowa, Meade, Seward, Stevens
- City of Colby - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3913Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Thomas
- City of Mulvane - (KS)Municipal · EIA 13095Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Sedgwick, Sumner
- Twin Valley Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 18962Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (4)
Cherokee, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho
- City of Clay Center - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3710Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Clay
- City of Goodland - (KS)Municipal · EIA 7374Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sherman
- City of Eudora - (KS)Municipal · EIA 6019Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Douglas
- City of Holton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8770Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Jackson
- City of Larned - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10713Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pawnee
- City of Wamego - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20069Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pottawatomie
- City of Garnett - (KS)Municipal · EIA 6965Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Anderson
- City of Beloit - (KS)Municipal · EIA 1525Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mitchell
- City of Osawatomie - (KS)Municipal · EIA 14203Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Miami
- City of Baldwin City- (KS)Municipal · EIA 1148Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Douglas
- City of Hugoton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9011Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Stevens
- City of Kingman - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10321Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kingman
- City of Sabetha - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16518Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Brown, Nemaha
- City of Anthony - (KS)Municipal · EIA 701Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Harper
- City of Lindsborg - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11040Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
McPherson
- City of NortonMunicipal · EIA 13819Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Norton
- City of Burlington - (KS)Municipal · EIA 2551Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Coffey
- City of Girard - (KS)Municipal · EIA 7257Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Crawford
- Doniphan Elec Coop Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 5334Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Atchison, Brown, Doniphan
- City of Osage City - (KS)Municipal · EIA 14199Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Osage
- City of Hoisington - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8703Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Barton
- City of Neodesha - (KS)Municipal · EIA 13380Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wilson
- City of Fredonia - (KS)Municipal · EIA 6762Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wilson
- City of Hillsboro - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8629Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marion
- City of Belleville - (KS)Municipal · EIA 1512Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Republic
- City of Herington - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8490Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Dickinson, Morris
- City of Oberlin - (KS)Municipal · EIA 13948Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Decatur
- City of Sterling - (KS)Municipal · EIA 18086Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Reno, Rice
- City of Ellinwood - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5802Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Barton
- City of Marion - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11658Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marion
- City of Seneca - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16922Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nemaha
- City of Minneapolis - (KS)Municipal · EIA 21533Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Ottawa
- City of St Marys - (KS)Municipal · EIA 17894Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pottawatomie
- City of Cimarron - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3535Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Gray
- Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (OK)Cooperative · EIA 19160
Reported counties (2)
Morton, Seward
- City of Moundridge - (KS)Municipal · EIA 13029Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
McPherson
- City of Lakin - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10628Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kearny
- City of St Francis - (KS)Municipal · EIA 17872Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cheyenne
- City of Horton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8871Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Atchison, Brown
- City of Hill City -(KS)Municipal · EIA 8599Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Graham
- City of Meade - (KS)Municipal · EIA 12242Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Meade
- City of Stockton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 18137Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Rooks
- City of La Crosse - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10559Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Rush
- City of Lincoln Center - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11017Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lincoln
- City of Osborne - (KS)Municipal · EIA 14214Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Osborne
- City of Dighton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5154Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lane
- City of Kiowa - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10351Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Barber
- City of Johnson - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9776Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Stanton
- City of St. John - (KS)Municipal · EIA 17879Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Stafford
- City of Arma - (KS)Municipal · EIA 832Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Crawford
- City of Washington - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20141Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Washington
- City of Stafford - (KS)Municipal · EIA 17924Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Stafford
- City of Ashland - (KS)Municipal · EIA 911Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Clark
- City of Greensburg - (KS)Municipal · EIA 7631Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kiowa
- City of Chapman - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3366Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dickinson
- City of Burlingame - (KS)Municipal · EIA 2547Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Osage
- City of Haven - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8279Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Reno
- City of Jetmore -(KS)Municipal · EIA 9732Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Hodgeman
- City of Erie - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5957Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Neosho
- City of Chetopa - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3454Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Labette
- City of Pomona - (KS)Municipal · EIA 15201Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Franklin
- City of Wathena - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20192Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Doniphan
- City of Mankato - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11572Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Jewell
- City of Sharon Springs - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16988Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wallace
- City of Oxford - (KS)Municipal · EIA 14276Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sumner
- City of Elwood - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5839Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Doniphan
- City of Alma - (KS)Municipal · EIA 385Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Wabaunsee
- City of Troy - (KS)Municipal · EIA 18959Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Doniphan
- City of Montezuma - (KS)Municipal · EIA 12838Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Gray
- City of Altamont - (KS)Municipal · EIA 408Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Labette
- City of Galva - (KS)Municipal · EIA 6931Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
McPherson
- City of Attica - (KS)Municipal · EIA 989Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Harper
- City of Udall - (KS)Municipal · EIA 19344Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cowley
- City of Mount Hope - (KS)Municipal · EIA 13035Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sedgwick
- City of Cawker City - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3191Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mitchell
- City of Enterprise - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5919Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dickinson
- City of Glen Elder - (KS)Municipal · EIA 7287Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mitchell
- City of Waterville - (KS)Municipal · EIA 20189Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of Lucas- (KS)Municipal · EIA 11299Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Russell
- City of Holyrood - (KS)Municipal · EIA 8781Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Ellsworth
- City of Scranton - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16834Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Osage
- City of Glasco - (KS)Municipal · EIA 7269Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cloud
- City of Moran - (KS)Municipal · EIA 12909Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allen
- City of Centralia - (KS)Municipal · EIA 3294Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nemaha
- City of La Harpe - (KS)Municipal · EIA 10533Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allen
- City of Axtell - (KS)Municipal · EIA 1033Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of Mulberry - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11206Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Crawford
- Alfalfa Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 296
Reported counties (2)
Barber, Harper
- City of Toronto - (KS)Municipal · EIA 18945Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Woodson
- City of Arcadia - (KS)Municipal · EIA 764Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Crawford
- City of Robinson - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16135Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Brown
- City of HerndonMunicipal · EIA 8497Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Rawlins
- City of Morrill - (KS)Municipal · EIA 12896Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Brown
- City of Blue Mound - (KS)Municipal · EIA 1726Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Linn
- City of Luray - (KS)Municipal · EIA 11306Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Russell
- City of BronsonMunicipal · EIA 2270Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bourbon
- City of Prescott - (KS)Municipal · EIA 15336Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Linn
- City of Summerfield - (KS)Municipal · EIA 17754Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of Vermillion - (KS)Municipal · EIA 27545Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Marshall
- City of MuscotahMunicipal · EIA 11207Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Atchison
- City of Iuka - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9541Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pratt
- City of Isabel - (KS)Municipal · EIA 9463Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Barber
- City of Savonburg - (KS)Municipal · EIA 16876Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allen
- City of Elsmore - (KS)Municipal · EIA 5795Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allen
- City of Radium - (KS)Municipal · EIA 26894Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Stafford
- Southern Public Power DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 17642Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Smith
- WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Jewell
On-site energy sellers 1
- Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Kansas
1 state & utility record

Kansas residential heating and cooling rebates
Evergy · Heat pumps
The 2026 schedule includes qualifying heat-pump replacements and additions in Evergy Kansas territory.
- Benefit
- Published examples include $150 mini-split and $1,000 ground-source rebates; air-source tiers vary.
- Who may qualify
- Evergy Kansas residential customer; qualifying replacement/addition, equipment ratings and installation on or after January 1, 2026.
- Before applying or buying
- Use an Evergy-authorized contractor to confirm eligibility before installation; contractor handles installation and rebate application.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
Evergy Kansas 2026 offers are utility-specific; older trade-ally FAQs can describe prior periods. No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
Confirm the city/county code office for the project. Shawnee County’s building-code page is an example of local adoption and is not a statewide permit rule.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
- regulatorNet Metering — Kansas Corporation Commission
- regulatorParallel Generation in Kansas — Kansas Corporation Commission
- local permit exampleBuilding Code — Shawnee County Land Use & Development
