IN · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Indiana solar regulations.

For investor-owned utility customers, distinguish Excess Distributed Generation tariffs from preserved legacy net-metering service.

Central Avenue Beach at Indiana Dunes National Park, Indiana
Central Avenue Beach at Indiana Dunes National Park, IndianaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Indiana.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the actual tariff, export measurement and grandfathered status with your utility; cooperative and municipal arrangements need their own review.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official territory map links identify delivery utilities; confirm an address rather than assuming one provider serves an entire county.

Electric Service Territory Map — Indiana IURC
Browse 119 reported provider records in Indiana

Electric delivery utilities 119

  • Duke Energy Indiana, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 15470
    Reported counties (71)

    Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Delaware, Dubois, Fayette, Floyd, Fountain, Franklin, Fulton, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Kosciusko, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Martin, Miami, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Sullivan, Switzerland, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, Warrick, Washington, Wayne, Wells, White, Whitley

  • AES IndianaInvestor Owned · EIA 9273
    Reported counties (20)

    Bartholomew, Boone, Daviess, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Knox, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Pike, Putnam, Shelby, Sullivan, Switzerland

  • Northern Indiana Pub Serv CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13756
    Reported counties (20)

    Benton, Carroll, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Lagrange, Lake, Marshall, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, St Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Warren, White

  • Indiana Michigan Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9324
    Reported counties (25)

    Adams, Allen, Blackford, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Grant, Hamilton, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jay, LaPorte, Lagrange, Madison, Marshall, Miami, Noble, Randolph, St Joseph, Steuben, Tipton, Wabash, Wells, Whitley

  • Southern Indiana Gas & Elec CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17633
    Reported counties (7)

    Dubois, Gibson, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, Warrick

  • Hendricks County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 8447
    Reported counties (4)

    Hendricks, Montgomery, Morgan, Putnam

  • South Central Indiana REMCCooperative · EIA 12929
    Reported counties (7)

    Brown, Clay, Johnson, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Putnam

  • Northeastern Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 20603
    Reported counties (6)

    Allen, Huntington, Kosciusko, Noble, Wabash, Whitley

  • City of Anderson - (IN)Municipal · EIA 636
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • Tipmont Rural Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 18940
    Reported counties (8)

    Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery, Tippecanoe, White

  • Johnson County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 9778
    Reported counties (4)

    Brown, Johnson, Morgan, Shelby

  • Clark County Rural E M C - (IN)Cooperative · EIA 22822
    Reported counties (5)

    Clark, Floyd, Jefferson, Scott, Washington

  • Southeastern Indiana R E M CCooperative · EIA 17599
    Reported counties (7)

    Dearborn, Franklin, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Switzerland

  • City of MishawakaMunicipal · EIA 12674
    Reported counties (1)

    St Joseph

  • Jackson County Rural E M C - (IN)Cooperative · EIA 9576
    Reported counties (10)

    Bartholomew, Brown, Clark, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Lawrence, Monroe, Scott, Washington

  • Harrison County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 8179
    Reported counties (5)

    Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Washington

  • Boone County Rural EMCCooperative · EIA 24753
    Reported counties (5)

    Boone, Clinton, Hamilton, Hendricks, Montgomery

  • Utilities Dist-Western IN REMCCooperative · EIA 19667
    Reported counties (11)

    Clay, Daviess, Greene, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Owen, Putnam, Sullivan, Vigo

  • Kankakee Valley Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 9999
    Reported counties (7)

    LaPorte, Lake, Marshall, Porter, Pulaski, St Joseph, Starke

  • NineStar ConnectCooperative · EIA 8000
    Reported counties (4)

    Hamilton, Hancock, Madison, Rush

  • Heartland REMCCooperative · EIA 59505
    Reported counties (8)

    Adams, Allen, Grant, Huntington, Kosciusko, Miami, Wabash, Whitley

  • Kosciusko County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 10448
    Reported counties (4)

    Fulton, Kosciusko, Wabash, Whitley

  • City of Richmond - (IN)Municipal · EIA 15989
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Western Indiana Energy REMCCooperative · EIA 25295
    Reported counties (8)

    Clay, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Pike, Posey, Sullivan, Vigo

  • Carroll-White REMCCooperative · EIA 27599
    Reported counties (9)

    Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Howard, Jasper, Pulaski, Tippecanoe, White

  • RushShelby EnergyCooperative · EIA 17038
    Reported counties (9)

    Bartholomew, Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Henry, Johnson, Rush, Shelby

  • Dubois Rural Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 5394
    Reported counties (6)

    Crawford, Dubois, Martin, Orange, Perry, Pike

  • Parke County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 14471Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Clay, Fountain, Montgomery, Parke, Putnam, Vigo

  • Whitewater Valley Rural EMCCooperative · EIA 20216
    Reported counties (6)

    Dearborn, Fayette, Franklin, Randolph, Union, Wayne

  • City of Greenfield - (IN)Municipal · EIA 7627
    Reported counties (1)

    Hancock

  • City of Logansport - (IN)Municipal · EIA 11142
    Reported counties (1)

    Cass

  • Bartholomew County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 1283
    Reported counties (4)

    Bartholomew, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings

  • Noble County R E M CCooperative · EIA 13647
    Reported counties (8)

    Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Kosciusko, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, Whitley

  • Henry County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 8466Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Delaware, Fayette, Hancock, Henry, Madison, Randolph, Rush, Wayne

  • Steuben County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 18100
    Reported counties (3)

    DeKalb, Lagrange, Steuben

  • Southern Indiana R E C, IncCooperative · EIA 19445
    Reported counties (4)

    Dubois, Perry, Spencer, Warrick

  • City of Peru - (IN)Municipal · EIA 14839
    Reported counties (2)

    Cass, Miami

  • Crawfordsville Elec, Lgt & PwrMunicipal · EIA 4508
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • Orange County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 14160Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Crawford, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, Washington

  • City of Lebanon - (IN)Municipal · EIA 9613
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • Decatur County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 4960
    Reported counties (6)

    Bartholomew, Decatur, Franklin, Jennings, Ripley, Rush

  • City of Washington - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20139Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Daviess

  • Daviess Martin County R E M CCooperative · EIA 4848
    Reported counties (4)

    Daviess, Greene, Lawrence, Martin

  • City of Frankfort - (IN)Municipal · EIA 6707
    Reported counties (4)

    Boone, Clinton, Hamilton, Tipton

  • Jasper County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 9665
    Reported counties (6)

    Jasper, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, Starke, White

  • Marshall County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 11767Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, St Joseph, Starke

  • Lagrange County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 10562Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Elkhart, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben

  • City of Auburn - (IN)Municipal · EIA 994
    Reported counties (1)

    DeKalb

  • City of Jasper - (IN)Municipal · EIA 9667
    Reported counties (1)

    Dubois

  • Fulton County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 6848Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Cass, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, Miami, Pulaski, Starke

  • Miami-Cass County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 12406Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Cass, Miami, Wabash

  • Jay County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 9666Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Adams, Blackford, Delaware, Jay, Randolph, Wells

  • City of Columbia City - (IN)Municipal · EIA 4007Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Noble, Whitley

  • Warren County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 20111Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Benton, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Warren, White

  • City of Bluffton - (IN)Municipal · EIA 1896
    Reported counties (1)

    Wells

  • City of Tell City - (IN)Municipal · EIA 18538Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Perry

  • Tipton Municipal Electric UtilMunicipal · EIA 18942Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tipton

  • Paulding-Putman Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14599
    Reported counties (2)

    Adams, Allen

  • City of Scottsburg - (IN)Municipal · EIA 16830Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scott

  • Lawrenceburg Municipal UtilsMunicipal · EIA 10798Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dearborn

  • City of Huntingburg - (IN)Municipal · EIA 9088Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dubois

  • Town of Bargersville - (IN)Municipal · EIA 1208Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnson

  • City of Linton - (IN)Municipal · EIA 11055Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • City of GarrettMunicipal · EIA 6970Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    DeKalb

  • Town of Pendleton - (IN)Municipal · EIA 14659Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • City of Rensselaer - (IN)Municipal · EIA 15860Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jasper

  • City of Gas City - (IN)Municipal · EIA 6993Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • Edinburgh Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 5655Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Bartholomew, Johnson, Shelby

  • Bremen Electric Light & Power CoMunicipal · EIA 2192Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of GreendaleMunicipal · EIA 6907Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dearborn

  • Town of Winamac - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20792Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pulaski

  • Town of Rockville - (IN)Municipal · EIA 16219Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Parke

  • Town of Paoli - (IN)Municipal · EIA 14435Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Orange

  • Town of Knightstown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 10407Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Henry, Rush

  • City of Covington - (IN)Municipal · EIA 4429Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fountain

  • City of Rising Sun - (IN)Municipal · EIA 16068Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Dearborn, Ohio

  • Town of Walkerton - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20021Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Joseph

  • Town of Middletown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 12476Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • Town of Centerville - (IN)Municipal · EIA 3230Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Flora UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 6425Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carroll

  • Newton County Rural E M CCooperative · EIA 13566Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Benton, Jasper, Newton

  • Town of Veedersburg - (IN)Municipal · EIA 19771Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fountain

  • Town of Avilla - (IN)Municipal · EIA 1028Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Noble

  • City of Hagerstown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 7907Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Town of Frankton - (IN)Municipal · EIA 6735Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • Town of South Whitley - (IN)Municipal · EIA 17589Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whitley

  • City of Williamsport - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20730Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • Town of New Carlisle- (IN)Municipal · EIA 13423Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Joseph

  • Town of ArgosMunicipal · EIA 789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • Town of Ferdinand - (IN)Municipal · EIA 6276Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dubois

  • City of Thorntown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 18887Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • Cannelton UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 2964Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Perry

  • Town of Warren - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20122Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Huntington

  • Town of Brookston - (IN)Municipal · EIA 2304Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    White

  • Town of Pittsboro - (IN)Municipal · EIA 15116Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hendricks

  • Darlington Light & Power CoMunicipal · EIA 4799Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • Town of Kingsford HeightsMunicipal · EIA 10330Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    LaPorte

  • Town of Ladoga - (IN)Municipal · EIA 10568Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • Town of Montezuma - (IN)Municipal · EIA 12840Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Parke

  • Town of Spiceland - (IN)Municipal · EIA 17790Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • Town of BrooklynMunicipal · EIA 2289Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Morgan

  • Town of Jamestown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 9646Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Boone, Hendricks

  • City of Waynetown - (IN)Municipal · EIA 20226Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • Dublin Municipal Electric UtilMunicipal · EIA 5392Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Town of Bainbridge - (IN)Municipal · EIA 1119Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Putnam

  • Town of Etna GreenMunicipal · EIA 5928Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kosciusko

  • Town of Chalmers - (IN)Municipal · EIA 3323Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    White

  • Town of Coatesville - (IN)Municipal · EIA 3815Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hendricks

  • Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI)Cooperative · EIA 12377
    Reported counties (3)

    Elkhart, Lagrange, St Joseph

  • City of Troy - (IN)Municipal · EIA 19227Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Perry, Spencer

  • Town of Advance - (IN)Municipal · EIA 157Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • City of Lewisville - (IN)Municipal · EIA 10961Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • City of New Ross - (IN)Municipal · EIA 13782Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • Town of Straughn - (IN)Municipal · EIA 18250Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • Town of Dunreith - (IN)Municipal · EIA 5071Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • Town of Crane - (IN)Municipal · EIA 4486Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • AGC Division of APGI IncInvestor Owned · EIA 261Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Warrick

  • Butler Rural Electric Coop Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 2651Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • City of Owensboro - (KY)Municipal · EIA 14268Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Spencer

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Indiana

2 state & utility records

Indiana Office of Energy Development — administrator logo
State · income qualified rebateApplications listed as open

Indiana Energy Saver Program

Indiana Office of Energy Development · Heat pumps / Efficiency

OED says applications are open for whole-home efficiency upgrades through a unified rebate application.

Benefit
Eligible product and installation discounts through qualified contractors; award depends on household/project approval.
Who may qualify
Indiana household and project eligibility, program assessment and qualified-contractor requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
Apply through the official Indiana Energy Saver website before arranging work; the application is the only route to program rebates.
Indiana Department of Local Government Finance — administrator logo
State · property tax deductionEligibility / funding conditions

Renewable energy assessed-value deduction

Indiana Department of Local Government Finance / County Auditor · Solar

Eligible solar, wind, geothermal or hydroelectric property can seek an assessed-value deduction using State Form 18865.

Benefit
Deduction depends on qualifying property and assessed value; it is not an installation cash rebate.
Who may qualify
Owner and qualifying device/system requirements; exclusions and filing dates on the current form apply.
Before applying or buying
File the certified statement with the County Auditor and confirm deadline and qualification before assuming the deduction.

Energy Saver rebates require program eligibility and approved work. Renewable property-tax deductions are separate county-administered benefits. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Indiana DHS links the currently effective code adoptions, Indiana amendments and local code-official directory. Proposed code updates should not be treated as adopted requirements.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.