IA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Iowa solar regulations.

Ask which metering and billing method the utility’s approved distributed-generation tariff uses.

Bear effigy mound at Effigy Mounds National Monument, Iowa
Bear effigy mound at Effigy Mounds National Monument, IowaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Iowa.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the provider and tariff: the commission’s explanation specifically identifies the two investor-owned utilities, while municipal and cooperative customers need their provider’s instructions.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official composite electric-service boundary map; boundaries can change and the utility should confirm service at the address.

Electric Service Area Boundary Map — Iowa Utilities Commission
Browse 183 reported provider records in Iowa

Electric delivery utilities 182

  • MidAmerican Energy Co — official logo
    MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12341
    Reported counties (55)

    Adair, Adams, Audubon, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Hamilton, Hardin, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Jasper, Johnson, Kossuth, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, O'Brien, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Taylor, Warren, Washington, Webster, Woodbury, Wright

  • Interstate Power and Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9417
    Reported counties (84)

    Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Des Moines, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Howard, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Polk, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Scott, Sioux, Story, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, Wright

  • Corridor Energy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 11053
    Reported counties (6)

    Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn

  • City of Ames - (IA)Municipal · EIA 554
    Reported counties (1)

    Story

  • Eastern Iowa Light & Power CoopCooperative · EIA 5605
    Reported counties (12)

    Cedar, Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Washington

  • Cedar Falls UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 3203
    Reported counties (3)

    Black Hawk, Butler, Grundy

  • Midland Power CoopCooperative · EIA 12450
    Reported counties (17)

    Boone, Calhoun, Dallas, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Humboldt, Kossuth, Marshall, Pocahontas, Polk, Story, Webster, Wright

  • Maquoketa Valley Rrl Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 12642
    Reported counties (9)

    Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones, Linn

  • Board of Water Electric & CommunicationsMunicipal · EIA 13143
    Reported counties (1)

    Muscatine

  • Allamakee-Clayton El Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 329Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Allamakee, Bremer, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Winneshiek

  • Iowa Lakes Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 9425
    Reported counties (13)

    Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Ida, Kossuth, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac

  • North West Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 17260
    Reported counties (11)

    Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Ida, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sac, Sioux, Woodbury

  • Access Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 16611
    Reported counties (10)

    Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington

  • East-Central Iowa Rural Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 5588
    Reported counties (11)

    Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Iowa, Johnson, Linn, Tama

  • Consumers Energy Coop - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 11788
    Reported counties (5)

    Jasper, Marshall, Polk, Story, Tama

  • Indianola Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 9275Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • T I P Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 18446Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Benton, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Poweshiek, Tama, Wapello, Washington

  • Chariton Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3314Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Appanoose, Davis, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Wapello, Wayne

  • City of Spencer - (IA)Municipal · EIA 17783Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • Southwest Iowa Rural Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 49986Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (11)

    Adair, Adams, Cass, Decatur, Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Ringgold, Taylor, Union

  • MiEnergy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 19157
    Reported counties (6)

    Allamakee, Chickasaw, Fayette, Howard, Mitchell, Winneshiek

  • Clarke Electric Coop Inc - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 3722Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Madison, Ringgold, Union, Warren, Wayne

  • Western Iowa Power CoopCooperative · EIA 19437Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Sac, Shelby, Woodbury

  • City of Pella - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14645Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Mahaska, Marion

  • Waverly Municipal Elec Utility - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20214Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Adair, Bremer, Cass, Dallas, Louisa, Madison, Muscatine, Polk, Pottawattamie, Washington

  • Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 6112Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Adair, Audubon, Cass, Guthrie, Madison, Union

  • Guthrie County Rural E C ACooperative · EIA 7750Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Adair, Audubon, Cass, Dallas, Greene, Guthrie

  • Southern Iowa Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17643Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Appanoose, Davis, Van Buren, Wapello

  • Atlantic Municipal Utilities (IA)Municipal · EIA 965Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Audubon, Cass, Pottawattamie, Shelby

  • City of Webster City - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20259Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamilton

  • Heartland Power CoopCooperative · EIA 8319
    Reported counties (9)

    Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Floyd, Hancock, Howard, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Worth

  • City of Mt Pleasant - (IA)Municipal · EIA 13038Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Henry

  • Harrison County Rrl Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 8283Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Crawford, Harrison, Monona, Pottawattamie, Shelby

  • Butler County Rural Elec Coop - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 2652
    Reported counties (7)

    Bremer, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin

  • City of Algona - (IA)Municipal · EIA 309Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kossuth

  • Nishnabotna Valley R E CCooperative · EIA 13675Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Audubon, Cass, Crawford, Harrison, Pottawattamie, Shelby

  • Woodbury County Rural E C ACooperative · EIA 20951Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth, Woodbury

  • Prairie Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 15291
    Reported counties (11)

    Cerro Gordo, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Humboldt, Kossuth, Webster, Winnebago, Worth, Wright

  • City of Estherville - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5998Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Emmet

  • City of Onawa - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14132Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monona

  • City of Denison - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5056Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Crawford

  • Pella Cooperative Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 26765Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Jasper, Mahaska, Marion, Poweshiek, Warren

  • Eldridge City UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 5742Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scott

  • City of Sioux CenterMunicipal · EIA 17264Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sioux

  • Harlan Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 8122Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shelby

  • City of Winterset - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20835Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • City of Maquoketa - (IA)Municipal · EIA 11611
    Reported counties (2)

    Clinton, Jackson

  • Raccoon Valley Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 7303Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Audubon, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, Ida, Sac

  • City of Independence - (IA)Municipal · EIA 9230
    Reported counties (1)

    Buchanan

  • City of Vinton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 19865Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • City of New Hampton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 13444Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chickasaw

  • City of Orange City - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14159Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sioux

  • City of Osage - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14201Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mitchell

  • Lyon Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 11298Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Lyon, Osceola, Sioux

  • Grundy County Rural Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 7864Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Black Hawk, Butler, Grundy, Hardin, Marshall, Tama

  • City of Sergeant Bluff - (IA)Municipal · EIA 16932Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woodbury

  • City of Forest City- (IA)Municipal · EIA 6579Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Hancock, Winnebago

  • City of Story City - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18177Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Boone, Hamilton, Story

  • Franklin Rural Electric Coop - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 6722Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hardin, Wright

  • City of Tipton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18947Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cedar

  • Calhoun County Elec Coop AssnCooperative · EIA 4040Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Calhoun, Greene, Pocahontas, Sac, Webster

  • City of Milford - (IA)Municipal · EIA 12541Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dickinson

  • City of Bellevue - (IA)Municipal · EIA 1515Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of West Liberty - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20380Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Muscatine

  • City of Carlisle- (IA)Municipal · EIA 3029Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • Grundy Center Mun Light & PowerMunicipal · EIA 7743Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grundy

  • City of Wilton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cedar, Muscatine

  • City of GuttenbergMunicipal · EIA 7837Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clayton

  • City of Sibley - (IA)Municipal · EIA 17141Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Osceola

  • Rock Rapids Municipal Utility - (IA)Municipal · EIA 16206Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lyon

  • City of Pocahontas - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15180Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pocahontas

  • City of Bloomfield - (IA)Municipal · EIA 1869Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Davis

  • City of Lake View - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10617Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sac

  • City of Hawarden - (IA)Municipal · EIA 8288Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sioux

  • Osceola Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14202Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Dickinson, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola

  • New London Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 13468Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Des Moines, Henry

  • City of Lake Mills - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10606Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Winnebago

  • City of Lamoni - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10650Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Decatur

  • La Porte City UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 10542Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Black Hawk

  • Atchison-Holt Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 942Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Fremont, Page

  • Cascade Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 3137Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Dubuque, Jones

  • City of Greenfield - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7626Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Adair

  • City of Ogden - (IA)Municipal · EIA 13990Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • City of Sumner - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18301Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bremer

  • City of Corning - (IA)Municipal · EIA 4375Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Adams

  • City of Traer - (IA)Municipal · EIA 19062Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Benton, Tama

  • City of State Center - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18014Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Marshall, Story

  • City of Alta - (IA)Municipal · EIA 405Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Buena Vista

  • City of Stuart - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18231Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Adair, Guthrie

  • City of Hartley - (IA)Municipal · EIA 8214Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    O'Brien

  • City of Durant - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5529Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Cedar, Muscatine, Scott

  • City of Denver - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5076Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bremer

  • City of Montezuma - (IA)Municipal · EIA 12839Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Poweshiek

  • City of Woodbine - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20949Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harrison

  • City of Remsen - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15846Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Plymouth

  • West Point Utility SystemMunicipal · EIA 20396Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lee

  • City of Akron - (IA)Municipal · EIA 182Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Plymouth

  • City of Brooklyn - (IA)Municipal · EIA 2287Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Poweshiek

  • City of Manning - (IA)Municipal · EIA 11581Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carroll

  • City of Laurens - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10769Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pocahontas

  • City of Sanborn - (IA)Municipal · EIA 16628Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    O'Brien

  • City of Mapleton- (IA)Municipal · EIA 11609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monona

  • City of Lenox - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10908Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Taylor

  • City of Panora - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14433Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Guthrie

  • City of Villisca - (IA)Municipal · EIA 19843Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • City of Strawberry Point -(IA)Municipal · EIA 18204Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clayton

  • City of Glidden - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7295Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carroll

  • City of Dysart - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5518Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tama

  • Amana Society Service CoInvestor Owned · EIA 471
    Reported counties (1)

    Iowa

  • City of Lake Park - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10608Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dickinson

  • City of Paullina - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14577Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    O'Brien

  • Farmers Electric Coop - (IA)Cooperative · EIA 6168Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Iowa, Johnson, Washington

  • Keosauqua Municipal Light & PwrMunicipal · EIA 10181Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Van Buren

  • City of McGregor- (IA)Municipal · EIA 12114Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clayton

  • City of Coon Rapids -(IA)Municipal · EIA 4305
    Reported counties (2)

    Carroll, Guthrie

  • Bancroft Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 1172Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kossuth

  • City of West Bend - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20364Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Humboldt, Kossuth, Palo Alto

  • City of Anita - (IA)Municipal · EIA 682Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cass

  • Gowrie Municipal Utilities - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7424Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of AltonMunicipal · EIA 198Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sioux

  • City of Fairbank - (IA)Municipal · EIA 6127Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Buchanan, Fayette

  • City of Primghar - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15377Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    O'Brien

  • City of AplingtonMunicipal · EIA 723Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Butler

  • City of Fredericksburg - (IA)Municipal · EIA 6759Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chickasaw

  • United Electric Coop, Inc - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 22646Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Page, Ringgold, Taylor

  • City of Dayton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 4919Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of Wall Lake - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20025Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sac

  • City of Aurelia - (IA)Municipal · EIA 1002Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • City of Larchwood - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10706Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lyon

  • City of Graettinger - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7443Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Palo Alto

  • City of Afton- (IA)Municipal · EIA 149Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • City of Preston - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15349
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Dike - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5155Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grundy

  • Town of Manilla - (IA)Municipal · EIA 11568Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Crawford

  • City of Neola - (IA)Municipal · EIA 13382Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pottawattamie

  • City of Rockford- (IA)Municipal · EIA 16211Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Floyd

  • City of Buffalo - (IA)Municipal · EIA 40390Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scott

  • City of Fontanelle - (IA)Municipal · EIA 6501Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Adair

  • City of Grand Junction - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7486Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • City of Danville - (IA)Municipal · EIA 4791Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Des Moines, Henry

  • City of Earlville - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5563Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Delaware

  • City of HintonMunicipal · EIA 8610Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Plymouth

  • City of Readlyn - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15751Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bremer

  • City of Stratford - (IA)Municipal · EIA 18201Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Hamilton, Webster

  • City of Sabula - (IA)Municipal · EIA 16528Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Hopkinton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 8847Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Delaware

  • City of Anthon - (IA)Municipal · EIA 700Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woodbury

  • City of Fonda - (IA)Municipal · EIA 6496Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pocahontas

  • City of Shelby - (IA)Municipal · EIA 17046Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Pottawattamie, Shelby

  • City of Stanton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 16992Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • City of Coggon - (IA)Municipal · EIA 3900Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Linn

  • City of Whittemore - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20604Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kossuth

  • City of Breda - (IA)Municipal · EIA 2183Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carroll

  • City of Lawler - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10784Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chickasaw

  • City of BurtMunicipal · EIA 2600Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kossuth

  • City of Farnhamville - (IA)Municipal · EIA 6210Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Calhoun

  • City of Ellsworth - (IA)Municipal · EIA 5827Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamilton

  • City of Renwick - (IA)Municipal · EIA 15862Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Humboldt

  • City of Stanhope - (IA)Municipal · EIA 27269Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamilton

  • City of Lehigh - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10881Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of Long Grove - (IA)Municipal · EIA 11141Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scott

  • Grundy Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7720Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Decatur, Ringgold, Wayne

  • City of Livermore- (IA)Municipal · EIA 11093Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Humboldt

  • City of Orient - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14166Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Adair

  • City of Callender - (IA)Municipal · EIA 2809Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of Kimballton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10265Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Audubon

  • City of Corwith - (IA)Municipal · EIA 4304Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hancock

  • City of Marathon - (IA)Municipal · EIA 10172Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Buena Vista

  • City of Auburn - (IA)Municipal · EIA 995Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sac

  • City of Alta Vista- (IA)Municipal · EIA 432Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chickasaw

  • Grafton Electric - (IA)Municipal · EIA 7442Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Worth

  • Pleasant Hill Community LineCooperative · EIA 60080Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamilton

  • City of Paton - (IA)Municipal · EIA 14473Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • City of Woolstock - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20846Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wright

  • Boone Valley Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 1968Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Hancock, Humboldt, Wright

  • Cass Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3111Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Hamilton, Wright

  • Town of Westfield - (IA)Municipal · EIA 20379Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Plymouth

  • Federated Rural Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 6258
    Reported counties (4)

    Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Osceola

  • Nobles Cooperative ElectricCooperative · EIA 13684Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Lyon, Osceola

  • Freeborn Mower Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 6782
    Reported counties (1)

    Worth

  • Omaha Public Power DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 14127Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pottawattamie

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (17)

    Adair, Audubon, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Lyon, Monona, O'Brien, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Taylor, Union, Woodbury

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Iowa

1 state & utility record

Iowa Department of Revenue (Iowa state brand) — administrator logo
State · property tax exclusionEligibility / funding conditions

Solar energy property valuation exclusion

Iowa Department of Revenue / local assessor · Solar

Iowa DOR describes a five-year exclusion for qualifying solar-system property and separate building-value treatment under Iowa Code 441.21(8).

Benefit
Eligible solar property value is excluded for five years; not a refund of installation cost.
Who may qualify
Qualifying solar property and local assessment rules; utility-scale and replacement-tax treatment can differ.
Before applying or buying
Confirm the system classification, assessment start and any required filing with the local assessor before assuming a tax benefit.

The listed property-tax treatment is distinct from Iowa income-tax-credit programs or a cash rebate. Consult the assessor on the exact property classification. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Iowa DIAL’s electrical-permit page flags 2026 statutory changes and links permit/inspection resources. Check its current instructions and the local inspection authority before relying on an older amendment list.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.