NV · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Nevada solar regulations.

Check the applicable net-metering tariff and the local building department rather than assuming a single rate or code applies throughout Nevada.

Red Rock Canyon, Nevada
Red Rock Canyon, NevadaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Nevada.

  • PUCN explains the net-metering framework and directs customers to the utility for the applicable service and program. Use the serving provider’s interconnection process for approval.

  • The PUCN net-metering guide describes different legislated tiers and application histories; do not assume an older customer’s export credit applies to a new system.

  • Clark County publishes its own adopted electrical code and Southern Nevada amendments. That is a local example, not a statewide residential code; confirm the actual city or county authority for the property.

Which rules cover your project?

State Public Works code adoption applies to state-owned facilities and should not be used as a blanket residential rule.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The directory also identifies nonregulated utility types; confirm the delivery provider and exact service territory.

PUCN electric utility directory
Browse 24 reported provider records in Nevada

Electric delivery utilities 19

  • Nevada Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13407
    Reported counties (2)

    Clark, Nye

  • Sierra Pacific Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17166
    Reported counties (14)

    Carson City, Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Pershing, Storey, Washoe

  • Valley Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 19840
    Reported counties (3)

    Clark, Esmeralda, Nye

  • Overton Power District No 5Political Subdivision · EIA 14245
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • City of Boulder City - (NV)Municipal · EIA 2008
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Mt Wheeler Power, IncCooperative · EIA 13073
    Reported counties (4)

    Elko, Eureka, Nye, White Pine

  • City of Fallon - (NV)Municipal · EIA 6172Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Churchill

  • Wells Rural Electric CoCooperative · EIA 20332
    Reported counties (2)

    Elko, Eureka

  • Lincoln County Power Dist No 1Political Subdivision · EIA 11021Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • Raft Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 22814
    Reported counties (1)

    Elko

  • Harney Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 11589Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Humboldt

  • Alamo Power District No 3Political Subdivision · EIA 191Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • City of Caliente - (NV)Municipal · EIA 2821Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • Plumas-Sierra Rural Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 15308Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washoe

  • Aha Macav Power ServicePolitical Subdivision · EIA 58123Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Surprise Valley ElectrificationCooperative · EIA 18260
    Reported counties (1)

    Washoe

  • Colorado River Comm of NevadaState · EIA 4356Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Southern California Edison — official logo
    Southern California Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

On-site energy sellers 5

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Nevada

1 state & utility record

NV Energy — administrator logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

2026 PowerShift residential air-conditioning and heat-pump incentives

NV Energy · Heat pumps

The current residential HVAC page lists 2026 incentives and efficiency requirements for qualifying heat pumps.

Benefit
Equipment- and program-specific benefit; request the current offer.
Who may qualify
Eligible NV Energy residential accounts, qualifying matched equipment and participating program/contractor requirements.
Before applying or buying
Confirm the service-region offer and application requirements before equipment purchase.

Current utility HVAC offers are distinct from older battery-storage brochures, which should not be treated as proof of an open battery rebate. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Clark County publishes its own adopted electrical code and Southern Nevada amendments. That is a local example, not a statewide residential code; confirm the actual city or county authority for the property.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.