OH · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Ohio solar regulations.

Start with the local electric utility for interconnection, then request its net-metering tariff.

Two people stand at the edge of a gray rock cliff; in the distance, sunset and trees in fall colors.
Ledges Overlook, Cuyahoga Valley National Park, OhioPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Ohio.

Which rules cover your project?

Identify whether your provider is an investor-owned utility, cooperative or municipal utility and obtain the applicable interconnection and export-credit terms directly from it. Confirm the permit route and residential versus nonresidential code requirements with the certified building department.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official state-published PUCO electric service-area layer with map-viewer links. Confirm the delivery utility at the exact address; an energy supplier is separate.

Ohio DOT / PUCO: Electric service-area boundaries
Browse 187 reported provider records in Ohio

Electric delivery utilities 117

  • Ohio Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14006
    Reported counties (53)

    Adams, Allen, Ashland, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Crawford, Darke, Defiance, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Hocking, Holmes, Huron, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Logan, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Sandusky, Scioto, Seneca, Stark, Summit, Tuscarawas, Van Wert, Washington, Wayne, Wood, Wyandot

  • Ohio Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13998
    Reported counties (36)

    Ashland, Ashtabula, Carroll, Champaign, Clark, Columbiana, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Erie, Fayette, Franklin, Geauga, Greene, Holmes, Huron, Knox, Lorain, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Medina, Miami, Morrow, Ottawa, Portage, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, Union, Wayne, Wyandot

  • Cleveland Electric Illum CoInvestor Owned · EIA 3755
    Reported counties (9)

    Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Summit, Trumbull

  • Duke Energy Ohio IncInvestor Owned · EIA 3542
    Reported counties (23)

    Adams, Brown, Butler, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Highland, Licking, Madison, Montgomery, Muskingum, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Ross, Scioto, Warren

  • Dayton Power & Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 4922
    Reported counties (24)

    Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clinton, Darke, Delaware, Fayette, Greene, Hardin, Highland, Logan, Madison, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Pickaway, Preble, Ross, Shelby, Union, Van Wert, Warren

  • The Toledo Edison CoInvestor Owned · EIA 18997
    Reported counties (10)

    Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Williams, Wood

  • South Central Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 18085
    Reported counties (24)

    Adams, Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Clermont, Clinton, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Jefferson, Licking, Madison, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton

  • City of Cleveland - (OH)Municipal · EIA 3762
    Reported counties (1)

    Cuyahoga

  • City of Hamilton - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7977
    Reported counties (1)

    Butler

  • Licking Rural Electric IncCooperative · EIA 10668
    Reported counties (9)

    Ashland, Coshocton, Delaware, Franklin, Knox, Licking, Muskingum, Perry, Richland

  • City of Cuyahoga Falls - (OH)Municipal · EIA 4683
    Reported counties (1)

    Summit

  • Consolidated CooperativeCooperative · EIA 12990
    Reported counties (8)

    Delaware, Franklin, Knox, Licking, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Union

  • Pioneer Rural Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 15054
    Reported counties (11)

    Auglaize, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Logan, Madison, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Shelby, Union

  • Buckeye Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2502
    Reported counties (9)

    Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton

  • City of Westerville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20477
    Reported counties (2)

    Delaware, Franklin

  • Guernsey-Muskingum El Coop IncCooperative · EIA 7891
    Reported counties (9)

    Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Licking, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Tuscarawas

  • City of Columbus - (OH)Municipal · EIA 4065
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • Lorain-Medina R E C, IncCooperative · EIA 11200
    Reported counties (6)

    Ashland, Erie, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Wayne

  • Holmes-Wayne Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 8761
    Reported counties (7)

    Ashland, Coshocton, Holmes, Knox, Stark, Tuscarawas, Wayne

  • City of Bowling Green - (OH)Municipal · EIA 2054
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Union Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 19501
    Reported counties (6)

    Champaign, Delaware, Hardin, Logan, Marion, Union

  • City of Wadsworth - (OH)Municipal · EIA 19951
    Reported counties (2)

    Medina, Summit

  • Carroll Electric Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 3076Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Carroll, Columbiana, Harrison, Jefferson, Stark, Tuscarawas

  • City of Niles - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13602
    Reported counties (1)

    Trumbull

  • Butler Rural Electric Coop Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 2651
    Reported counties (4)

    Butler, Hamilton, Montgomery, Preble

  • Hancock-Wood Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 8034
    Reported counties (11)

    Allen, Erie, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Ottawa, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Wood, Wyandot

  • City of Painesville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 14381
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake

  • Midwest Electric, Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 12515
    Reported counties (7)

    Allen, Auglaize, Darke, Mercer, Putnam, Shelby, Van Wert

  • Washington Electric Coop - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 20150Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Athens, Guernsey, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Washington

  • City of Piqua - (OH)Municipal · EIA 15095
    Reported counties (1)

    Miami

  • Firelands Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 6335Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Ashland, Huron, Lorain, Richland, Seneca

  • Frontier Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 6804Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Coshocton, Guernsey, Holmes, Knox, Licking, Muskingum, Tuscarawas

  • Paulding-Putman Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14599
    Reported counties (5)

    Allen, Defiance, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert

  • City of Lebanon - (OH)Municipal · EIA 10830
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • North Central Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 13693
    Reported counties (8)

    Crawford, Hancock, Huron, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Wood, Wyandot

  • Mid-Ohio Energy Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 36189Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Allen, Auglaize, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Logan, Marion, Morrow, Union, Wyandot

  • Adams Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 118Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Adams, Brown, Highland, Pike, Scioto

  • City of Celina - (OH)Municipal · EIA 3216
    Reported counties (2)

    Auglaize, Mercer

  • City of Hudson - (OH)Municipal · EIA 8972Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Summit

  • City of Amherst- (OH)Municipal · EIA 560Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lorain

  • City of Orrville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 14194
    Reported counties (2)

    Stark, Wayne

  • City of Napoleon - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13209Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Fulton, Henry

  • North Western Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13704Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Defiance, Henry, Paulding, Williams

  • City of GalionMunicipal · EIA 6914Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Crawford, Morrow, Richland

  • City of Dover - (OH)Municipal · EIA 5336
    Reported counties (1)

    Tuscarawas

  • City of Bryan - (OH)Municipal · EIA 2439Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Williams

  • City of Wapakoneta - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20077Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Auglaize

  • City of Tipp City - (OH)Municipal · EIA 18941Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Miami

  • City of Shelby - (OH)Municipal · EIA 17043Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Richland

  • Darke Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4796Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Darke, Mercer, Preble

  • Logan County Coop Power & LightCooperative · EIA 11203Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Hardin, Logan, Shelby

  • Tricounty Rural Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)Cooperative · EIA 19176Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Putnam, Wood

  • City of Columbiana - (OH)Municipal · EIA 4061Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Columbiana, Mahoning

  • City of HubbardMunicipal · EIA 8949Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Trumbull

  • City of St Marys - (OH)Municipal · EIA 17891Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Auglaize

  • City of Jackson - (OH)Municipal · EIA 9598Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Oberlin - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13949Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lorain

  • City of St Clairsville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 17865Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Belmont

  • Clyde Light & PowerMunicipal · EIA 3824
    Reported counties (1)

    Sandusky

  • Village of Wellington - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20313Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lorain

  • City of Newton Falls - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13563Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Trumbull

  • Village of Montpelier - (OH)Municipal · EIA 12861Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Williams

  • Village of Yellow Springs - (OH)Municipal · EIA 21101Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • Seville Board of Public AffairsMunicipal · EIA 16951Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Medina

  • Village of Blanchester - (OH)Municipal · EIA 1832Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clinton

  • Village of Georgetown - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7131Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • Village of Versailles - (OH)Municipal · EIA 19805Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Darke

  • Village of Carey - (OH)Municipal · EIA 3008Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wyandot

  • Village of Lodi - (OH)Municipal · EIA 11126Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Medina

  • City of Arcanum - (OH)Municipal · EIA 768Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Darke

  • Village of New Bremen - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13420Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Auglaize

  • Village of Bethel - (OH)Municipal · EIA 1650Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clermont

  • Village of Minster - (OH)Municipal · EIA 12660Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Auglaize, Shelby

  • Village of Oak Harbor - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13932Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ottawa

  • City of Woodsfield - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20977Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Village of Grafton - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7445Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lorain

  • Village of Genoa - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7100Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ottawa

  • Village of Edgerton - (OH)Municipal · EIA 5653Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Williams

  • Village of Woodville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20979Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sandusky

  • Village of Ripley - (OH)Municipal · EIA 16062Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • Village of Brewster - (OH)Municipal · EIA 2205Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stark

  • Village of Deshler - (OH)Municipal · EIA 5096Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Henry, Wood

  • Village of Elmore - (OH)Municipal · EIA 5833Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ottawa

  • Village of Glouster - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7311Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Athens

  • Village of Lakeview - (OH)Municipal · EIA 10616Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Logan

  • Village of Monroeville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 12811Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Huron

  • Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI)Cooperative · EIA 12377
    Reported counties (2)

    Fulton, Williams

  • Village of Beach City - (OH)Municipal · EIA 1386Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Stark, Tuscarawas

  • Village of Plymouth - (OH)Municipal · EIA 15203Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Richland

  • Village of Pioneer - (OH)Municipal · EIA 15072Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Williams

  • Village of Jackson Center - (OH)Municipal · EIA 9572Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shelby

  • Prospect CorporationMunicipal · EIA 15432Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Delaware, Marion

  • Village of Pemberville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 14650Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Milan - (OH)Municipal · EIA 12533Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Erie, Huron

  • Village of Haskins - (OH)Municipal · EIA 8240Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Bradner - (OH)Municipal · EIA 2128Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Marshallville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 11739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Village of Sycamore - (OH)Municipal · EIA 18393Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wyandot

  • Village of New Knoxville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13464Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Auglaize

  • Village of Waynesfield - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20223Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Auglaize

  • Village of Ohio City - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13997Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Van Wert

  • Village of Lucas - (OH)Municipal · EIA 11296Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Richland

  • City of Mendon - (OH)Municipal · EIA 12302Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mercer

  • Village of Republic - (OH)Municipal · EIA 15865Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Seneca

  • Village of Arcadia - (OH)Municipal · EIA 282Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hancock

  • Village of Bloomdale - (OH)Municipal · EIA 1677Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Shiloh - (OH)Municipal · EIA 17098Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Richland

  • Village of Eldorado - (OH)Municipal · EIA 5752Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Preble

  • Village of Cygnet - (OH)Municipal · EIA 4685Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Hamersville - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7973Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • South Vienna CorporationMunicipal · EIA 17588Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • Village of Tontogany - (OH)Municipal · EIA 18944Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Wharton - (OH)Municipal · EIA 20471Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wyandot

  • City of CustarMunicipal · EIA 4725Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wood

  • Village of Obetz - (OH)Municipal · EIA 13950Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • Ohio Valley Electric CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14015Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pike

  • Village of Greenwich - (OH)Municipal · EIA 7643Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Huron

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 68

  • Dynegy Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59385
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • AEP EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55722
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Harbor Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 6458
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Interstate Gas Supply, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58957
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Archer Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65262
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Public Power LLC (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58119
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • LE EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 64601
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Santanna Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59811
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Provision Power & Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63546
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SFE Energy Ohio, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 60579
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Ohio, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59311
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • AP Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56571
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Shipley Choice, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59410
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NTHERM, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 64705
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Kiwi Energy NY LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58853
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Vista Energy Marketing, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 60696
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • StateWise Energy Ohio LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60977
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunSea Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61972
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Powervine EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62148
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • New Wave Energy CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59812
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ResCom Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59848
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Ohio Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61479
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EcoPlus Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66113
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Median Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63168
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Retail Energy Solutions, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56286
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Renaissance Power & Gas, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square Energy East, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58973
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Choice Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59055
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Realgy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58972
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • South Bay Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61367
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Summer Energy Midwest, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62790
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tomorrow Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58952
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Great American Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67589
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Viridian Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58162
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • All American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61920
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ENGIE Power & Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57307
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 2

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Ohio

1 state & utility record

State · no cost servicesEligibility / funding conditions

Home Weatherization Assistance Program

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services / local energy assistance providers · Efficiency

Income-eligible households can seek home energy-efficiency improvements through their local assistance provider.

Benefit
Approved efficiency services rather than a general solar purchase rebate.
Who may qualify
Income-eligible Ohio households; the local agency determines eligibility and approved work.
Before applying or buying
Contact the local Energy Assistance Provider or Community Action Agency before purchasing equipment; this is agency-delivered assistance.

No statewide solar cash rebate was verified in this focused review. The linked weatherization assistance is a separate income-qualified efficiency opportunity. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.