OK · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Oklahoma solar regulations.

Use the Corporation Commission’s distributed-generation rules and your utility’s current tariff.

Herd of bison
Bison at Chickasaw National Recreation Area, OklahomaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Oklahoma.

  • The OCC describes netting generation against consumption during the billing period, with excess production purchased at avoided energy cost.

  • The OCC identifies rooftop solar and small wind as distributed generation and points to state statute and administrative rules.

Which rules cover your project?

The OUBCC says local jurisdictions interpret and enforce adopted minimum codes; different state agencies handle unincorporated-area responsibilities. Confirm which office will issue and inspect your permit.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Lists the regulated investor-owned providers and explains that municipal utilities and many cooperatives have different regulatory scope.

Oklahoma Corporation Commission: Electric Utility
Browse 96 reported provider records in Oklahoma

Electric delivery utilities 95

  • Oklahoma Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14063
    Reported counties (58)

    Adair, Alfalfa, Atoka, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Harper, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Marshall, McClain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washita, Woods, Woodward

  • Power Forward with PSO — official logo
    Public Service Co of OklahomaInvestor Owned · EIA 15474
    Reported counties (46)

    Atoka, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Cherokee, Choctaw, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Rogers, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita

  • Oklahoma Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 14062
    Reported counties (7)

    Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Grady, McClain, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie

  • City of Edmond - (OK)Municipal · EIA 5661
    Reported counties (1)

    Oklahoma

  • Northeast Oklahoma Electric CoCooperative · EIA 13734
    Reported counties (8)

    Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers

  • Verdigris Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 19785
    Reported counties (5)

    Nowata, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa, Washington

  • East Central Oklahoma Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 5598
    Reported counties (9)

    Creek, Lincoln, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Seminole, Tulsa, Wagoner

  • Lake Region Electric Coop, Inc - (OK)Cooperative · EIA 10599
    Reported counties (7)

    Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, Muskogee, Rogers, Wagoner

  • Canadian Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2911
    Reported counties (10)

    Cleveland, Creek, Hughes, Lincoln, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Pottawatomie, Seminole

  • CKenergy Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 60482
    Reported counties (9)

    Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Comanche, Custer, Dewey, Grady, Kiowa, Washita

  • Choctaw Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 3527
    Reported counties (6)

    Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Le Flore, McCurtain, Pushmataha

  • Kiamichi Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10170
    Reported counties (5)

    Atoka, Latimer, Le Flore, Pittsburg, Pushmataha

  • Central Rural Electric Cooperative, IncCooperative · EIA 3226
    Reported counties (8)

    Creek, Garfield, Lincoln, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne

  • Cotton Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4401
    Reported counties (8)

    Caddo, Carter, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Jefferson, Stephens, Tillman

  • Stillwater Utilities AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 18125
    Reported counties (1)

    Payne

  • Cookson Hills Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4296
    Reported counties (8)

    Adair, Cherokee, Haskell, Latimer, Le Flore, Muskogee, Pittsburg, Sequoyah

  • Red River Valley Rrl Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 15746
    Reported counties (5)

    Carter, Jefferson, Johnston, Love, Marshall

  • Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (OK)Cooperative · EIA 17603
    Reported counties (5)

    Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Coal, Johnston

  • Cimarron Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3478
    Reported counties (9)

    Blaine, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Garfield, Kingfisher, Logan, Major, Oklahoma

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (OK)Cooperative · EIA 19160
    Reported counties (3)

    Beaver, Cimarron, Texas

  • Indian Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 9246
    Reported counties (7)

    Creek, Kay, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Tulsa

  • People's Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 14775
    Reported counties (11)

    Atoka, Carter, Coal, Garvin, Hughes, Johnston, McClain, Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Seminole

  • City of Ponca City - (OK)Municipal · EIA 15202
    Reported counties (2)

    Kay, Osage

  • City of ClaremoreMunicipal · EIA 3647
    Reported counties (1)

    Rogers

  • Ozarks Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 14289
    Reported counties (4)

    Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Sequoyah

  • Northwestern Electric Coop Inc - (OK)Cooperative · EIA 13807
    Reported counties (7)

    Beaver, Dewey, Ellis, Harper, Major, Woods, Woodward

  • Rural Electric Coop, Inc - (OK)Cooperative · EIA 16382
    Reported counties (6)

    Carter, Comanche, Garvin, Grady, McClain, Stephens

  • Tahlequah Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 18433Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • City of Duncan - (OK)Municipal · EIA 5429Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stephens

  • City of Altus - (OK)Municipal · EIA 416
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Miami Special Utility AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 12408Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ottawa

  • Northfork Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13838Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Beckham, Custer, Dewey, Greer, Harmon, Roger Mills, Washita

  • City of Pryor - (OK)Municipal · EIA 15462Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mayes

  • Southwest Rural Elec Assn IncCooperative · EIA 17681Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Greer, Jackson, Kiowa, Tillman

  • City of Sallisaw - (OK)Municipal · EIA 16561Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sequoyah

  • City of Cushing - (OK)Municipal · EIA 4667Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Payne

  • Kay Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 10012
    Reported counties (5)

    Garfield, Grant, Kay, Noble, Osage

  • Arkansas Valley Elec Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 817
    Reported counties (3)

    Adair, Le Flore, Sequoyah

  • City of Collinsville - (OK)Municipal · EIA 3986Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tulsa

  • City of Skiatook - (OK)Municipal · EIA 17286Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Osage, Tulsa

  • Empire District Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5860
    Reported counties (3)

    Craig, Delaware, Ottawa

  • Wagoner Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 20163Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wagoner

  • City of Blackwell - (OK)Municipal · EIA 1800Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kay

  • Harmon Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 8183Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Beckham, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Kiowa

  • City of Purcell - (OK)Municipal · EIA 15515Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    McClain

  • City of Perry - (OK)Municipal · EIA 14829Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Noble

  • Alfalfa Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 296
    Reported counties (5)

    Alfalfa, Garfield, Grant, Major, Woods

  • Anadarko Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 588Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Caddo

  • Tecumseh Utility AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 18524Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pottawatomie

  • City of Kingfisher - (OK)Municipal · EIA 10320Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kingfisher

  • City of Marlow - (OK)Municipal · EIA 11691Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Grady, Stephens

  • City of Pawhuska - (OK)Municipal · EIA 14582Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Osage

  • City of Stilwell - (OK)Municipal · EIA 18126Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Adair

  • City of Watonga - (OK)Municipal · EIA 20196Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Blaine

  • City of Frederick - (OK)Municipal · EIA 6750Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tillman

  • City of New Cordell - (OK)Municipal · EIA 4344Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washita

  • City of Mangum - (OK)Municipal · EIA 11566Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greer

  • City of Fairview - (OK)Municipal · EIA 6152Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Major

  • City of Tonkawa - (OK)Municipal · EIA 19025Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kay

  • City of Stroud - (OK)Municipal · EIA 18224Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • City of Lindsay - (OK)Municipal · EIA 11058Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Garvin

  • City of Pawnee - (OK)Municipal · EIA 14583Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pawnee

  • City of Newkirk - (OK)Municipal · EIA 13530Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kay

  • City of Hominy - (OK)Municipal · EIA 8799Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Osage

  • Prague Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 15311Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • Walters Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 20061Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cotton

  • Town of Spiro - (OK)Municipal · EIA 17802Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Le Flore

  • Town of Mannford - (OK)Municipal · EIA 11578Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Creek

  • City of Wynnewood - (OK)Municipal · EIA 21066Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Garvin

  • City of Lexington - (OK)Municipal · EIA 10970Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cleveland

  • City of Mooreland - (OK)Municipal · EIA 12892Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woodward

  • City of Comanche - (OK)Municipal · EIA 4078Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stephens

  • City of Waynoka - (OK)Municipal · EIA 20227Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woods

  • City of Yale - (OK)Municipal · EIA 19719Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Payne

  • Town of Laverne - (OK)Municipal · EIA 10777Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harper

  • City of Wetumka - (OK)Municipal · EIA 20502Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hughes

  • City of Geary - (OK)Municipal · EIA 7048Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Blaine

  • Okeene Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 14057Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Blaine

  • City of Pond Creek - (OK)Municipal · EIA 15923Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • City of Granite - (OK)Municipal · EIA 7501Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greer

  • Rich Mountain Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 15811Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Le Flore, McCurtain

  • Town of South Coffeyville - (OK)Municipal · EIA 17553Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nowata

  • Copan Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 4319Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Town of Ryan - (OK)Municipal · EIA 16487Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • City of OlusteeMunicipal · EIA 13966Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Eldorado - (OK)Municipal · EIA 5741Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Southwest Arkansas E C CCooperative · EIA 17671
    Reported counties (1)

    McCurtain

  • Town of Fort Supply - (OK)Municipal · EIA 6618Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Woodward

  • Goltry Public Works AuthorityMunicipal · EIA 7441Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Alfalfa

  • Town of Braman - (OK)Municipal · EIA 2268Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kay

  • City of Orlando - (OK)Municipal · EIA 14176Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Logan

  • City of Manitou - (OK)Municipal · EIA 11541Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tillman

  • City of Burlington - (OK)Municipal · EIA 2553Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Alfalfa

  • Grand River Dam AuthorityState · EIA 7490Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mayes

  • Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (NM)Cooperative · EIA 17715Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cimarron

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Oklahoma

1 state & utility record

Power Forward with PSO — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

PSO home heat-pump and HVAC rebates

Public Service Company of Oklahoma · Heat pumps

PSO offers home HVAC rebates through participating service providers. Work by a nonparticipating contractor does not qualify.

Benefit
Rebate credited on the participating contractor invoice; amount depends on the qualifying upgrade.
Who may qualify
PSO residential service, an eligible replacement system, program technical requirements, and a participating PSO service provider.
Before applying or buying
Confirm the exact system and rebate with the participating contractor before purchase. Multiple-upgrade bonuses require pre- and post-work performance testing.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.