UT · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Utah solar regulations.

Rocky Mountain Power’s export-credit program differs from its legacy net-metering programs.

a broad stone arch with rock pinnacles in the distance
Mesa Arch, Canyonlands National Park, UtahPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Utah.

Which rules cover your project?

These Rocky Mountain Power tariff distinctions do not establish the rules of every municipal or cooperative provider. Confirm your utility, application date, tariff, and local permit authority. Small portable devices have a separate statutory framework; do not treat that as blanket approval for a fixed solar system.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Provides the list of electric public utilities and related regulatory resources; verify municipal/cooperative service separately.

Utah PSC: Electric Information
Browse 53 reported provider records in Utah

Electric delivery utilities 51

  • Rocky Mountain Power — official logo
    PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (26)

    Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Carbon, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Millard, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, Weber

  • Provo City CorpMunicipal · EIA 15444
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • City of St George - (UT)Municipal · EIA 17874
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Dixie Escalante R E A, IncCooperative · EIA 40165
    Reported counties (3)

    Iron, Millard, Washington

  • Lehi City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 10879
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • City of Logan - (UT)Municipal · EIA 11135
    Reported counties (1)

    Cache

  • City of Murray - (UT)Municipal · EIA 13137
    Reported counties (1)

    Salt Lake

  • Spanish Fork City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 17732
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • City of Bountiful - (UT)Municipal · EIA 2010
    Reported counties (1)

    Davis

  • Heber Light & Power CompanyMunicipal · EIA 8366
    Reported counties (1)

    Wasatch

  • Moon Lake Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 12866
    Reported counties (4)

    Daggett, Duchesne, Uintah, Wasatch

  • City of Washington - (UT)Municipal · EIA 20135Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Garkane Energy Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 6957
    Reported counties (7)

    Garfield, Iron, Kane, Piute, Sevier, Washington, Wayne

  • Kaysville City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 10063Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Davis

  • City of Springville - (UT)Municipal · EIA 17845
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • Hurricane City Power - (UT)Municipal · EIA 9128Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Payson City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 14600Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • Brigham City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 2220Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Box Elder

  • Price Municipal CorporationMunicipal · EIA 14198Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carbon

  • Hyrum City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 9163Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cache

  • Salem City Corporation - (UT)Municipal · EIA 16557Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • City of Santa Clara - (UT)Municipal · EIA 16648Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Strawberry Electric Serv DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 18206
    Reported counties (1)

    Utah

  • Nephi City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 13388Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Juab

  • City of Mt Pleasant - (UT)Municipal · EIA 13037Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sanpete

  • City of Ephraim - (UT)Municipal · EIA 5932Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sanpete

  • Bridger Valley Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 2215Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Daggett, Summit

  • Morgan City - (UT)Municipal · EIA 12928Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Morgan

  • Beaver City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 1434Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Beaver

  • Navajo Tribal Utility AuthorityState · EIA 13314
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

  • City of Blanding - (UT)Municipal · EIA 1839Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

  • Parowan City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 14512Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Iron

  • City of Manti - (UT)Municipal · EIA 11588Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sanpete

  • Fillmore City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 6316Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Millard

  • City of Helper - (UT)Municipal · EIA 8428Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carbon

  • City of Monroe - (UT)Municipal · EIA 12797Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sevier

  • Fairview City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 6154Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sanpete

  • Empire Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 5862
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

  • City of Enterprise - (UT)Municipal · EIA 40433Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Spring City CorporationMunicipal · EIA 17844Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sanpete

  • Wells Rural Electric CoCooperative · EIA 20332
    Reported counties (1)

    Tooele

  • Levan Town Corporation - (UT)Municipal · EIA 10978Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Juab

  • Raft Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 22814
    Reported counties (1)

    Box Elder

  • Kanosh Town CorporationMunicipal · EIA 9995Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Millard

  • Town of Oak City - (UT)Municipal · EIA 14022Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Millard

  • Town of Paragonah - (UT)Municipal · EIA 14443Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Iron

  • Town of Holden - (UT)Municipal · EIA 8714Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Millard

  • Mt Wheeler Power, IncCooperative · EIA 13073
    Reported counties (3)

    Juab, Millard, Tooele

  • Meadow Town CorporationMunicipal · EIA 12289Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Millard

  • Ticaboo Electric Improvement DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 66058Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Garfield

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Daggett, Salt Lake, San Juan, Uintah

On-site energy sellers 2

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Utah

1 state & utility record

Rocky Mountain Power — administrator logo
Utility · grid services incentiveEligibility / funding conditions

Wattsmart Battery program — Utah

Rocky Mountain Power · Storage

Eligible batteries receive an enrollment incentive and ongoing credits for utility-managed grid participation.

Benefit
Current Utah terms set the incentive by eligible battery output and configuration.
Who may qualify
Rocky Mountain Power service, an approved compatible battery and required communications.
Before applying or buying
Obtain customer-generation approval before installation. Review dispatch, commitment and prorated repayment on early withdrawal.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.