VA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Virginia solar regulations.

Start with SCC net-energy-metering resources and the serving utility’s notification process.

A road surrounded by fall foliage turns a curve around a small waterfall.
Skyline Drive in autumn, Shenandoah National Park, VirginiaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Virginia.

Which rules cover your project?

Identify the serving utility and customer class before sizing to net-metering limits. Confirm the local building department’s required plans, inspections and code amendments. SCC lists small portable-device rules separately from fixed-system interconnection.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Links regulated providers and an approximate electric territory map; confirm the exact service boundary and any cooperative or municipal provider.

Virginia SCC: Regulated Companies & Service Map
Browse 34 reported provider records in Virginia

Electric delivery utilities 32

  • Dominion Energy — official logo
    Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 19876
    Reported counties (104)

    Accomack, Albemarle, Alexandria City, Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bedford City, Botetourt, Bristol City, Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Buena Vista City, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Charlottesville City, Chesapeake City, Chesterfield, Clarke, Colonial Heights City, Covington City, Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Emporia City, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Franklin, Fredericksburg City, Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, Greensville, Halifax, Hampton City, Hanover, Harrisonburg City, Henrico, Henry, Hopewell City, Isle of Wight, James City, King George, King William, King and Queen, Lancaster, Lexington City, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Madison, Manassas City, Manassas Park City, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Nelson, New Kent, Newport News City, Norfolk City, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Petersburg City, Pittsylvania, Poquoson City, Portsmouth City, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, Rappahannock, Richmond, Richmond City, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Staunton City, Suffolk City, Surry, Sussex, Tazewell, Virginia Beach City, Warren, Waynesboro City, Westmoreland, Williamsburg City, York

  • Appalachian Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 733
    Reported counties (31)

    Albemarle, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell, Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Henry, Montgomery, Nelson, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Pulaski, Roanoke, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, Wythe

  • Rappahannock Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 40228
    Reported counties (22)

    Albemarle, Caroline, Clarke, Culpeper, Essex, Fauquier, Frederick, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, King William, King and Queen, Louisa, Madison, Orange, Page, Rappahannock, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren

  • Northern Virginia Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 13640
    Reported counties (7)

    Clarke, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Manassas Park City, Prince William, Stafford

  • Shenandoah Valley Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 17066
    Reported counties (12)

    Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Greene, Highland, Nelson, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Warren, Winchester City

  • Southside Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 21244
    Reported counties (18)

    Amelia, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Sussex

  • City of Danville - (VA)Municipal · EIA 4794
    Reported counties (5)

    Danville City, Halifax, Henry, Patrick, Pittsylvania

  • Central Virginia Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3291
    Reported counties (14)

    Albemarle, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Buckingham, Campbell, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Goochland, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, Orange, Prince Edward

  • A & N Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 84
    Reported counties (2)

    Accomack, Northampton

  • Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 12260
    Reported counties (9)

    Brunswick, Charlotte, Greensville, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Pittsylvania, Southampton, Sussex

  • Kentucky Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 10171
    Reported counties (6)

    Dickenson, Lee, Norton City, Russell, Scott, Wise

  • Northern Neck Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13762
    Reported counties (6)

    King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond, Stafford, Westmoreland

  • City of Harrisonburg - (VA)Municipal · EIA 8198
    Reported counties (1)

    Rockingham

  • City of Manassas - (VA)Municipal · EIA 11560
    Reported counties (1)

    Manassas City

  • Bristol Virginia UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 2248
    Reported counties (3)

    Bristol City, Scott, Washington

  • BARC Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 1062Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, Rockbridge

  • Community Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 4117Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Isle of Wight, Southampton, Suffolk City, Surry, Sussex

  • City of Salem - (VA)Municipal · EIA 16558
    Reported counties (2)

    Roanoke, Salem City

  • Prince George Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15410
    Reported counties (6)

    Dinwiddie, Isle of Wight, Prince George, Southampton, Surry, Sussex

  • Town of Front RoyalMunicipal · EIA 6803Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • City of Martinsville - (VA)Municipal · EIA 11770Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Henry, Martinsville City

  • City of Radford - (VA)Municipal · EIA 15619Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Montgomery, Pulaski, Radford City

  • Town of Bedford - (VA)Municipal · EIA 1456Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bedford

  • Craig-Botetourt Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 4471Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Giles, Montgomery, Roanoke

  • Powell Valley Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15293
    Reported counties (3)

    Lee, Scott, Wise

  • Town of Culpeper- (VA)Municipal · EIA 4619Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Culpeper

  • Virginia Tech Electric ServiceState · EIA 19882
    Reported counties (1)

    Montgomery

  • City of Franklin - (VA)Municipal · EIA 6715Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Franklin City, Isle of Wight, Southampton, Suffolk City

  • Town of Richlands - (VA)Municipal · EIA 15982Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tazewell

  • Town of Blackstone - (VA)Municipal · EIA 1795Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nottoway

  • Town of ElktonMunicipal · EIA 5794Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rockingham

  • Town of Wakefield - (VA)Municipal · EIA 19978Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sussex

On-site energy sellers 2

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Virginia

2 state & utility records

Dominion Energy — administrator logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Dominion Virginia home energy rebates

Dominion Energy Virginia · Efficiency

Dominion’s Virginia home-program hub links rebates and discounts for eligible efficiency products and services.

Benefit
Offer and amount depend on the current product/program, service account and equipment.
Who may qualify
Eligible Dominion Energy Virginia residential service; individual program, contractor and product requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
Choose the applicable current home program and confirm eligibility before buying. This is utility-specific, not a statewide solar rebate.
Virginia Energy — administrator logo
State · rebateNot launched

Virginia HOMES and HEAR programs — not launched

Virginia Energy · Multiple upgrades

Virginia Energy’s October 13, 2026 FAQ says the programs are not yet available and gives no estimated launch date.

Benefit
No currently accessible rebate is established by the planning caps; final eligibility and access procedures remain pending.
Who may qualify
Proposed household/project eligibility remains subject to DOE approval and final Virginia program rules.
Before applying or buying
Do not buy equipment on the assumption of receiving these rebates. Follow Virginia Energy’s launch updates; submitted applications/designs are not a consumer award.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.