WA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Washington solar regulations.

Check both your utility’s net-metering availability and the electrical inspection jurisdiction.

A glaciated mountain framed by forested hillsides reflects in a still mountain lake.
Mount Rainier reflected in Aurora Lake, WashingtonPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 4 regulation sources

What to know in Washington.

Which rules cover your project?

UTC oversight and a utility’s current net-metering tariff are different questions. Confirm your provider’s program capacity/status and whether L&I or a city/Tacoma office issues and inspects the permit.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The electric utility map linked by Washington UTC. Boundaries are a guide; confirm the exact serving utility and public-utility/cooperative arrangements at the address.

Washington UTC: Electric utilities map
Browse 64 reported provider records in Washington

Electric delivery utilities 63

  • Puget Sound Energy — official logo
    Puget Sound Energy IncInvestor Owned · EIA 15500
    Reported counties (8)

    Island, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Pierce, Skagit, Thurston, Whatcom

  • City of Seattle - (WA)Municipal · EIA 16868
    Reported counties (1)

    King

  • PUD No 1 of Snohomish County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 17470
    Reported counties (2)

    Island, Snohomish

  • Avista CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 20169
    Reported counties (9)

    Adams, Asotin, Ferry, Grant, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Whitman

  • PUD No 1 of Clark County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 3660
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • City of Tacoma - (WA)Municipal · EIA 18429
    Reported counties (4)

    King, Lewis, Mason, Pierce

  • PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (6)

    Benton, Columbia, Cowlitz, Garfield, Walla Walla, Yakima

  • PUD No 1 of Benton CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 1579
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • PUD No 1 of Cowlitz CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 4442
    Reported counties (1)

    Cowlitz

  • PUD No 2 of Grant County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 14624
    Reported counties (5)

    Adams, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Lincoln

  • PUD No 1 of Chelan County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 3413
    Reported counties (4)

    Chelan, King, Kittitas, Okanogan

  • Inland Power & Light CompanyCooperative · EIA 8699
    Reported counties (10)

    Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Lincoln, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman

  • PUD No 1 of Grays Harbor CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 7548
    Reported counties (5)

    Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Lewis, Pacific, Thurston

  • Peninsula Light CompanyCooperative · EIA 14668
    Reported counties (2)

    Kitsap, Pierce

  • PUD No 3 of Mason CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 15419
    Reported counties (4)

    Grays Harbor, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce

  • PUD No 1 of Clallam CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 3644
    Reported counties (2)

    Clallam, Jefferson

  • PUD No 1 of Lewis County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 10944
    Reported counties (6)

    Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Pacific, Pierce, Thurston

  • PUD No 1 of Franklin CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 6716
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • City of Richland - (WA)Municipal · EIA 15979
    Reported counties (1)

    Benton

  • PUD No 1 of Jefferson CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 59013
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • PUD No 1 of Okanogan CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 14055
    Reported counties (1)

    Okanogan

  • PUD No 1 of Douglas County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 5326
    Reported counties (1)

    Douglas

  • PUD No 2 of Pacific CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 14324
    Reported counties (3)

    Grays Harbor, Pacific, Wahkiakum

  • Elmhurst Mutual Power & Light CoCooperative · EIA 5832
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • Orcas Power & Light CoopCooperative · EIA 14170
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

  • Benton Rural Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 1625
    Reported counties (3)

    Benton, Lewis, Yakima

  • Vera Irrigation District #15Political Subdivision · EIA 19784
    Reported counties (1)

    Spokane

  • PUD No 1 of Klickitat CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 10393
    Reported counties (4)

    Benton, Klickitat, Skamania, Yakima

  • Modern Electric Water CompanyCooperative · EIA 12744
    Reported counties (1)

    Spokane

  • City of Port Angeles - (WA)Municipal · EIA 15231
    Reported counties (1)

    Clallam

  • PUD No 1 of Pend Oreille County - (WA)Political Subdivision · EIA 14653
    Reported counties (1)

    Pend Oreille

  • City of Centralia - (WA)Municipal · EIA 3295
    Reported counties (2)

    Lewis, Thurston

  • City of Ellensburg - (WA)Municipal · EIA 6149
    Reported counties (1)

    Kittitas

  • Lakeview Light & PowerCooperative · EIA 10627
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • City of Cheney - (WA)Municipal · EIA 3420Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Spokane

  • PUD No 1 of Skamania CoPolitical Subdivision · EIA 17279Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Skamania

  • Big Bend Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1723
    Reported counties (5)

    Adams, Franklin, Grant, Lincoln, Whitman

  • PUD No 1 of Mason CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 22355Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Jefferson, Mason

  • Tanner Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 18448Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    King, Pierce, Thurston

  • Ohop Mutual Light Company, IncCooperative · EIA 14012Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • Parkland Light & Water CompanyCooperative · EIA 14505Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • Columbia Rural Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 4041
    Reported counties (2)

    Columbia, Walla Walla

  • Okanogan County Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14074Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Okanogan

  • PUD No 1 of Kittitas CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 10326Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kittitas

  • City of Blaine - (WA)Municipal · EIA 1818Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whatcom

  • Town of SteilacoomMunicipal · EIA 18051Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • PUD No 1 of Ferry CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 6297Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Ferry, Okanogan

  • City of Milton - (WA)Municipal · EIA 12616Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    King, Pierce

  • Yakama PowerCooperative · EIA 56621Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Klickitat, Yakima

  • PUD No 1 of Wahkiakum CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 15327Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wahkiakum

  • Nespelem Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13387Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Douglas, Ferry, Okanogan

  • City of ChewelahMunicipal · EIA 3459Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stevens

  • Town of Eatonville - (WA)Municipal · EIA 5631Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • City of McCleary - (WA)Municipal · EIA 11965Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grays Harbor

  • Clearwater Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 3739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Asotin, Garfield, Whitman

  • City of Sumas - (WA)Municipal · EIA 18282Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whatcom

  • Town of Ruston - (WA)Municipal · EIA 16462Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pierce

  • City of Coulee Dam - (WA)Municipal · EIA 4414Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Douglas, Grant, Okanogan

  • Kootenai Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 10454
    Reported counties (1)

    Spokane

  • Northern Lights, IncCooperative · EIA 13758
    Reported counties (1)

    Pend Oreille

  • PUD No 1 of Asotin CountyMunicipal · EIA 14771Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Asotin

  • Bonneville Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 1738Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (30)

    Adams, Benton, Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Yakima

  • PUD No 1 of Whatcom CountyPolitical Subdivision · EIA 40456Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Whatcom

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Washington

1 state & utility record

Washington Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · tax exemptionEligibility / funding conditions

Solar energy sales and use tax exemption

Washington Department of Revenue · Solar

Qualifying solar equipment and installation can receive state sales/use tax relief; treatment depends on system size and other conditions.

Benefit
For systems generating at least 1 kW and no more than 100 kW AC, the qualifying exemption is available through December 31, 2029 under the cited rules.
Who may qualify
Eligible solar equipment/installation meeting Washington’s capacity, documentation and contractor requirements; larger systems have different rules.
Before applying or buying
Check the applicable exemption certificate/refund procedure with the seller and DOR before purchase. This is tax relief, not a cash installation rebate.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.