KY · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Kentucky solar regulations.

Review the specific utility’s net-metering tariff and interconnection agreement before assuming how exports will be credited.

Autumn at Sloans Crossing Pond in Mammoth Cave National Park, Kentucky
Autumn at Sloans Crossing Pond in Mammoth Cave National Park, KentuckyPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Kentucky.

Which rules cover your project?

The Duke tariff example applies only to its Kentucky service. Ask your utility which rider covers a new or existing system, and whether adding panels or changing the inverter alters eligibility.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official electric-service-area map links. Municipal utilities and TVA distributors have different regulatory arrangements; confirm the address.

Maps and GIS Data — Kentucky PSC
Browse 59 reported provider records in Kentucky

Electric delivery utilities 59

  • LG&E and KU — official logo
    Kentucky Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 10171
    Reported counties (77)

    Adair, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyle, Bracken, Bullitt, Caldwell, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jessamine, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lee, Lincoln, Livingston, Lyon, Madison, Marion, Mason, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Mercer, Montgomery, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Taylor, Trimble, Union, Washington, Webster, Whitley, Woodford

  • LG&E and KU — official logo
    Louisville Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 11249
    Reported counties (9)

    Bullitt, Hardin, Henry, Jefferson, Meade, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble

  • Duke Energy KentuckyInvestor Owned · EIA 19446
    Reported counties (6)

    Boone, Campbell, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Pendleton

  • Kentucky Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 22053
    Reported counties (20)

    Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Rowan

  • South Kentucky Rural E C CCooperative · EIA 17564
    Reported counties (11)

    Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Laurel, Lincoln, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Wayne

  • Owen Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 14251
    Reported counties (9)

    Boone, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton, Scott

  • Blue Grass Energy Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 1886
    Reported counties (23)

    Anderson, Bourbon, Bracken, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Nelson, Nicholas, Pendleton, Robertson, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Washington, Woodford

  • Warren Rural Elec Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 20130
    Reported counties (8)

    Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Grayson, Logan, Ohio, Simpson, Warren

  • Salt River Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 16587
    Reported counties (10)

    Anderson, Bullitt, Jefferson, Larue, Marion, Mercer, Nelson, Shelby, Spencer, Washington

  • Jackson Energy Coop Corp - (KY)Cooperative · EIA 9575
    Reported counties (15)

    Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Garrard, Jackson, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, Madison, Owsley, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wolfe

  • Kenergy CorpCooperative · EIA 9964
    Reported counties (14)

    Breckinridge, Caldwell, Crittenden, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Union, Webster

  • Pennyrile Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 14724
    Reported counties (8)

    Butler, Christian, Grant, Livingston, Logan, Muhlenberg, Todd, Trigg

  • Nolin Rural Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 13651
    Reported counties (9)

    Breckinridge, Bullitt, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Meade, Taylor

  • West Kentucky Rural E C CCooperative · EIA 20377
    Reported counties (6)

    Calloway, Carlisle, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Marshall

  • Meade County Rural E C CCooperative · EIA 12243
    Reported counties (6)

    Breckinridge, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Meade, Ohio

  • City of Bowling Green - (KY)Municipal · EIA 2056
    Reported counties (1)

    Warren

  • Inter County Energy Coop Corp - (KY)Cooperative · EIA 9292
    Reported counties (13)

    Boyle, Casey, Garrard, Larue, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Mercer, Nelson, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Taylor, Washington

  • Clark Energy Coop Inc - (KY)Cooperative · EIA 3687
    Reported counties (11)

    Bath, Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Madison, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Powell, Rowan

  • Farmers Rural Electric Coop Corp - (KY)Cooperative · EIA 6194
    Reported counties (11)

    Adair, Barren, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Metcalfe, Monroe, Warren

  • Taylor County Rural E C CCooperative · EIA 18498
    Reported counties (9)

    Adair, Casey, Cumberland, Green, Hart, Marion, Metcalfe, Russell, Taylor

  • Jackson Purchase Energy CorporationCooperative · EIA 9605
    Reported counties (6)

    Ballard, Carlisle, Graves, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken

  • Fleming-Mason Energy Coop IncCooperative · EIA 6442
    Reported counties (8)

    Bath, Bracken, Fleming, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas, Robertson, Rowan

  • City of Owensboro - (KY)Municipal · EIA 14268
    Reported counties (1)

    Daviess

  • Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc.Cooperative · EIA 4622
    Reported counties (9)

    Bell, Clay, Harlan, Knox, Laurel, Leslie, Letcher, McCreary, Whitley

  • Tri-County Elec Member Corp (TN)Cooperative · EIA 19162
    Reported counties (9)

    Adair, Allen, Barren, Clinton, Cumberland, Harlan, Hopkins, Metcalfe, Monroe

  • City of Paducah - (KY)Municipal · EIA 14371
    Reported counties (1)

    McCracken

  • City of Frankfort - (KY)Municipal · EIA 6708
    Reported counties (3)

    Franklin, Shelby, Woodford

  • Shelby Energy Coop, Inc - (KY)Cooperative · EIA 17044
    Reported counties (10)

    Anderson, Carroll, Franklin, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Owen, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble

  • Licking Valley Rural E C CCooperative · EIA 11011
    Reported counties (7)

    Breathitt, Elliott, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Wolfe

  • Grayson Rural Electric Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 7558
    Reported counties (6)

    Carter, Elliott, Greenup, Lawrence, Lewis, Rowan

  • Big Sandy Rural Elec Coop CorpCooperative · EIA 1708
    Reported counties (8)

    Breathitt, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan

  • Henderson City Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 8449
    Reported counties (1)

    Henderson

  • City of HopkinsvilleMunicipal · EIA 8846
    Reported counties (1)

    Christian

  • City of Nicholasville - (KY)Municipal · EIA 13577Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jessamine

  • Madisonville Municipal UtilsMunicipal · EIA 11488
    Reported counties (1)

    Hopkins

  • City of Murray - (KY)Municipal · EIA 13138
    Reported counties (1)

    Calloway

  • City of Glasgow - (KY)Municipal · EIA 7270
    Reported counties (1)

    Barren

  • City of Bardstown - (KY)Municipal · EIA 690Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nelson

  • City of Berea Municipal UtilityMunicipal · EIA 49998
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • City of Franklin - (KY)Municipal · EIA 6718
    Reported counties (1)

    Simpson

  • City of Mayfield Plant BoardMunicipal · EIA 11871
    Reported counties (1)

    Graves

  • Corbin City Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 4341Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Knox, Whitley

  • Barbourville Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 1201Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Knox

  • City of Princeton - (KY)Municipal · EIA 15386Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Caldwell

  • City of Paris - (KY)Municipal · EIA 14459Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bourbon

  • City of Russellville - (KY)Municipal · EIA 16459
    Reported counties (1)

    Logan

  • City of VanceburgMunicipal · EIA 19716Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lewis

  • Gibson Electric Members CorpCooperative · EIA 7174
    Reported counties (4)

    Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman

  • City of Benton - (KY)Municipal · EIA 1582
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of JellicoMunicipal · EIA 9697
    Reported counties (1)

    Whitley

  • Williamstown Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 20731Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • City of Providence - (KY)Municipal · EIA 15443Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of Olive Hill - (KY)Municipal · EIA 14103Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carter

  • City of Fulton - (KY)Municipal · EIA 6840
    Reported counties (1)

    Fulton

  • City of Falmouth - (KY)Municipal · EIA 6178Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pendleton

  • City of HickmanMunicipal · EIA 8548
    Reported counties (1)

    Fulton

  • City of Bardwell - (KY)Municipal · EIA 1205Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carlisle

  • City of BenhamMunicipal · EIA 1387Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harlan

  • Tennessee Valley AuthorityFederal · EIA 18642Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Kentucky

2 state & utility records

LG&E and KU — administrator logo
Utility · cash rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Residential Rebates — heat pumps

LG&E and KU · Heat pumps

Cash rebates for eligible ENERGY STAR-certified heat pumps and heat-pump water heaters.

Benefit
Published rebates: $400 ductless or air-source heat pump; $300 heat-pump water heater.
Who may qualify
LG&E/KU customer on an eligible residential rate and qualified equipment; not all ENERGY STAR equipment qualifies.
Before applying or buying
Review current equipment and licensed-contractor requirements before purchase; apply through My Account or the guest application route after the qualifying installation.
Kentucky Home Energy Rebates — official logo
State · program statusNot launched

Kentucky Home Energy Rebates rollout status

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet · Multiple upgrades

The official site says rebates are not yet available and rebate applications are not being accepted.

Benefit
No current rebate award; launch awaits additional DOE documents and approval.
Who may qualify
Future household, measure and contractor eligibility will follow the approved program.
Before applying or buying
Do not rely on retroactive reimbursement; wait for official launch and confirm project timing before non-emergency improvements.

Utility rebates may be available even though Kentucky Home Energy Rebates are not yet accepting applications. No statewide residential solar cash rebate was verified. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Kentucky’s electrical-inspection regulation identifies permit and inspection obligations and the department/local-inspector role. Confirm the reviewing inspector and current adopted requirements.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.