LA · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Louisiana solar regulations.

Identify the serving utility before applying: Entergy New Orleans has its own net-metering process, separate from the LPSC distributed-generation rules.

Bayou through Tallulah, Louisiana
Bayou through Tallulah, LouisianaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Louisiana.

Which rules cover your project?

LPSC rules do not replace the serving utility’s application or local permit. Check the New Orleans program separately when applicable.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Use the distribution map and the company on the electric bill; New Orleans has a separate municipal regulatory/program framework.

LPSC electric distribution map
Browse 39 reported provider records in Louisiana

Electric delivery utilities 38

  • Entergy — official logo
    Entergy Louisiana LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 11241
    Reported counties (60)

    Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, La Salle, Lafayette, Lafourche, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St Helena, St Bernard, St Charles, St James, St John The Baptist, St Landry, St Martin, St Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana, Winn

  • Cleco Power LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 3265
    Reported counties (24)

    Acadia, Allen, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Catahoula, DeSoto, Evangeline, Grant, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, La Salle, Natchitoches, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, St Landry, St Martin, St Mary, St Tammany, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington

  • Southwestern Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17698
    Reported counties (11)

    Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, DeSoto, Grant, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, Vernon, Webster, Winn

  • Entergy — official logo
    Entergy New Orleans, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 13478
    Reported counties (2)

    Orleans, St Bernard

  • Dixie Electric Membership Corp - (LA)Cooperative · EIA 5202
    Reported counties (7)

    Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St Helena, Tangipahoa, West Feliciana

  • Southwest Louisiana E M CCooperative · EIA 17684
    Reported counties (9)

    Acadia, Avoyelles, Cameron, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St Landry, St Martin, Vermilion

  • City of Lafayette - (LA)Municipal · EIA 9096
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • Washington-St Tammany E C, IncCooperative · EIA 21567
    Reported counties (3)

    St Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington

  • Beauregard Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1458
    Reported counties (7)

    Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, Rapides, Vernon

  • Claiborne Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3641
    Reported counties (6)

    Bienville, Claiborne, Lincoln, Ouachita, Union, Webster

  • City of Alexandria - (LA)Municipal · EIA 298
    Reported counties (1)

    Rapides

  • South Louisiana Elec Coop AssnCooperative · EIA 17565
    Reported counties (5)

    Assumption, Lafourche, St Martin, St Mary, Terrebonne

  • Concordia Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4153
    Reported counties (8)

    Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Franklin, Grant, La Salle, Rapides, Tensas

  • Northeast Louisiana Power Coop Inc.Cooperative · EIA 13783
    Reported counties (7)

    East Carroll, Franklin, Madison, Morehouse, Richland, Tensas, West Carroll

  • Terrebonne Parish Consol Gov'tMunicipal · EIA 8884
    Reported counties (1)

    Terrebonne

  • City of Ruston - (LA)Municipal · EIA 16463
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • Jefferson Davis Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 9682
    Reported counties (5)

    Allen, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, Vermilion

  • Panola-Harrison Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14424
    Reported counties (2)

    Caddo, DeSoto

  • Pointe Coupee Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 15175
    Reported counties (3)

    Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge

  • City of NatchitochesMunicipal · EIA 13228
    Reported counties (1)

    Natchitoches

  • City of Minden - (LA)Municipal · EIA 12625Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • Morgan City - (LA)Municipal · EIA 12927Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Mary

  • City of Abbeville - (LA)Municipal · EIA 59Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Vermilion

  • City of Plaquemine - (LA)Municipal · EIA 15137Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Iberville

  • City of Rayne - (LA)Municipal · EIA 15728Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Acadia

  • Town of Vidalia - (LA)Municipal · EIA 19828Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Concordia

  • City of St Martinville - (LA)Municipal · EIA 17889Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Martin

  • City of New Roads - (LA)Municipal · EIA 13483Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pointe Coupee

  • City of Winnfield - (LA)Municipal · EIA 30856Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Winn

  • City of Kaplan - (LA)Municipal · EIA 10025Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Vermilion

  • Town of Welsh - (LA)Municipal · EIA 20343Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson Davis

  • Town of Vinton - (LA)Municipal · EIA 19866Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Calcasieu

  • City of Jonesville - (LA)Municipal · EIA 9880Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Catahoula

  • City of Erath - (LA)Municipal · EIA 5945Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Vermilion

  • Town of GueydanMunicipal · EIA 7760Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Vermilion

  • Town of BoyceMunicipal · EIA 2064Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rapides

  • Ashley Chicot Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 925Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Morehouse

  • Vinton Public Power AuthorityPolitical Subdivision · EIA 19869Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Calcasieu

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Louisiana

2 state & utility records

Entergy — administrator logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Entergy Solutions residential programs

Entergy Louisiana · Efficiency

Residential efficiency programs include qualifying heating/cooling and other home upgrades.

Benefit
Equipment-specific incentives; obtain current written offer.
Who may qualify
Entergy Louisiana residential customers; qualifying equipment and program requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
Contact the program before selecting equipment and confirm any trade-ally or approval requirements.
Energy Smart New Orleans — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Energy Smart air-conditioning and heat-pump rebates

Entergy New Orleans / Energy Smart · Heat pumps

New Orleans customers can check current rebates for qualified heat pumps and HVAC systems.

Benefit
See the current efficiency and replacement-equipment schedule.
Who may qualify
Eligible Entergy New Orleans residential accounts and participating trade allies; efficiency requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
Use the participating contractor and current application form; the Louisiana-wide Entergy program is separate.

These are service-territory examples, not a statewide solar cash rebate. Check the applicable utility before purchasing equipment. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The State Fire Marshal publishes the construction and electrical codes it enforces. Confirm parish or municipal permit requirements, inspections, and the applicable amendments with the project authority.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.