Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources
What to know in Massachusetts.
DPU says an eligible net-metering facility must be interconnected by the electric company and meet that company’s requirements before connection.
DPU’s net-metering eligibility guidance applies to customers of regulated electric companies; customers of municipal electric companies should ask their municipality what it offers. SMART and net metering are separate programs.
The Department of Fire Services publishes the Massachusetts Electrical Code and Massachusetts amendments to NFPA 70. Use the current adopted requirements and obtain local permits.
Net-metering cap allocation or an exemption may also matter; confirm the specific facility class with the utility and DPU resources.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Municipal light plants can have programs separate from the Mass Save sponsors.
DPU: Find my electric, gas and water companyBrowse 91 reported provider records in Massachusetts
91 records
Electric delivery utilities 46
- NSTAR Electric CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 54913
Reported counties (11)
Barnstable, Berkshire, Bristol, Dukes, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk
- Massachusetts Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 11804
Reported counties (12)
Barnstable, Berkshire, Bristol, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, Worcester
- City of Taunton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 18488
Reported counties (1)
Bristol
- Town of Reading - (MA)Municipal · EIA 15748
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- City of Chicopee - (MA)Municipal · EIA 3477
Reported counties (1)
Hampden
- Fitchburg Gas & Elec Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 6374
Reported counties (2)
Middlesex, Worcester
- City of Peabody - (MA)Municipal · EIA 14605
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- City of Westfield - (MA)Municipal · EIA 20481
Reported counties (1)
Hampden
- Town of Shrewsbury - (MA)Municipal · EIA 17127
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- City of Holyoke - (MA)Municipal · EIA 8774
Reported counties (1)
Hampden
- Town of Middleborough - (MA)Municipal · EIA 12473
Reported counties (1)
Plymouth
- Town of Wakefield - (MA)Municipal · EIA 19979Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Town of Braintree - (MA)Municipal · EIA 2144
Reported counties (1)
Norfolk
- City of Norwood - (MA)Municipal · EIA 13839
Reported counties (1)
Norfolk
- Town of North Attleborough - (MA)Municipal · EIA 13679
Reported counties (1)
Bristol
- Town of Belmont - (MA)Municipal · EIA 1523Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Town of DanversMunicipal · EIA 5480
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Hudson - (MA)Municipal · EIA 8973
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Nantucket Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13206
Reported counties (1)
Nantucket
- Town of Marblehead - (MA)Municipal · EIA 11624Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- City of Hingham - (MA)Municipal · EIA 8796Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Plymouth
- Town of Mansfield - (MA)Municipal · EIA 11586
Reported counties (1)
Bristol
- Town of Wellesley - (MA)Municipal · EIA 20310
Reported counties (1)
Norfolk
- Town of Holden - (MA)Municipal · EIA 8715Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Concord - (MA)Municipal · EIA 4147Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Town of South Hadley - (MA)Municipal · EIA 17560Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Hampshire
- Town of Ipswich - (MA)Municipal · EIA 9442Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Littleton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 11085
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Hull Municipal Light Plant - (MA)Municipal · EIA 8797Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Plymouth
- Town of Groton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 7715Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Town of Sterling - (MA)Municipal · EIA 18087Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Middleton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 12477Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Templeton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 18546Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of West Boylston - (MA)Municipal · EIA 20326Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Georgetown - (MA)Municipal · EIA 7130Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Ashburnham - (MA)Municipal · EIA 902Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Rowley - (MA)Municipal · EIA 16377Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Merrimac - (MA)Municipal · EIA 12296Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Groveland - (MA)Municipal · EIA 7723Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Essex
- Town of Boylston - (MA)Municipal · EIA 2086Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Paxton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 14585Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of Princeton - (MA)Municipal · EIA 15371Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Worcester
- Town of ChesterMunicipal · EIA 3447Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Berkshire, Hampden
- City of Russell - (MA)Municipal · EIA 16438Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Hampden
- Massachusetts Bay Trans AuthorityPolitical Subdivision · EIA 49848Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk
- University of Massachusetts AmherstState · EIA 66866Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Hampshire
Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 39
- Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Dynegy Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59385
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Town Square EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59059
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmco Power MA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59313
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Viridian Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58161
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Hampshire Power CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67240
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Provider Power MASS, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58747
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SFE Energy Massachusetts, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59734
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- XOOM Energy Massachusetts, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57489
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Renaissance Power & Gas, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61059
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Public Power LLC (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58119
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Summer Energy Northeast, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61200
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Great American Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67589
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Maven Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67751
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Just EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 9949
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
On-site energy sellers 6
- Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Massachusetts
1 state & utility record
2026 air-source heat-pump rebates
Sponsors of Mass Save · Heat pumps
Whole-home, partial-home and basic heat-pump rebate paths have different eligibility and equipment rules.
- Benefit
- 2026 rebates depend on tonnage, project type and income; use the current schedule.
- Who may qualify
- Participating sponsor accounts, qualified equipment and a Heat Pump Installer Network contractor; whole-home projects have weatherization requirements.
- Before applying or buying
- Verify eligibility before work. 2026 equipment must be installed by December 31, with supporting documents due February 28, 2027.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
Mass Save is service- and equipment-specific; a municipal account may have different incentives. Solar and storage programs need their own eligibility review. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
The Department of Fire Services publishes the Massachusetts Electrical Code and Massachusetts amendments to NFPA 70. Use the current adopted requirements and obtain local permits.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
- interconnectionMassachusetts DPU — Net metering eligibility
- billingMassachusetts DPU — Net metering guide
- codesMassachusetts Electrical Code
