Sources reviewed · 4 regulation sources
What to know in Michigan.
MPSC publishes the Michigan Interconnection and Distributed Generation Standards and utility-specific procedure dockets. The utility’s procedures explain how those rules are implemented for that service territory.
MPSC’s distributed-generation page describes utility tariff updates implementing the 2023 energy law. Check the current utility DG tariff instead of using an old legacy net-metering credit assumption.
LARA explains that the state electrical code uses the NEC with Part 8 amendments, while provisions for one- and two-family dwellings are in the Michigan Residential Code; electrical alterations generally require a permit.
Municipal electric utilities have their own interconnection and billing arrangements; confirm the enforcing electrical agency for the property.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
The state map includes an address search and investor-owned, cooperative and municipal utility territories.
MPSC electric utility service-area mapBrowse 59 reported provider records in Michigan
59 records
Electric delivery utilities 58
- DTE Electric CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 5109
Reported counties (25)
Bay, Branch, Delta, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Ingham, Isabella, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Midland, Monroe, Montcalm, Oakland, Presque Isle, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, St Clair, Tuscola, Washtenaw, Wayne
Consumers Energy Co - (MI)Investor Owned · EIA 4254Reported counties (60)
Alcona, Allegan, Antrim, Arenac, Barry, Bay, Benzie, Branch, Calhoun, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Clare, Clinton, Crawford, Eaton, Emmet, Genesee, Gladwin, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Iosco, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau, Lenawee, Livingston, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Midland, Missaukee, Monroe, Montcalm, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oakland, Oceana, Ogemaw, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Ottawa, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, Shiawassee, St Joseph, Tuscola, Van Buren, Washtenaw, Wexford
- Great Lakes Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 38084
Reported counties (26)
Allegan, Antrim, Barry, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Missaukee, Montcalm, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Ottawa, Wexford
- Indiana Michigan Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9324
Reported counties (6)
Allegan, Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo, St Joseph, Van Buren
- City of Lansing - (MI)Municipal · EIA 10704
Reported counties (3)
Clinton, Eaton, Ingham
- Upper Peninsula Power CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 19578
Reported counties (11)
Alger, Baraga, Delta, Dickinson, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, Schoolcraft
- Cloverland Electric Co-opCooperative · EIA 3828
Reported counties (5)
Chippewa, Delta, Luce, Mackinac, Schoolcraft
- Cherryland Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 3436
Reported counties (6)
Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Wexford
- Upper Michigan Energy Resources Corp.Investor Owned · EIA 60631
Reported counties (10)
Alger, Baraga, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon
- Presque Isle Elec & Gas CoopCooperative · EIA 15340
Reported counties (9)
Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Emmet, Mackinac, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle
- Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI)Cooperative · EIA 12377
Reported counties (7)
Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo, Lenawee, Monroe, St Joseph, Van Buren
- City of Holland - (MI)Municipal · EIA 8723
Reported counties (2)
Allegan, Ottawa
- Tri-County Electric Coop (MI)Cooperative · EIA 19396
Reported counties (13)
Barry, Clare, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Isabella, Jackson, Mecosta, Montcalm, Osceola, Saginaw
- City of Bay City - (MI)Municipal · EIA 1366
Reported counties (1)
Bay
- City of Marquette - (MI)Municipal · EIA 11701
Reported counties (1)
Marquette
- Alpena Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 392
Reported counties (4)
Alcona, Alpena, Montmorency, Presque Isle
- City of Grand Haven - (MI)Municipal · EIA 7483
Reported counties (1)
Ottawa
- Thumb Electric Coop of MichCooperative · EIA 18895Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Huron, Sanilac, Tuscola
- Wyandotte Municipal Serv Comm - (MI)Municipal · EIA 21048
Reported counties (1)
Wayne
- City of Traverse City - (MI)Municipal · EIA 19125
Reported counties (2)
Grand Traverse, Leelanau
- Alger-Delta Coop Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 305
Reported counties (6)
Alger, Delta, Dickinson, Marquette, Menominee, Schoolcraft
- City of South Haven - (MI)Municipal · EIA 17562Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Allegan, Van Buren
- Northern States Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13780
Reported counties (2)
Gogebic, Ontonagon
- City of EscanabaMunicipal · EIA 24558Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Delta
- City of Niles - (MI)Municipal · EIA 13604Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Berrien
- Coldwater Board of Public UtilMunicipal · EIA 3915
Reported counties (1)
Branch
- Hillsdale Board of Public WksMunicipal · EIA 8631Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Hillsdale
- City of Sturgis - (MI)Municipal · EIA 18252
Reported counties (1)
St Joseph
- City of Zeeland - (MI)Municipal · EIA 21158
Reported counties (1)
Ottawa
- City of Petoskey - (MI)Municipal · EIA 14867Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Emmet
- Ontonagon County R E ACooperative · EIA 14156Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Baraga, Gogebic, Houghton, Keweenaw, Ontonagon
- City of Marshall - (MI)Municipal · EIA 11713Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Calhoun
- City of Charlevoix - (MI)Municipal · EIA 3384Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Charlevoix
- City of Harbor Springs - (MI)Municipal · EIA 8083Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Emmet
- Village of Chelsea - (MI)Municipal · EIA 3415Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Washtenaw
- City of Eaton Rapids - (MI)Municipal · EIA 5630Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Eaton
- City of Lowell - (MI)Municipal · EIA 11268Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Kent
- City of DowagiacMunicipal · EIA 5343Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cass
- City of Portland - (MI)Municipal · EIA 15246Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Ionia
- City of GladstoneMunicipal · EIA 7265
Reported counties (1)
Delta
- City of St Louis - (MI)Municipal · EIA 17886Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Gratiot
- City of NegauneeMunicipal · EIA 13352
Reported counties (1)
Marquette
- Village of Paw Paw - (MI)Municipal · EIA 14581Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Van Buren
- City of Norway - (MI)Municipal · EIA 13826
Reported counties (1)
Dickinson
- Village of Union City - (MI)Municipal · EIA 19432Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Branch
- City of Crystal Falls - (MI)Municipal · EIA 4604
Reported counties (1)
Iron
- Newberry Water & Light BoardMunicipal · EIA 13525Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Luce
- City of Hart Hydro - (MI)Municipal · EIA 8205Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Oceana
- Village of Clinton - (MI)Municipal · EIA 3813Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Lenawee, Washtenaw
- City of Croswell - (MI)Municipal · EIA 4562Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sanilac
- Village of L'Anse - (MI)Municipal · EIA 10508
Reported counties (1)
Baraga
- Village of Sebewaing - (MI)Municipal · EIA 16873Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Huron
- City of Wakefield - (MI)Municipal · EIA 19975Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Gogebic
- Village of Baraga - (MI)Municipal · EIA 1196
Reported counties (1)
Baraga
- City of Stephenson - (MI)Municipal · EIA 18074Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Menominee
- Village of Daggett - (MI)Municipal · EIA 4792Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Menominee
- Bayfield Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1367Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Gogebic
- Wolverine Power Supply CoopCooperative · EIA 20910Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (33)
Allegan, Alpena, Antrim, Barry, Benzie, Cass, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Clinton, Crawford, Eaton, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Ingham, Ionia, Isabella, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Missaukee, Montcalm, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Otsego, Ottawa, Presque Isle
On-site energy sellers 1
- Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Michigan
1 state & utility record

Michigan Home Energy Rebates (MiHER)
Michigan EGLE / CLEAResult · Heat pumps / Efficiency
Income-qualified efficiency and electrification projects proceed through the program and registered contractors. Some districts have temporarily paused new income-qualified applications.
- Benefit
- Approved-project benefit depends on household and upgrade eligibility; check district availability first.
- Who may qualify
- Income eligibility, participating district funding, eligible measures and an approved MiHER Registered Contractor.
- Before applying or buying
- Apply and complete the assessment/project-approval sequence before work; confirm current district status with the program.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
MiHER is not a universal rebate: income, project approval and district funding matter. Utility-specific programs may offer separate assistance. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
LARA explains that the state electrical code uses the NEC with Part 8 amendments, while provisions for one- and two-family dwellings are in the Michigan Residential Code; electrical alterations generally require a permit.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
