MN · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Minnesota solar regulations.

Use the MN DIP/DIA interconnection process for qualifying parallel distributed energy projects, then identify the separate compensation agreement.

Split Rock Lighthouse, Two Harbors, Minnesota
Split Rock Lighthouse, Two Harbors, MinnesotaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Minnesota.

  • The PUC publishes the Minnesota Distributed Energy Resource Interconnection Process and Agreement for distribution-connected DER; its guidance tells cooperative and municipal customers to confirm their local utility’s implementation.

  • The PUC explains that export compensation depends on system size and utility, and publishes net-metering and compensation guidance rather than one universal solar export rate.

  • The Department of Labor and Industry publishes electrical permits, code adoption information, equipment-approval resources, and solar/storage guidance.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the responsible electrical inspector and the utility’s project review before operation. Backup-only and off-grid arrangements are not automatically the same interconnection case as parallel DER.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The linked official electric service-area map can identify the provider at an address.

Minnesota PUC: Find a utility company
Browse 170 reported provider records in Minnesota

Electric delivery utilities 170

  • Xcel Energy — official logo
    Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned · EIA 13781
    Reported counties (52)

    Anoka, Benton, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Chisago, Clay, Dakota, Dodge, Douglas, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Pope, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Steele, Todd, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, Wright, Yellow Medicine

  • Connexus EnergyCooperative · EIA 689
    Reported counties (8)

    Anoka, Chisago, Hennepin, Isanti, Mille Lacs, Ramsey, Sherburne, Washington

  • ALLETE, Inc.Investor Owned · EIA 12647
    Reported counties (17)

    Aitkin, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Morrison, Otter Tail, Pine, St Louis, Stearns, Todd, Wadena

  • Dakota Electric AssociationCooperative · EIA 25177
    Reported counties (4)

    Dakota, Goodhue, Rice, Scott

  • East Central EnergyCooperative · EIA 5574
    Reported counties (10)

    Aitkin, Benton, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Washington

  • Rochester Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 16181
    Reported counties (1)

    Olmsted

  • Wright-Hennepin Coop Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 20996
    Reported counties (7)

    Carver, Hennepin, McLeod, Meeker, Sherburne, Stearns, Wright

  • Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14232
    Reported counties (30)

    Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Roseau, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine

  • Lake Country PowerCooperative · EIA 10697
    Reported counties (8)

    Aitkin, Carlton, Cass, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, St Louis

  • Crow Wing Cooperative Power & Light CompCooperative · EIA 4577
    Reported counties (4)

    Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd

  • Minnesota Valley Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 12651
    Reported counties (9)

    Blue Earth, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Le Sueur, Rice, Scott, Sibley, Waseca

  • Lake Region Electric Cooperative - (MN)Cooperative · EIA 10618
    Reported counties (8)

    Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Todd, Wadena, Wilkin

  • Stearns Cooperative Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 18019
    Reported counties (6)

    Douglas, Kandiyohi, Morrison, Pope, Stearns, Todd

  • People's Cooperative ServicesCooperative · EIA 14468
    Reported counties (6)

    Dodge, Fillmore, Mower, Olmsted, Wabasha, Winona

  • Beltrami Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1529
    Reported counties (6)

    Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching

  • Shakopee Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 16971
    Reported counties (1)

    Scott

  • City of Moorhead - (MN)Municipal · EIA 12894
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • BENCO Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 1884
    Reported counties (5)

    Blue Earth, Faribault, Le Sueur, Nicollet, Sibley

  • Freeborn Mower Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 6782
    Reported counties (7)

    Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Mower, Olmsted, Steele

  • MiEnergy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 19157
    Reported counties (5)

    Fillmore, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Winona

  • Mille Lacs Energy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 12546
    Reported counties (3)

    Aitkin, Crow Wing, Mille Lacs

  • Runestone Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 16368
    Reported counties (7)

    Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stearns, Stevens, Todd

  • Wild Rice Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20639
    Reported counties (5)

    Becker, Clay, Clearwater, Mahnomen, Polk

  • City of Elk RiverMunicipal · EIA 5773
    Reported counties (3)

    Hennepin, Sherburne, Wright

  • City of AnokaMunicipal · EIA 691
    Reported counties (2)

    Anoka, Hennepin

  • City of Owatonna - (MN)Municipal · EIA 14246
    Reported counties (1)

    Steele

  • Itasca-Mantrap Co-op Electrical AssnCooperative · EIA 9475
    Reported counties (5)

    Becker, Cass, Clearwater, Hubbard, Wadena

  • City of Chaska - (MN)Municipal · EIA 3400
    Reported counties (1)

    Carver

  • City of Austin - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1009
    Reported counties (1)

    Mower

  • Steele-Waseca Cooperative ElectricCooperative · EIA 18047
    Reported counties (9)

    Blue Earth, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Le Sueur, Rice, Steele, Waseca

  • Todd-Wadena Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 27422Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Becker, Cass, Douglas, Hubbard, Morrison, Otter Tail, Todd, Wadena

  • Kandiyohi Power CoopCooperative · EIA 9991Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Stearns, Swift

  • City of Alexandria - (MN)Municipal · EIA 295
    Reported counties (1)

    Douglas

  • Meeker Coop Light & Power AssnCooperative · EIA 12227
    Reported counties (6)

    Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Renville, Stearns, Wright

  • Willmar Municipal Utilities (MN)Municipal · EIA 20737
    Reported counties (1)

    Kandiyohi

  • Hibbing Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 8543Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • City of Detroit Lakes - (MN)Municipal · EIA 5111Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Becker

  • Grand Rapids Public Util CommMunicipal · EIA 7489Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Itasca

  • New Ulm Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 13488Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • McLeod Cooperative Power AssnCooperative · EIA 11910Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Carver, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Renville, Sibley, Wright

  • Nobles Cooperative ElectricCooperative · EIA 13684Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock

  • Brainerd Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 2138
    Reported counties (1)

    Crow Wing

  • North Star Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13731Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Koochiching, Lake of The Woods, Roseau, St Louis

  • City of Buffalo - (MN)Municipal · EIA 2485Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wright

  • Roseau Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 16284Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Beltrami, Lake of The Woods, Marshall, Roseau

  • Hutchinson Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 9130
    Reported counties (1)

    McLeod

  • City of North St Paul - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13730Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Ramsey, Washington

  • Cooperative Light & PowerCooperative · EIA 4346Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Lake, St Louis

  • Fairmont Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 6151Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • City of Marshall - (MN)Municipal · EIA 11731
    Reported counties (1)

    Lyon

  • Red Lake Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 26934Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Beltrami, Clearwater, Marshall, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake

  • Federated Rural Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 6258
    Reported counties (7)

    Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Watonwan

  • North Itasca Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13700Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Beltrami, Itasca, Koochiching

  • Goodhue County Coop Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 7460Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Dakota, Dodge, Goodhue, Olmsted, Rice, Wabasha

  • City of Thief River Falls - (MN)Municipal · EIA 18820Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pennington

  • City of Virginia - (MN)Municipal · EIA 19883Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • Minnesota Valley Coop L&P AssnCooperative · EIA 40304
    Reported counties (8)

    Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine

  • Red River Valley Coop Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 26939Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Clay, Norman, Polk

  • City of Saint PeterMunicipal · EIA 17900Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Le Sueur, Nicollet

  • Arrowhead Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 887Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cook, Lake

  • City of Worthington - (MN)Municipal · EIA 21013
    Reported counties (1)

    Nobles

  • South Central Electric AssnCooperative · EIA 17550
    Reported counties (8)

    Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Redwood, Watonwan

  • Brown County Rural Elec AssnCooperative · EIA 2316Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Watonwan

  • City of East Grand Forks - (MN)Municipal · EIA 5575Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • Redwood Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15750Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Brown, Cottonwood, Lyon, Murray, Redwood

  • Agralite Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 155
    Reported counties (6)

    Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Pope, Stevens, Swift

  • Clearwater-Polk Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 3764Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Mahnomen, Polk, Red Lake

  • City of Waseca - (MN)Municipal · EIA 20136Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Waseca

  • P K M Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14178Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Kittson, Marshall, Polk

  • Lyon Electric Cooperative, Inc.Cooperative · EIA 11345Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Pipestone, Yellow Medicine

  • New Prague Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 13480Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Le Sueur, Scott

  • Delano Municipal Utilities (MN)Municipal · EIA 5015Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wright

  • Litchfield Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 11064Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Meeker

  • City of Lake City - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10595Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Goodhue, Wabasha

  • Sioux Valley SW Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 17267
    Reported counties (5)

    Lincoln, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock

  • Princeton Public Utils CommMunicipal · EIA 15387Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Mille Lacs, Sherburne

  • City of KassonMunicipal · EIA 10040Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dodge

  • Redwood Falls Public Util CommMunicipal · EIA 15793Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Redwood

  • City of Luverne - (MN)Municipal · EIA 11332Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rock

  • Glencoe Light & Power CommMunicipal · EIA 7292
    Reported counties (1)

    McLeod

  • City of Windom (MN)Municipal · EIA 20806Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cottonwood

  • City of Wadena - (MN)Municipal · EIA 19947Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Otter Tail, Wadena

  • City of Sauk Centre - (MN)Municipal · EIA 16679Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stearns

  • City of Le Sueur - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10814Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Le Sueur, Sibley

  • City of St James - (MN)Municipal · EIA 17876Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Watonwan

  • Traverse Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 19060Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Big Stone, Grant, Stevens, Traverse, Wilkin

  • City of Ely - (MN)Municipal · EIA 5841Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • City of Two Harbors- (MN)Municipal · EIA 19321Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake

  • Sleepy Eye Public Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 17320Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • Blue Earth Light & WaterMunicipal · EIA 1883Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Faribault

  • City of Jackson - (MN)Municipal · EIA 9599Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Aitkin Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 174Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Aitkin

  • City of Mora - (MN)Municipal · EIA 12900Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kanabec

  • Melrose Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 12286Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stearns

  • City of St Charles - (MN)Municipal · EIA 17862Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Winona

  • Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 15845Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Sibley

  • City of Breckenridge- (MN)Municipal · EIA 2182Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wilkin

  • City of Benson - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1573Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Swift

  • City of Caledonia - (MN)Municipal · EIA 2810Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Houston

  • City of Granite Falls - (MN)Municipal · EIA 7494Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Chippewa, Yellow Medicine

  • City of Barnesville - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1233Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • City of Grand Marais - (MN)Municipal · EIA 7487Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cook

  • City of Roseau - (MN)Municipal · EIA 16285Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Roseau

  • Proctor Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 15460Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • City of Wells - (MN)Municipal · EIA 29295Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Faribault

  • Spring Valley Pub Utils CommMunicipal · EIA 17824Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • City of Ortonville - (MN)Municipal · EIA 14196Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Big Stone

  • City of Madelia - (MN)Municipal · EIA 29305Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Watonwan

  • City of Olivia - (MN)Municipal · EIA 14107Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Renville

  • City of WarroadMunicipal · EIA 20134Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Roseau

  • City of Mountain Iron - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13044Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • Springfield Public Utils Comm - (MN)Municipal · EIA 17836Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • City of Ada - (MN)Municipal · EIA 87Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Norman

  • City of Janesville - (MN)Municipal · EIA 9650Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Waseca

  • Hawley Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 8307Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • Kenyon Municipal Utilities - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10179Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Goodhue

  • City of Arlington - (MN)Municipal · EIA 828Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sibley

  • City of Staples- (MN)Municipal · EIA 17983Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Todd

  • City of Warren - (MN)Municipal · EIA 20110Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of Lake Crystal - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10596
    Reported counties (1)

    Blue Earth

  • City of Mountain Lake - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13048Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cottonwood

  • City of Blooming Prairie - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1871Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Dodge, Steele

  • City of Lakefield - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10622Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Madison - (MN)Municipal · EIA 11482Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lac Qui Parle

  • City of GilbertMunicipal · EIA 7194Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • Moose Lake Water & Light CommMunicipal · EIA 12897Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carlton

  • City of Rushford - (MN)Municipal · EIA 16427Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • Preston Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 15348Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • City of Fosston - (MN)Municipal · EIA 6627Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • City of Spring GroveMunicipal · EIA 17823Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Houston

  • City of Pierz - (MN)Municipal · EIA 15041Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Morrison

  • City of Winthrop - (MN)Municipal · EIA 20837Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sibley

  • Bagley Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 1101Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clearwater

  • City of Baudette - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1353Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake of The Woods

  • City of Elbow Lake - (MN)Municipal · EIA 5732Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • City of Tyler - (MN)Municipal · EIA 19332Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • City of Fairfax - (MN)Municipal · EIA 6138Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Renville

  • City of Harmony - (MN)Municipal · EIA 8131Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • Adrian Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 150Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nobles

  • Truman Public Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 19237Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • Lanesboro Public Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 10685Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • City of Lake Park - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10609Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Becker

  • City of Biwabik - (MN)Municipal · EIA 1753Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • City of Henning - (MN)Municipal · EIA 8459Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Otter Tail

  • City of Nashwauk - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13219Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Itasca

  • City of Buhl - (MN)Municipal · EIA 2491Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis

  • Keewatin Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 10089Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Itasca

  • City of Westbrook - (MN)Municipal · EIA 20430Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cottonwood

  • City of Mabel - (MN)Municipal · EIA 11424Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • City of Brownton - (MN)Municipal · EIA 2412Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    McLeod

  • City of Grove CityMunicipal · EIA 7732Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Meeker

  • City of Kasota - (MN)Municipal · EIA 10037Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Le Sueur

  • City of Randall - (MN)Municipal · EIA 15665Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Morrison

  • City of Stephen - (MN)Municipal · EIA 18063Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of Halstad - (MN)Municipal · EIA 7969Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Norman

  • City of Round Lake - (MN)Municipal · EIA 27026Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nobles

  • City of Brewster - (MN)Municipal · EIA 2206Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nobles

  • City of Alvarado - (MN)Municipal · EIA 482Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of Ceylon - (MN)Municipal · EIA 3356Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • City of Newfolden - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13495Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • City of Rushmore - (MN)Municipal · EIA 16451Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nobles

  • City of Eitzen - (MN)Municipal · EIA 5692Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Houston

  • City of Peterson - (MN)Municipal · EIA 14841Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fillmore

  • City of Shelly - (MN)Municipal · EIA 17074Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Norman

  • City of Alpha - (MN)Municipal · EIA 266Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Northwestern Wisconsin Elec CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13815
    Reported counties (1)

    Pine

  • City of Nielsville - (MN)Municipal · EIA 13465Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Polk

  • Heartland Power CoopCooperative · EIA 8319
    Reported counties (3)

    Faribault, Freeborn, Mower

  • H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 7870Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Lac Qui Parle, Otter Tail, Polk, Stevens, Swift, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Minnesota

2 state & utility records

Minnesota Department of Commerce — administrator logo
State · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Solar-paired energy-storage incentives

Minnesota Department of Commerce / Xcel Energy · Storage

Two incentive paths support eligible batteries paired with solar, depending on whether the property is inside Xcel’s service area.

Benefit
Outside Xcel: $250/kWh, maximum $7,000; Xcel has a separate schedule and $5,000 cap. Funding is first-come, first-served.
Who may qualify
Eligible solar-paired storage up to 50 kWh; applicant must use the correct service-territory program.
Before applying or buying
Confirm eligibility and remaining funds with Commerce or Xcel before committing; use the applicable application process.
Xcel Energy — administrator logo
Utility · performance paymentEligibility / funding conditions

Solar*Rewards

Xcel Energy Minnesota · Solar

Solar*Rewards provides solar production-based payments under the utility’s program.

Benefit
Contracted production-based incentive, not a universal upfront cash rebate.
Who may qualify
Xcel Minnesota customer, eligible solar project and available program allocation; income-qualified and other program paths differ.
Before applying or buying
Review the current application/waitlist and obtain the required program agreement before relying on the incentive.

Solar-plus-storage incentives have separate Xcel and non-Xcel paths and limited budgets; they are not an automatic rebate on any portable battery. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Department of Labor and Industry publishes electrical permits, code adoption information, equipment-approval resources, and solar/storage guidance.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.