Sources reviewed · 4 regulation sources
What to know in Mississippi.
Mississippi PSC publishes distributed-generation and interconnection rules. Mississippi Power separately explains its application review levels and required interconnection process for parallel generation.
Mississippi Power says its renewable-energy purchase programs require a valid interconnection agreement. The customer’s actual utility program and tariff determine export credit terms.
The State Fire Marshal’s uniform-building-code page explains the state’s local adoption framework, including jurisdictions that opted out; ask the county or municipality which electrical and building requirements apply.
Do not apply Mississippi Power or Entergy Mississippi terms to a different utility or cooperative without checking its program.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Use the official certificated-service-area resources and confirm the serving utility; not every provider is under the same rate regulation.
Mississippi PSC certificated-area mapsBrowse 50 reported provider records in Mississippi
50 records
Electric delivery utilities 50
Entergy Mississippi LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 12685Reported counties (46)
Adams, Amite, Attala, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, DeSoto, Franklin, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Leake, Leflore, Lincoln, Madison, Montgomery, Panola, Pike, Quitman, Rankin, Scott, Sharkey, Simpson, Smith, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wilkinson, Yalobusha, Yazoo
- Mississippi Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12686
Reported counties (23)
Clarke, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leake, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Perry, Scott, Smith, Stone, Wayne
- Coast Electric Power Assn - (MS)Cooperative · EIA 3841
Reported counties (3)
Hancock, Harrison, Pearl River
- Singing River Elec CooperativeCooperative · EIA 17252
Reported counties (7)
George, Greene, Harrison, Jackson, Perry, Stone, Wayne
- Southern Pine Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 17647
Reported counties (11)
Copiah, Covington, Forrest, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Newton, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith
- Pearl River Valley El Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 14563
Reported counties (12)
Covington, Forrest, George, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Stone, Walthall
- 4-County Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 6641
Reported counties (7)
Choctaw, Clay, Lowndes, Monroe, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Webster
- Dixie Electric Power Assn - (MS)Cooperative · EIA 5175
Reported counties (7)
Clarke, Covington, Forrest, Jasper, Jones, Perry, Wayne
- Tombigbee Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 19007
Reported counties (4)
Itawamba, Lee, Pontotoc, Prentiss
- Magnolia Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 11519
Reported counties (6)
Amite, Franklin, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall
- Central Electric Power Assn - (MS)Cooperative · EIA 2849
Reported counties (6)
Attala, Leake, Newton, Rankin, Scott, Tate
- Northcentral Mississippi E P ACooperative · EIA 13735
Reported counties (2)
DeSoto, Marshall
- North East Mississippi EPACooperative · EIA 40302
Reported counties (4)
Lafayette, Marshall, Pontotoc, Union
- Southwest Mississippi E P ACooperative · EIA 17683
Reported counties (9)
Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Jefferson, Lincoln, Wilkinson
- Tallahatchie Valley E P ACooperative · EIA 18447
Reported counties (5)
Lafayette, Panola, Tallahatchie, Tate, Yalobusha
- Delta Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 22815
Reported counties (13)
Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Choctaw, Grenada, Holmes, Humphreys, Leflore, Montgomery, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Washington, Webster
- Pontotoc Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 15211
Reported counties (2)
Calhoun, Pontotoc
- Alcorn County Elec Power AssnCooperative · EIA 276
Reported counties (1)
Alcorn
- City of StarkvilleMunicipal · EIA 18006
Reported counties (1)
Oktibbeha
- Natchez Trace Elec Power AssnCooperative · EIA 13227
Reported counties (3)
Calhoun, Chickasaw, Webster
- Twin County Electric Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 18961Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (7)
Humphreys, Issaquena, Leflore, Sharkey, Sunflower, Warren, Washington
- Tishomingo County E P ACooperative · EIA 18951
Reported counties (2)
Prentiss, Tishomingo
- Prentiss County Elec Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 15334
Reported counties (2)
Lee, Prentiss
- City of Tupelo - (MS)Municipal · EIA 19273
Reported counties (1)
Lee
- Tippah Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 18943
Reported counties (1)
Tippah
- Monroe County Elec Power AssnCooperative · EIA 40303
Reported counties (2)
Lowndes, Monroe
- East Mississippi Elec Pwr AssnCooperative · EIA 5578
Reported counties (10)
Attala, Clarke, Jasper, Kemper, Lauderdale, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Wayne, Winston
- Yazoo Valley Elec Power AssnCooperative · EIA 21114
Reported counties (6)
Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren, Yazoo
- City of Holly SpringsMunicipal · EIA 8748
Reported counties (2)
Benton, Marshall
- City of Columbus - (MS)Municipal · EIA 4068
Reported counties (1)
Lowndes
- City of Oxford - (MS)Municipal · EIA 14275
Reported counties (1)
Lafayette
- Coahoma Electric Power AssnCooperative · EIA 3839Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (7)
Bolivar, Coahoma, DeSoto, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tunica
- City of New Albany - (MS)Municipal · EIA 13412
Reported counties (4)
Benton, Marshall, Tippah, Union
- Greenwood Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 7651
Reported counties (2)
Carroll, Leflore
- Clarksdale Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 3702Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Coahoma
- Public Serv Comm of Yazoo City -(MS)Municipal · EIA 21095Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Yazoo
- Canton Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 2974Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Madison
- City of OkolonaMunicipal · EIA 14078
Reported counties (1)
Chickasaw
- City of Kosciusko - (MS)Municipal · EIA 10447Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Attala
- City of West Point - (MS)Municipal · EIA 20394
Reported counties (1)
Clay
- City of AmoryMunicipal · EIA 571
Reported counties (1)
Monroe
- City of Philadelphia - (MS)Municipal · EIA 14947
Reported counties (1)
Neshoba
- City of Aberdeen - (MS)Municipal · EIA 55
Reported counties (1)
Monroe
- Louisville Electric SystemMunicipal · EIA 11247
Reported counties (1)
Winston
- City of Leland - (MS)Municipal · EIA 10892Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Washington
- City of Water Valley - (MS)Municipal · EIA 20176
Reported counties (1)
Yalobusha
- City of Collins - (MS)Municipal · EIA 3957Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Covington
- City of Itta Bena - (MS)Municipal · EIA 9472Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Leflore
- City of Macon - (MS)Municipal · EIA 11458
Reported counties (1)
Noxubee
- City of Durant - (MS)Municipal · EIA 5479Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Holmes
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Mississippi
1 state & utility record

Residential Heating and Cooling Program
Entergy Mississippi · Heat pumps
Participating trade allies offer incentives for qualified heat pumps and other heating/cooling equipment.
- Benefit
- Equipment-specific rebates; central and ductless systems use different schedules.
- Who may qualify
- Eligible Entergy Mississippi residential customer, approved equipment and participating trade ally.
- Before applying or buying
- Confirm the matched indoor/outdoor system and program requirements with the trade ally before purchase.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
Listed rebates apply only in their named utility territory. No universal statewide solar cash rebate is established by this selection. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
The State Fire Marshal’s uniform-building-code page explains the state’s local adoption framework, including jurisdictions that opted out; ask the county or municipality which electrical and building requirements apply.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
