MO · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Missouri solar regulations.

Check the customer-generator requirements, serving utility’s interconnection agreement, and local construction codes separately.

Rolling roads in Greene County, Missouri
Rolling roads in Greene County, MissouriPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Missouri.

Which rules cover your project?

PSC procedure resources concern utilities under its jurisdiction; the serving cooperative or municipal utility and local code office remain important contacts.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The locator describes service in communities; confirm the address with the utility and note investor-owned, municipal and cooperative differences.

Missouri PSC Utility Locator
Browse 133 reported provider records in Missouri

Electric delivery utilities 132

  • Union Electric Co - (MO)Investor Owned · EIA 19436
    Reported counties (65)

    Adair, Audrain, Bollinger, Boone, Butler, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Chariton, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Daviess, DeKalb, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Gentry, Howard, Iron, Jefferson, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, St Charles, St Francois, St Louis, St Louis City, Ste Genevieve, Stoddard, Sullivan, Warren, Washington

  • Evergy Missouri WestInvestor Owned · EIA 12698
    Reported counties (31)

    Andrew, Atchison, Barton, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Clay, Clinton, Dade, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Pettis, Platte, Ray, St Clair, Vernon, Worth

  • Evergy MetroInvestor Owned · EIA 10000
    Reported counties (14)

    Bates, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clay, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Livingston, Pettis, Platte, Randolph, Saline

  • Empire District Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5860
    Reported counties (15)

    Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Polk, St Clair, Stone, Taney

  • City Utilities of Springfield — official logo
    City Utilities of Springfield - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17833
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • Cuivre River Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4675
    Reported counties (5)

    Lincoln, Montgomery, Pike, St Charles, Warren

  • City of Independence - (MO)Municipal · EIA 9231
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • City of Columbia - (MO)Municipal · EIA 4045
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • Southwest Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 27238
    Reported counties (11)

    Benton, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Laclede, Polk, St Clair, Webster

  • White River Valley El Coop IncCooperative · EIA 20574
    Reported counties (5)

    Christian, Douglas, Ozark, Stone, Taney

  • Laclede Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10603
    Reported counties (6)

    Camden, Dallas, Laclede, Pulaski, Webster, Wright

  • Boone Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 2001
    Reported counties (6)

    Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Howard, Monroe, Randolph

  • Ozark Border Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 14285
    Reported counties (11)

    Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Dunklin, New Madrid, Oregon, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Stoddard, Wayne

  • Ozark Electric Coop Inc - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 14288
    Reported counties (9)

    Barry, Christian, Dade, Greene, Jasper, Lawrence, Newton, Polk, Stone

  • Co-Mo Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4063
    Reported counties (9)

    Benton, Camden, Cole, Cooper, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Pettis, Saline

  • Intercounty Electric Coop Assn - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 9331
    Reported counties (9)

    Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Texas, Wright

  • Citizens Electric Corporation - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 3600
    Reported counties (6)

    Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Jefferson, Perry, St Francois, Ste Genevieve

  • Platte-Clay Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 15138
    Reported counties (7)

    Buchanan, Caldwell, Clay, Clinton, DeKalb, Platte, Ray

  • Howell-Oregon Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 8934
    Reported counties (7)

    Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Shannon, Taney, Texas

  • Three Rivers Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 16751
    Reported counties (7)

    Cole, Franklin, Gasconade, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Osage

  • Black River Electric Coop - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 1775
    Reported counties (8)

    Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Dent, Iron, Madison, Reynolds, Shannon, Wayne

  • Crawford Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4524
    Reported counties (7)

    Crawford, Dent, Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, Phelps, Washington

  • New-Mac Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13520
    Reported counties (5)

    Barry, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton

  • Webster Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 20318
    Reported counties (7)

    Christian, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Laclede, Webster, Wright

  • Osage Valley Elec Coop AssnCooperative · EIA 14192
    Reported counties (7)

    Bates, Benton, Cass, Henry, Johnson, St Clair, Vernon

  • West Central Electric Coop Inc - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 20363
    Reported counties (5)

    Cass, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis

  • Callaway Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 4160
    Reported counties (5)

    Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Montgomery, Warren

  • Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 6181
    Reported counties (10)

    Caldwell, Carroll, Chariton, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Ray

  • Carroll Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 3093
    Reported counties (4)

    Barry, McDonald, Stone, Taney

  • Sac-Osage Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 16511Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Barton, Benton, Cedar, Dade, Henry, Hickory, Polk, St Clair, Vernon

  • City of Nixa - (MO)Municipal · EIA 3634Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Christian

  • Central Missouri Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 3268
    Reported counties (3)

    Benton, Pettis, Saline

  • SEMO Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 16805
    Reported counties (6)

    Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Scott, Stoddard

  • Barry Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 1279Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Barry, McDonald

  • Macon Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 11463
    Reported counties (9)

    Adair, Chariton, Knox, Linn, Macon, Monroe, Randolph, Shelby, Sullivan

  • United Electric Coop, Inc - (MO)Cooperative · EIA 22646Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (12)

    Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Harrison, Holt, Nodaway, Platte, Worth

  • City of Kirkwood - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10370
    Reported counties (1)

    St Louis City

  • Gascosage Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 7024
    Reported counties (5)

    Camden, Maries, Miller, Phelps, Pulaski

  • Pemiscot-Dunklin Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 14712Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Dunklin, New Madrid, Pemiscot

  • City of Rolla - (MO)Municipal · EIA 16259
    Reported counties (1)

    Phelps

  • City of Jackson - (MO)Municipal · EIA 9603Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cape Girardeau

  • City of Poplar Bluff - (MO)Municipal · EIA 15229
    Reported counties (1)

    Butler

  • Consolidated Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 4237
    Reported counties (8)

    Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Lincoln, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls

  • City of Hannibal - (MO)Municipal · EIA 8055
    Reported counties (2)

    Marion, Ralls

  • City of Farmington - (MO)Municipal · EIA 6205
    Reported counties (1)

    St Francois

  • Lewis County Rural E C ACooperative · EIA 10962Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Adair, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Scotland, Shelby

  • City of Carthage - (MO)Municipal · EIA 3113
    Reported counties (1)

    Jasper

  • City of Sikeston - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17177
    Reported counties (2)

    New Madrid, Scott

  • Barton County Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1301Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Barton, Cedar, Dade, Jasper, Vernon

  • Grundy Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7720Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Daviess, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, Sullivan

  • City of West Plains - (MO)Municipal · EIA 20392Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Howell

  • SE-MA-NO Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 16851Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Douglas, Texas, Webster, Wright

  • Ralls County Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15672Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Audrain, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Ralls

  • Tri-County Electric Coop Assn (MO)Cooperative · EIA 19158Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Adair, Clark, Knox, Macon, Putnam, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan

  • City of Marshall - (MO)Municipal · EIA 11732Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Saline

  • City of Lebanon - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10832
    Reported counties (1)

    Laclede

  • City of Fulton - (MO)Municipal · EIA 6839Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Callaway

  • City of Kennett - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10152Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dunklin

  • Missouri Rural Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 12700
    Reported counties (3)

    Marion, Monroe, Shelby

  • North Central MO Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13690Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Linn, Putnam, Sullivan

  • City of Harrisonville - (MO)Municipal · EIA 8199Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cass

  • Chillicothe Municipal Utils (MO)Municipal · EIA 3486Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Livingston

  • City of Monett - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12782
    Reported counties (2)

    Barry, Lawrence

  • City of Sullivan - (MO)Municipal · EIA 18273Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Crawford, Franklin

  • City of St Robert - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17918Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pulaski

  • Howard Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 8911Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Boone, Chariton, Howard, Randolph

  • City of CameronMunicipal · EIA 2900Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Clinton, DeKalb

  • City of Macon - (MO)Municipal · EIA 11460Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Macon

  • Trenton Municipal Utilities - (MO)Municipal · EIA 19150Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grundy

  • City of Waynesville - (MO)Municipal · EIA 20224Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pulaski

  • Atchison-Holt Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 942Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Atchison, Holt, Nodaway

  • City of Salem - (MO)Municipal · EIA 16559Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dent

  • City of Higginsville - (MO)Municipal · EIA 8567Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • City of Odessa - (MO)Municipal · EIA 13971Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • City of Centralia - (MO)Municipal · EIA 3296Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Boone

  • City of Lamar - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10057Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barton

  • City of California - (MO)Municipal · EIA 2851Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Moniteau

  • City of Butler - (MO)Municipal · EIA 2647Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bates

  • City of Mount Vernon - (MO)Municipal · EIA 13040Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lawrence

  • City of Fredericktown - (MO)Municipal · EIA 6761Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • City of St James - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17877Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Phelps

  • City of Malden - (MO)Municipal · EIA 11540Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dunklin

  • Carrollton Board of Public WksMunicipal · EIA 3082Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Carroll

  • City of Cuba - (MO)Municipal · EIA 4608Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Crawford

  • City of Palmyra - (MO)Municipal · EIA 14400Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marion

  • City of Bethany - (MO)Municipal · EIA 1647Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harrison

  • City of El Dorado Springs - (MO)Municipal · EIA 5686Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cedar

  • City of New Madrid - (MO)Municipal · EIA 13470Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    New Madrid

  • City of Ava - (MO)Municipal · EIA 1024Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Douglas, Lafayette

  • City of Fayette - (MO)Municipal · EIA 6231Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Howard

  • City of HermannMunicipal · EIA 8493Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gasconade

  • City of Mountain View - (MO)Municipal · EIA 13057Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Howell

  • City of Vandalia - (MO)Municipal · EIA 19722Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Audrain

  • City of Houston - (MO)Municipal · EIA 8896Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Texas

  • City of Monroe City - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12802Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Marion, Monroe, Ralls

  • City of Cabool - (MO)Municipal · EIA 2726Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Texas

  • City of Marceline - (MO)Municipal · EIA 11626Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Linn

  • City of Kahoka - (MO)Municipal · EIA 9973Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clark

  • City of Memphis - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12294Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scotland

  • City of Unionville - (MO)Municipal · EIA 19474Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Putnam

  • City of Willow Springs - (MO)Municipal · EIA 20739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Howell

  • City of Thayer - (MO)Municipal · EIA 18806Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Oregon

  • City of Richland - (MO)Municipal · EIA 15981Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Camden, Laclede, Pulaski

  • City of Slater - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17312Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Saline

  • City of Shelbina - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17035Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shelby

  • City of Gallatin - (MO)Municipal · EIA 6924Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Daviess

  • City of Salisbury - (MO)Municipal · EIA 16560Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chariton

  • City of Albany - (MO)Municipal · EIA 228Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gentry

  • City of Seymour - (MO)Municipal · EIA 16959Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Webster

  • City of Milan - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12531Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sullivan

  • City of Mansfield - (MO)Municipal · EIA 11585Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wright

  • City of Paris - (MO)Municipal · EIA 14456Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • City of SteelvilleMunicipal · EIA 18045Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Crawford

  • City of Rockport - (MO)Municipal · EIA 40382Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Atchison

  • City of Crane - (MO)Municipal · EIA 4483Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stone

  • City of La Plata - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10538Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Macon

  • City of Stanberry - (MO)Municipal · EIA 17946Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gentry

  • City of Winona - (MO)Municipal · EIA 20827Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shannon

  • Lockwood Water & Light CompanyMunicipal · EIA 11121Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dade

  • City of Osceola - (MO)Municipal · EIA 40383Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    St Clair

  • City of Perry - (MO)Municipal · EIA 14806Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Ralls

  • City of Liberal - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10977Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barton

  • City of Meadville - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12292Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Linn

  • City of Newburg - (MO)Municipal · EIA 13527Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Phelps

  • City of Gilman City - (MO)Municipal · EIA 7200Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harrison

  • City of Linneus - (MO)Municipal · EIA 10767Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Linn

  • City of Easton - (MO)Municipal · EIA 5583Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Buchanan

  • City of Mindenmines - (MO)Municipal · EIA 12627Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barton

  • City of Hunnewell - (MO)Municipal · EIA 9025Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shelby

  • Clay County Electric Coop Corp - (AR)Cooperative · EIA 3712
    Reported counties (3)

    Butler, Oregon, Ripley

  • Entergy — official logo
    Entergy Arkansas LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 814Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Dunklin, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Taney

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nodaway

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Missouri

2 state & utility records

City Utilities of Springfield — administrator logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

City Utilities HVAC rebate

City Utilities of Springfield · Heat pumps

Springfield’s municipal utility publishes rebates for qualified HVAC systems, including eligible air-source heat pumps.

Benefit
Equipment-specific rebate; see the current utility schedule.
Who may qualify
Eligible City Utilities residential electric customers and qualifying equipment/installation.
Before applying or buying
Check the utility’s current contractor, equipment and submission requirements before ordering.
City Utilities: HVAC Rebate Reviewed 2026-11-06
Ameren — administrator logo
Utility · on bill financingClosed / ended

Ameren Missouri PAYS 2026 enrollment status

Ameren Missouri · Heat pumps

The main program page says Whole Home PAYS and FastTrack HVAC PAYS are fully subscribed and not accepting 2026 enrollments.

Benefit
No new 2026 enrollment should be assumed; PAYS combines incentives with costs repaid through utility bills.
Who may qualify
Ameren Missouri electric customers subject to program eligibility when enrollment is available.
Before applying or buying
Check the official page for a future opening. This is not a free-equipment grant; approved participants repay the financed portion through bill charges.
Ameren Missouri: HVAC PAYS Reviewed 2026-11-06

Programs differ by utility and some 2026 allocations are closed. Do not treat an old incentive chart as proof that new enrollments are accepted. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Missouri DNR provides city and county code-adoption directories and explicitly advises contacting the local jurisdiction for current amendments and trade-code details.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.