NH · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

New Hampshire solar regulations.

Use the current Department of Energy net-metering rules and the distribution utility’s interconnection requirements.

Mount Washington Hotel and reflection, Bretton Woods, New Hampshire
Mount Washington Hotel and reflection, Bretton Woods, New HampshirePhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in New Hampshire.

Which rules cover your project?

Group-net-metering registration is a separate program step; it does not replace utility interconnection approval.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The state franchise map is a starting point; confirm the actual address and utility before selecting a utility-specific rebate.

New Hampshire DOE electric utility franchise map
Browse 27 reported provider records in New Hampshire

Electric delivery utilities 9

  • Eversource — official logo
    Public Service Co of NHInvestor Owned · EIA 15472
    Reported counties (10)

    Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, Strafford, Sullivan

  • New Hampshire Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13441
    Reported counties (9)

    Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, Merrimack, Rockingham, Strafford, Sullivan

  • Unitil Energy SystemsInvestor Owned · EIA 24590
    Reported counties (2)

    Merrimack, Rockingham

  • Liberty Utilities (Granite State ElectriInvestor Owned · EIA 26510
    Reported counties (5)

    Cheshire, Grafton, Hillsborough, Rockingham, Sullivan

  • Town of Wolfeboro - (NH)Municipal · EIA 20913Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Belknap, Carroll

  • Town of Littleton - (NH)Municipal · EIA 11196Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grafton

  • Town of AshlandMunicipal · EIA 906Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grafton

  • Precinct of WoodsvilleMunicipal · EIA 20980Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grafton

  • New Hampton Village PrecinctMunicipal · EIA 13286Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Belknap

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 14

  • Community Power Coalition of NHCommunity Choice Aggregator · EIA 65649
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Electricity NH, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58086
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • FairPoint Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58158
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy New Hampshire, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58633
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 4

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for New Hampshire

1 state & utility record

NHSaves — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

2026 NHSaves heat-pump rebates

NHSaves utility partners · Heat pumps

Participating utilities offer rebates for eligible heat pumps, with enhanced support for certain electric-resistance replacements.

Benefit
Benefit varies by utility, equipment and prior heating system; see the current schedule.
Who may qualify
Residential electric customer of a participating utility and qualified equipment installed in that utility territory.
Before applying or buying
Enhanced electric-resistance rebates require pre-verification before installation; check the 2026 installation window and claim deadline.
NHSaves: Heat Pumps Reviewed 2026-11-06

NHSaves rebates have utility-specific paths, and enhanced electric-resistance replacement rebates require pre-verification. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

RSA 155-A defines the state building code and incorporated electrical code. Confirm applicable amendments and local permit administration with the authority having jurisdiction.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.