Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources
What to know in New Jersey.
New Jersey’s Clean Energy Program explains that interconnection review has three levels based on generator size and other criteria.
The NJBPU program page states that regulated utilities and electric suppliers/providers must offer eligible renewable customer-generators net metering; the system’s generating capacity must not exceed the customer’s annual electric needs.
DCA publishes the current Uniform Construction Code subcodes, including the electrical subcode and adoption dates. Confirm the local construction office’s permit forms and any applicable transition period.
Municipal utility customers should verify their utility’s arrangements; NJBPU’s listed regulated-utility program should not be assumed to describe every provider.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Use the utility contact directory and the company on the bill; municipal/cooperative service may require a separate inquiry.
NJBPU utility contact directoryBrowse 82 reported provider records in New Jersey
82 records
Electric delivery utilities 14
Public Service Elec & Gas CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15477Reported counties (14)
Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Union
- Jersey Central Power & Lt CoInvestor Owned · EIA 9726
Reported counties (13)
Burlington, Essex, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, Warren
- Atlantic City Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 963
Reported counties (8)
Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean, Salem
- Rockland Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 16213
Reported counties (3)
Bergen, Passaic, Sussex
- City of Vineland - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 19856
Reported counties (1)
Cumberland
- Sussex Rural Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 40299Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Sussex
- Borough of Butler - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 2650Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Morris, Passaic
- Borough of Madison - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 11476Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Morris
- Borough of South River - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 17571Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Borough of Park Ridge - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 14472Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bergen
- Seaside Heights Municipal Utility (NJ)Municipal · EIA 16864Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Ocean
- Borough of Milltown - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 12608Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Middlesex
- Borough of Lavallette - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 10776Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Ocean
- Borough of Pemberton - (NJ)Municipal · EIA 14648Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Burlington
Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 62
- IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmco Power NJ, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56501
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Viridian Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58162
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Respond Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58663
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Stream Energy New Jersey, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57074
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Median Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63168
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- XOOM Energy New Jersey, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57491
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spring Energy RRH LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60124
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SunSea Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61972
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SFE Energy NJ, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59085
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- South Bay Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61367
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Great American Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67589
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Choice Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59055
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- AP Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56571
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- EcoPlus Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66113
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Retail Energy Solutions, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56286
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Pay Less Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65335
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- New Wave Energy CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59812
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- TriEagle Energy, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 19126
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- ENGIE Power & Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57307
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Harborside Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58978
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Vista Energy Marketing, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 60696
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Tomorrow Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58952
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Town Square Energy East, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58973
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Polaris Power Services LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66678
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- All American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61920
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spartacus Energy Services LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66118
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Power UP Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62156
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- AEP EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55722
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Harbor Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 6458
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Approved Energy II, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63122
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
On-site energy sellers 6
- Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for New Jersey
1 state & utility record
Successor Solar Incentive: ADI
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities / NJ Clean Energy Program · Solar
The SuSI framework includes an Administratively Determined Incentive path for residential and other eligible smaller solar projects.
- Benefit
- Eligible registered projects can earn SREC-II performance payments; market-segment allocation and program rules apply.
- Who may qualify
- Qualifying solar project under the applicable ADI market segment; registration and capacity limits must be checked.
- Before applying or buying
- Review the current ADI registration process and available block before relying on incentives; do not assume all applications or older SREC programs have identical terms.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
SREC-II payments are performance incentives, not a guaranteed upfront rebate or the same thing as a retail net-metering credit. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
DCA publishes the current Uniform Construction Code subcodes, including the electrical subcode and adoption dates. Confirm the local construction office’s permit forms and any applicable transition period.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
