NM · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

New Mexico solar regulations.

Use NMPRC Rule 568 for a qualifying distribution interconnection, alongside the utility’s tariff and construction permit process.

Dunes at White Sands National Park, New Mexico
Dunes at White Sands National Park, New MexicoPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in New Mexico.

  • Rule 17.9.568 NMAC establishes a common interconnection process for generating facilities up to and including 10 MW, including covered investor-owned utilities and rural cooperatives under NMPRC jurisdiction.

  • The PRC provides net-metering guidance and renewable-energy resources. Confirm the serving utility’s approved tariff and how excess generation is credited; community solar is a separate arrangement.

  • RLD’s rules and building-code directory links the New Mexico Electrical Code and other adopted codes directly to the official Administrative Code.

Which rules cover your project?

Check whether permitting is through CID or a local authority and obtain the utility’s authorization for the actual model and operating mode.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The directory separates investor-owned electric companies and rural electric cooperatives and includes service/contact information.

NMPRC company directory
Browse 35 reported provider records in New Mexico

Electric delivery utilities 32

  • Public Service Co of NMInvestor Owned · EIA 15473
    Reported counties (19)

    Bernalillo, Catron, Cibola, Curry, Dona Ana, Grant, Hidalgo, Lincoln, Luna, McKinley, Otero, San Juan, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Socorro, Torrance, Union, Valencia

  • Xcel Energy — official logo
    Southwestern Public Service CoInvestor Owned · EIA 17718
    Reported counties (6)

    Chaves, Curry, Eddy, Lea, Quay, Roosevelt

  • El Paso Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5701
    Reported counties (4)

    Dona Ana, Luna, Otero, Sierra

  • City of Farmington - (NM)Municipal · EIA 6204
    Reported counties (2)

    Rio Arriba, San Juan

  • Jemez Mountains Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 9699
    Reported counties (5)

    McKinley, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Sandoval, Santa Fe

  • Kit Carson Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10378
    Reported counties (3)

    Colfax, Rio Arriba, Taos

  • Continental Divide El Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4265
    Reported counties (5)

    Bernalillo, Cibola, McKinley, Sandoval, Valencia

  • Central New Mexico El Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3273
    Reported counties (11)

    Bernalillo, Chaves, De Baca, Guadalupe, Lincoln, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Socorro, Torrance, Valencia

  • Otero County Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 14224
    Reported counties (4)

    Chaves, Lincoln, Otero, Socorro

  • Socorro Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17492Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Catron, Cibola, Lincoln, Sierra, Socorro, Torrance, Valencia

  • Mora-San Miguel Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 12901Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Guadalupe, Mora, San Miguel, Santa Fe

  • City of Gallup - (NM)Municipal · EIA 6930Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    McKinley

  • Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (NM)Cooperative · EIA 6198
    Reported counties (7)

    Curry, De Baca, Guadalupe, Harding, Quay, Roosevelt, San Miguel

  • Navajo Tribal Utility AuthorityState · EIA 13314
    Reported counties (2)

    McKinley, San Juan

  • Los Alamos County - (NM)Municipal · EIA 11204
    Reported counties (1)

    Los Alamos

  • Lea County Electric Coop, Inc - (NM)Cooperative · EIA 10817
    Reported counties (3)

    Chaves, Eddy, Lea

  • Central Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3287
    Reported counties (4)

    Chaves, Eddy, Lea, Otero

  • Columbus Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 4071Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Dona Ana, Grant, Hidalgo, Luna

  • Sierra Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 23326Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Catron, Luna, Sierra, Socorro

  • Raton Public Service CompanyMunicipal · EIA 15698Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Colfax

  • City of Truth or Consequences - (NM)Municipal · EIA 19246Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sierra

  • Roosevelt County Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 22690
    Reported counties (4)

    Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Roosevelt

  • Northern Rio Arriba E Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13777Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rio Arriba

  • City of Aztec - (NM)Municipal · EIA 1046Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

  • Springer Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17826
    Reported counties (5)

    Colfax, Harding, Mora, San Miguel, Union

  • Navopache Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13318
    Reported counties (1)

    Catron

  • Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (NM)Cooperative · EIA 17715
    Reported counties (4)

    Colfax, Harding, Quay, Union

  • Town of Springer - (NM)Municipal · EIA 17827Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Colfax

  • Duncan Valley Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5438Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Grant, Hidalgo

  • Rio Grande Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 16057
    Reported counties (2)

    Eddy, Otero

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (OK)Cooperative · EIA 19160
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    San Juan

On-site energy sellers 3

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for New Mexico

1 state & utility record

New Mexico EMNRD — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

New Solar Market Development Tax Credit

New Mexico EMNRD / Taxation and Revenue Department · Solar

New Mexico supports qualifying solar thermal and photovoltaic installations through state tax-credit certification.

Benefit
10% of eligible costs, up to $6,000 per taxpayer, subject to the annual program cap.
Who may qualify
Qualifying New Mexico system and eligible taxpayer/property; installation, ownership and documentation requirements apply.
Before applying or buying
After installation, apply for EMNRD certification and receive the Certificate of Eligibility before claiming the credit on the state return. Confirm the application deadline for the installation year.

The state solar tax credit has its own certification and annual-cap process, separate from federal credits and utility interconnection. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

RLD’s rules and building-code directory links the New Mexico Electrical Code and other adopted codes directly to the official Administrative Code.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.