NY · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

New York solar regulations.

Use the Standardized Interconnection Requirements and the serving utility’s technical requirements for parallel solar and storage.

Statue of Liberty on Liberty Island, New York Harbor
Statue of Liberty on Liberty Island, New York HarborPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 4 regulation sources

What to know in New York.

Which rules cover your project?

Identify the actual code authority and utility. A state guide or an inverter certification does not replace a municipal inspection or utility acceptance.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The directory includes investor-owned and municipal utilities and county service-territory resources. Retail suppliers are distinct from delivery utilities.

New York DPS electric utility directory
Browse 122 reported provider records in New York

Electric delivery utilities 61

  • Con Edison — official logo
    Consolidated Edison Co-NY IncInvestor Owned · EIA 4226
    Reported counties (6)

    Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond, Westchester

  • National Grid — official logo
    Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.Investor Owned · EIA 13573
    Reported counties (37)

    Albany, Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St Lawrence, Warren, Washington, Wyoming

  • Long Island Power AuthorityState · EIA 11171
    Reported counties (3)

    Nassau, Queens, Suffolk

  • New York State Elec & Gas CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 13511
    Reported counties (44)

    Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Washington, Wayne, Westchester, Wyoming, Yates

  • Rochester Gas & Electric CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 16183
    Reported counties (7)

    Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Wayne, Wyoming

  • Central Hudson Gas & Elec CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 3249
    Reported counties (7)

    Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Ulster

  • Orange & Rockland Utils IncInvestor Owned · EIA 14154
    Reported counties (3)

    Orange, Rockland, Sullivan

  • Village of Fairport - (NY)Municipal · EIA 5930
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Jamestown Board of Public UtilMunicipal · EIA 9645
    Reported counties (1)

    Chautauqua

  • Village of Freeport - (NY)Municipal · EIA 6775
    Reported counties (1)

    Nassau

  • Village of Rockville Centre - (NY)Municipal · EIA 16217Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Nassau

  • City of Plattsburgh - (NY)Municipal · EIA 15145
    Reported counties (1)

    Clinton

  • Town of Massena - (NY)Municipal · EIA 11811
    Reported counties (1)

    St Lawrence

  • Steuben Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 18102Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Schuyler, Steuben

  • Delaware County Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 5021Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, Schoharie

  • Lake Placid Village, Inc - (NY)Municipal · EIA 10610Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Essex

  • Otsego Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14267Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Chenango, Herkimer, Madison, Otsego

  • Village of Solvay - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17512
    Reported counties (1)

    Onondaga

  • Bath Electric Gas & WaterMunicipal · EIA 1343Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Steuben

  • Village of Arcade - (NY)Municipal · EIA 122Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Cattaraugus, Erie, Wyoming

  • Village of Ilion - (NY)Municipal · EIA 9200Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Herkimer

  • City of Salamanca - (NY)Municipal · EIA 16549Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cattaraugus

  • Village of Boonville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 1970Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Lewis, Oneida

  • Village of Tupper Lake - (NY)Municipal · EIA 19274Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 66101
    Reported counties (2)

    Chemung, Tioga

  • Village of Penn Yan - (NY)Municipal · EIA 14700Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Yates

  • Village of Westfield - (NY)Municipal · EIA 20480Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chautauqua

  • Village of Endicott - (NY)Municipal · EIA 5875Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Broome

  • Village of Spencerport - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Village of Springville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17846Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Erie

  • Village of Wellsville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 20337Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Allegany

  • Village of Sherburne - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17079Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chenango

  • Village of Greenport - (NY)Municipal · EIA 7630Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Suffolk

  • Oneida-Madison Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 14125Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Madison, Oneida

  • City of Sherrill - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17085Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Madison, Oneida

  • North Shore Towers Apts IncCooperative · EIA 13726Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Queens

  • Village of Frankfort - (NY)Municipal · EIA 6711Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Herkimer

  • Village of Akron - (NY)Municipal · EIA 183Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Erie

  • Village of Skaneateles - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17280Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Onondaga

  • Village of Green Island - (NY)Municipal · EIA 7600Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Albany

  • Village of Hamilton - (NY)Municipal · EIA 7995Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Madison

  • Village of Watkins Glen - (NY)Municipal · EIA 20193Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Schuyler

  • Village of Little Valley - (NY)Municipal · EIA 11083Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cattaraugus

  • Village of Richmondville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 15991Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Schoharie

  • Village of Rouses Point - (NY)Municipal · EIA 16325Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clinton

  • Mohawk Municipal CommMunicipal · EIA 12759Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Herkimer

  • Village of Greene - (NY)Municipal · EIA 7624Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chenango

  • Village of Mayville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 11892Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chautauqua

  • Village of Groton - (NY)Municipal · EIA 7713Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tompkins

  • Village of Churchville - (NY)Municipal · EIA 3525Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Village of Holley - (NY)Municipal · EIA 8733Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Orleans

  • Village of Marathon - (NY)Municipal · EIA 11618Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Broome, Cortland

  • Village of Brocton - (NY)Municipal · EIA 2272Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chautauqua

  • Village of Angelica - (NY)Municipal · EIA 669Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Allegany

  • Village of Philadelphia - (NY)Municipal · EIA 14945Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • Village of Bergen - (NY)Municipal · EIA 1604Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Genesee

  • Fishers Island Utility Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 6369
    Reported counties (1)

    Suffolk

  • Village of Castile - (NY)Municipal · EIA 3164Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wyoming

  • Village of Andover - (NY)Municipal · EIA 661Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Allegany

  • Village of Silver Springs - (NY)Municipal · EIA 17186Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wyoming

  • Village of Theresa - (NY)Municipal · EIA 18813Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 56

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MPower Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59128
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Family Energy, Inc. New YorkRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59082
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Agway Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 113
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy New York, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58367
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Median Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63168
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NOCO ElectricRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54893
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Kiwi Energy NY LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58853
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Just Energy New York Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 56196
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Coop of New York, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 5880
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EnergyMark, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58248
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • New Wave Energy CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59812
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Abest Power & Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59053
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Great American Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67589
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Renaissance Power & Gas, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Viridian Energy NY LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58160
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • South Bay Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61367
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Chief Energy Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63570
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Public Power LLC (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58119
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunSea Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61972
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Northeastern Power and Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66173
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Robison Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 16177
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • U.S. Energy Partners LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 49922
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Energy New York, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58181
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • All American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61920
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Pay Less Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65335
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Hudson Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55878
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Polaris Power Services LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66678
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Mirabito Power & Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63364
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Power UP Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62156
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Approved Energy II, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63122
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ABN Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65613
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Marathon Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58966
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 5

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for New York

1 state & utility record

New York State — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

Solar Energy System Equipment Credit

New York Department of Taxation and Finance · Solar

A state personal-income-tax credit supports eligible solar equipment used at a principal New York residence, including qualifying purchase, lease and power-purchase arrangements.

Benefit
25% of qualified expenditures, limited to $5,000; nonrefundable, with up to five years of carryover.
Who may qualify
Qualifying residential-use solar equipment installed and used at the taxpayer’s principal New York residence; arrangement-specific rules apply.
Before applying or buying
Use current Form IT-255 and instructions to document eligibility and claim the credit; do not treat the credit as a cash installation rebate.

New York’s state solar credit is separate from federal residential credits; tax liability, principal-residence use and eligible costs still matter. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Department of State publishes Uniform Code administration guidance; New York City has a separate electrical-code page and city-specific amendments.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.