NC · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

North Carolina solar regulations.

Identify the utility and applicable net-metering rider before estimating solar bill savings.

Linn Cove Viaduct, Blue Ridge Parkway, North Carolina
Linn Cove Viaduct, Blue Ridge Parkway, North CarolinaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in North Carolina.

  • NC Public Staff directs customers to obtain the electric utility’s interconnection application and approval before connecting; review depends on generator size and system location.

  • Public Staff distinguishes Duke residential solar riders and explains that cooperative and municipal utility rates are not regulated by the Utilities Commission; those providers should be asked directly about available arrangements.

  • The Office of State Fire Marshal publishes current and past codes and explains that the North Carolina Electrical Code combines an adopted NEC edition with state amendments.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm the adopted code, permit and inspection process locally. Do not apply Duke-specific riders to Dominion, a cooperative, or a municipal utility.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The regulator directory identifies regulated utilities; municipal and electric-membership-cooperative areas must be confirmed separately.

NCUC electric utility directory
Browse 110 reported provider records in North Carolina

Electric delivery utilities 109

  • Duke Energy — official logo
    Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 5416
    Reported counties (44)

    Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Granville, Guilford, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Orange, Person, Polk, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Wake, Wilkes, Yadkin

  • Duke Energy — official logo
    Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned · EIA 3046
    Reported counties (56)

    Alamance, Anson, Avery, Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne, Wilson, Yancey

  • EnergyUnited Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 21632
    Reported counties (19)

    Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes, Yadkin

  • Dominion Energy — official logo
    Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 19876
    Reported counties (25)

    Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Cabarrus, Camden, Chowan, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Granville, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington

  • Brunswick Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 24889
    Reported counties (4)

    Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Robeson

  • Union Electric Membership Corp - (NC)Cooperative · EIA 19435
    Reported counties (5)

    Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union

  • Jones-Onslow Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 9837
    Reported counties (6)

    Craven, Duplin, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pender

  • Fayetteville Public Works CommissionMunicipal · EIA 6235
    Reported counties (1)

    Cumberland

  • Blue Ridge Elec Member Corp - (NC)Cooperative · EIA 1889
    Reported counties (7)

    Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Watauga, Wilkes

  • Rutherford Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 16496
    Reported counties (10)

    Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford

  • Greenville Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 7639
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitt

  • Lumbee River Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 11291
    Reported counties (5)

    Cumberland, Hoke, Moore, Robeson, Scotland

  • Wake Electric Membership CorpCooperative · EIA 19981
    Reported counties (7)

    Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance, Wake

  • South River Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 17572
    Reported counties (5)

    Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Johnston, Sampson

  • Carteret-Craven El Member CorpCooperative · EIA 3107
    Reported counties (4)

    Carteret, Craven, Jones, Onslow

  • Town of High PointMunicipal · EIA 8571
    Reported counties (4)

    Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph

  • French Broad Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 6784
    Reported counties (5)

    Buncombe, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Yancey

  • City of Wilson - (NC)Municipal · EIA 20785
    Reported counties (7)

    Edgecombe, Greene, Johnston, Nash, Pitt, Wayne, Wilson

  • Randolph Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 15671
    Reported counties (5)

    Alamance, Chatham, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph

  • Four County Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 6640
    Reported counties (6)

    Bladen, Columbus, Duplin, Onslow, Pender, Sampson

  • Piedmont Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 15023
    Reported counties (7)

    Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Durham, Granville, Orange, Person

  • Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 8333
    Reported counties (6)

    Buncombe, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Transylvania

  • City of Concord - (NC)Municipal · EIA 4150
    Reported counties (1)

    Cabarrus

  • Town of Apex- (NC)Municipal · EIA 719
    Reported counties (1)

    Wake

  • Surry-Yadkin Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 18339
    Reported counties (5)

    Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, Wilkes, Yadkin

  • City of Gastonia - (NC)Municipal · EIA 7027
    Reported counties (1)

    Gaston

  • City of Rocky Mount - (NC)Municipal · EIA 16226
    Reported counties (2)

    Edgecombe, Nash

  • Tri-County Elec Member Corp (NC)Cooperative · EIA 18957
    Reported counties (7)

    Duplin, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Sampson, Wayne, Wilson

  • Tideland Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 19108
    Reported counties (6)

    Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico, Washington

  • City of New Bern - (NC)Municipal · EIA 13416
    Reported counties (2)

    Craven, Jones

  • Central Electric Membership Corp. - (NC)Cooperative · EIA 3250
    Reported counties (5)

    Chatham, Harnett, Lee, Moore, Randolph

  • Pee Dee Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 14717
    Reported counties (7)

    Anson, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, Union

  • City of Lexington - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10966
    Reported counties (1)

    Davidson

  • Blue Ridge Mountain EMC - (GA)Cooperative · EIA 1891
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • Mountain Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13027
    Reported counties (3)

    Avery, Burke, Watauga

  • Albemarle Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 240
    Reported counties (5)

    Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans

  • City of Statesville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 18022
    Reported counties (1)

    Iredell

  • Halifax Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 7978Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Halifax, Martin, Nash, Warren

  • Roanoke Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 16101
    Reported counties (7)

    Bertie, Chowan, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Northampton, Perquimans

  • City of Washington - (NC)Municipal · EIA 20142
    Reported counties (3)

    Beaufort, Martin, Pitt

  • City of Elizabeth City - (NC)Municipal · EIA 5760
    Reported counties (1)

    Pasquotank

  • City of Monroe - (NC)Municipal · EIA 12801
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • City of Albemarle - (NC)Municipal · EIA 232
    Reported counties (1)

    Stanly

  • Edgecombe-Martin County E M CCooperative · EIA 5656
    Reported counties (8)

    Beaufort, Bertie, Edgecombe, Halifax, Martin, Nash, Pitt, Wilson

  • City of Kinston - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10345
    Reported counties (1)

    Lenoir

  • City of Lumberton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11318
    Reported counties (1)

    Robeson

  • Town of Clayton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 3731Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnston

  • Pitt & Greene Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 14857Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Edgecombe, Greene, Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne, Wilson

  • City of Shelby - (NC)Municipal · EIA 17037Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Cleveland

  • Town of Wake Forest - (NC)Municipal · EIA 19974Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wake

  • Town of Huntersville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 9087
    Reported counties (1)

    Mecklenburg

  • Cape Hatteras Elec Member CorpCooperative · EIA 2982Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dare

  • New River Light & Power CoState · EIA 13482
    Reported counties (1)

    Watauga

  • City of Morganton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 12944
    Reported counties (1)

    Burke

  • Town of Smithfield - (NC)Municipal · EIA 17451Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnston

  • City of Laurinburg - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10770Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Scotland

  • Town of Tarboro - (NC)Municipal · EIA 18466
    Reported counties (1)

    Edgecombe

  • City of Kings Mountain - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10324Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Cleveland, Gaston

  • Town of Ayden - (NC)Municipal · EIA 1036Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitt

  • City of Newton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 13561Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Catawba

  • Town of Edenton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 6710Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chowan

  • Town of Forest CityMunicipal · EIA 6580Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rutherford

  • Town of Dallas - (NC)Municipal · EIA 4739Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gaston

  • Town of Cornelius - (NC)Municipal · EIA 4365Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mecklenburg

  • Town of Pineville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 15062Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Mecklenburg

  • Town of Murphy - (NC)Municipal · EIA 40441
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • Town of Landis - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10669Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rowan

  • City of Southport - (NC)Municipal · EIA 17668Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brunswick

  • Town of Waynesville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 20225Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Haywood

  • City of Winterville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 20836Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitt

  • Town of Farmville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 6209Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitt

  • Town of Selma - (NC)Municipal · EIA 16914Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnston

  • City of Lincolnton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11035Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lincoln

  • City of Highlands - (NC)Municipal · EIA 8579Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Jackson, Macon

  • City of Cherryville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 3437Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gaston

  • Town of Granite Falls - (NC)Municipal · EIA 7496Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Caldwell

  • Town of Benson - (NC)Municipal · EIA 1571Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Johnston

  • Town of Louisburg - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11228Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • Town of La Grange - (NC)Municipal · EIA 10586Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lenoir

  • Town of Red Springs - (NC)Municipal · EIA 15778Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Robeson

  • Town of Windsor- (NC)Municipal · EIA 20811Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bertie

  • Tri-State Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 19154
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • Town of Scotland Neck - (NC)Municipal · EIA 16788Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Halifax

  • Town of Maiden - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11515Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Catawba

  • Town of Stantonsburg - (NC)Municipal · EIA 17981Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Greene, Wayne, Wilson

  • Town of Sharpsburg - (NC)Municipal · EIA 17004Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson

  • Town of Drexel - (NC)Municipal · EIA 5372Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Burke

  • Town of Enfield - (NC)Municipal · EIA 5896Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Halifax

  • City of Hertford - (NC)Municipal · EIA 8517Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Perquimans

  • Town of Lucama - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11205Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wilson

  • Town of Belhaven - (NC)Municipal · EIA 1494Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Beaufort

  • City of Robersonville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 16113Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • Town of Black Creek - (NC)Municipal · EIA 202Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wilson

  • Town of Fremont - (NC)Municipal · EIA 6780Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Town of Pinetops - (NC)Municipal · EIA 15058Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Edgecombe

  • Town of Pikeville - (NC)Municipal · EIA 15046Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wayne

  • Broad River Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2212
    Reported counties (3)

    Cleveland, Polk, Rutherford

  • Town of Hookerton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 8825Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • Town of Fountain - (NC)Municipal · EIA 6613Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Pitt

  • Town of MacClesfield - (NC)Municipal · EIA 11360Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Edgecombe

  • Town of HobgoodMunicipal · EIA 8677Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Halifax

  • Town of Hamilton - (NC)Municipal · EIA 7996Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • Town of Oak City - (NC)Municipal · EIA 13931Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Martin

  • Town of Bostic - (NC)Municipal · EIA 1987Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Rutherford

  • Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 12260
    Reported counties (5)

    Granville, Northampton, Person, Vance, Warren

  • Town of WalstonburgMunicipal · EIA 20071Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Greene

  • York Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 21002
    Reported counties (2)

    Gaston, Mecklenburg

  • North Carolina Eastern M P AMunicipal Mktg Authority · EIA 13687Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wake

  • Tennessee Valley AuthorityFederal · EIA 18642Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Graham

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for North Carolina

1 state & utility record

North Carolina DEQ — administrator logo
State · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Energy Saver North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality · Heat pumps / Efficiency

Income-eligible households can apply for qualifying efficiency and electrification upgrades through the state program.

Benefit
Approved-project rebates depend on program pathway, household income, measures and available funds.
Who may qualify
Eligible homeowners or renters and approved projects. Under current HEAR guidance, fossil-fuel appliance replacement is excluded; eligible electric-to-electric upgrades are allowed.
Before applying or buying
Apply through Energy Saver NC and obtain required approval/reservation before work; contractors and the program determine the eligible upgrades.

Energy Saver NC rules changed in September 2026. A heat-pump project that would have qualified under earlier fuel-switching rules may not qualify now. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

The Office of State Fire Marshal publishes current and past codes and explains that the North Carolina Electrical Code combines an adopted NEC edition with state amendments.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.