Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources
What to know in North Dakota.
North Dakota Administrative Code Chapter 69-09-07 covers qualifying-facility interconnection obligations and interconnection costs for the electric utilities within its scope.
The rule addresses net energy billing and utility purchases under a qualifying-facility framework. Ask the utility or PSC which current tariff applies, including metering and export credits; do not assume retail-value annual net metering.
The State Electrical Board publishes the current laws, rules and wiring standards, including the state’s NEC-based requirements and amendments.
Confirm whether the utility is covered by the PSC rule or has a separate cooperative/municipal arrangement, and obtain the required electrical inspection.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
PSC information lists investor-owned providers and explains that cooperatives and municipal providers have a different regulatory scope.
North Dakota PSC electric utility informationBrowse 38 reported provider records in North Dakota
38 records
Electric delivery utilities 38
- Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned · EIA 13781
Reported counties (5)
Cass, Grand Forks, McHenry, Traill, Ward
- Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12199
Reported counties (29)
Adams, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Burleigh, Dickey, Divide, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Renville, Richland, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Ward, Williams
- Cass County Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 24949
Reported counties (8)
Barnes, Cass, Dickey, LaMoure, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Traill
- Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14232
Reported counties (34)
Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McLean, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells
- Nodak Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12301
Reported counties (13)
Barnes, Benson, Cass, Cavalier, Eddy, Grand Forks, Griggs, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Steele, Traill, Walsh
- Capital Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2985
Reported counties (5)
Burleigh, Emmons, Kidder, McLean, Sheridan
- Verendrye Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 19790
Reported counties (9)
Bottineau, McHenry, McLean, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville, Sheridan, Ward, Wells
- Mountrail-Williams Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 20413
Reported counties (6)
Burke, Divide, McLean, Mountrail, Ward, Williams
- Roughrider Electric CooperativCooperative · EIA 55959
Reported counties (8)
Billings, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger, Mercer, Oliver, Slope, Stark
- Northern Plains Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 13196
Reported counties (12)
Barnes, Benson, Eddy, Foster, Griggs, Kidder, Pierce, Ramsey, Rolette, Stutsman, Towner, Wells
- Mor-Gran-Sou Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12899Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (6)
Grant, Hettinger, Mercer, Morton, Oliver, Sioux
- North Central Elec Coop, Inc - (ND)Cooperative · EIA 13694
Reported counties (5)
Bottineau, McHenry, Pierce, Renville, Rolette
- Dakota Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4717
Reported counties (8)
Dickey, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Stutsman
- McKenzie Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12087
Reported counties (5)
Billings, Dunn, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Mercer
- KEM Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 10153Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Burleigh, Emmons, Kidder, Logan, McIntosh
- City of Valley CityMunicipal · EIA 19687Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Barnes
- McLean Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 12090
Reported counties (5)
McHenry, McLean, Mountrail, Sheridan, Ward
- Slope Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 17261
Reported counties (4)
Adams, Bowman, Hettinger, Slope
- City of Grafton - (ND)Municipal · EIA 7444Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Walsh
- Burke-Divide Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 2394
Reported counties (6)
Burke, Divide, Mountrail, Renville, Ward, Williams
- Cavalier Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3138Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Cavalier, Ramsey
- City of Hillsboro - (ND)Municipal · EIA 8628Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Traill
- City of Park River - (ND)Municipal · EIA 14474Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Walsh
- City of Cavalier - (ND)Municipal · EIA 3186Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Pembina
- Goldenwest Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7318Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Billings, Golden Valley, Slope
- Lower Yellowstone R E A, IncCooperative · EIA 11272
Reported counties (2)
McKenzie, Williams
- City of Northwood - (ND)Municipal · EIA 13816Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Grand Forks
- City of Lakota - (ND)Municipal · EIA 10629Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Nelson
- Sheridan Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 16759Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Divide, Williams
- City of Riverdale - (ND)Municipal · EIA 16105Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
McLean
- City of Maddock - (ND)Municipal · EIA 11470Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Benson
- City of Stanton - (ND)Municipal · EIA 40440Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mercer
- City of Hope - (ND)Municipal · EIA 9067Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Steele
- City of Sharon- (ND)Municipal · EIA 17045Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Steele
- Traverse Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 19060Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Richland
- Basin Electric Power CoopCooperative · EIA 1307Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mercer
- Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13750Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Dickey, Sargent
- WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (39)
Adams, Barnes, Benson, Billings, Bowman, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Dunn, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Golden Valley, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Oliver, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Sargent, Slope, Stark, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Ward, Wells, Williams
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for North Dakota
1 state & utility record

Solar, wind or geothermal device property-tax exemption
North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner / local assessor · Solar
Qualifying renewable-energy installations may receive a property-tax exemption for the eligible portion of the system.
- Benefit
- Five-year exemption period after installation, subject to approval.
- Who may qualify
- Qualifying equipment for heating, cooling, electrical/mechanical power or storage using solar, wind or geothermal energy; only the renewable portion of mixed systems qualifies.
- Before applying or buying
- File the exemption application annually with the local assessor; the exemption applies after approval.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
The solar/wind/geothermal property-tax exemption is an assessed-property benefit, not an upfront purchase rebate. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
The State Electrical Board publishes the current laws, rules and wiring standards, including the state’s NEC-based requirements and amendments.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
