Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources
What to know in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania’s Chapter 75 contains both net-metering rules and interconnection standards; use the review level and agreement appropriate to the project.
Pennsylvania’s UCC program explains that most municipalities administer and enforce construction requirements locally, with different arrangements in opt-out municipalities.
Confirm eligibility and the applicable utility tariff directly with the electric distribution company. Identify the municipal or third-party UCC enforcement office before installation.
Who provides electricity here?
Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours
Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.
Official PA PUC site distinguishes distributors that deliver electricity from suppliers that sell it. Not every supplier has an offer on the comparison site.
PAPowerSwitch: Electric Distribution Companies & SuppliersBrowse 143 reported provider records in Pennsylvania
143 records
Electric delivery utilities 57
- FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 66101
Reported counties (55)
Adams, Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lancaster, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Perry, Pike, Potter, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Venango, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming, York
- PECO Energy CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14940
Reported counties (6)
Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Philadelphia, York
- PPL Electric Utilities CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14715
Reported counties (33)
Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Union, Wayne, Wyoming, York
- Duquesne Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 5487
Reported counties (3)
Allegheny, Beaver, Westmoreland
- UGI Utilities, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 19390
Reported counties (2)
Luzerne, Wyoming
- Adams Electric Cooperative IncCooperative · EIA 40220
Reported counties (4)
Adams, Cumberland, Franklin, York
- Central Electric Coop, Inc - (PA)Cooperative · EIA 40224
Reported counties (7)
Allegheny, Armstrong, Butler, Clarion, Forest, Mercer, Venango
- REA Energy Coop IncCooperative · EIA 40292
Reported counties (7)
Armstrong, Blair, Cambria, Clearfield, Indiana, Jefferson, Westmoreland
- United Electric Coop, Inc - (PA)Cooperative · EIA 40219Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (10)
Armstrong, Cambria, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Forest, Indiana, Jefferson
- Tri-County Rural Elec Coop Inc (PA)Cooperative · EIA 40290
Reported counties (7)
Bradford, Cameron, Clinton, Lycoming, McKean, Potter, Tioga
- Northwestern Rural E C A, Inc - (PA)Cooperative · EIA 40293
Reported counties (5)
Crawford, Erie, Mercer, Venango, Warren
- Valley Rural Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 40222
Reported counties (8)
Bedford, Blair, Centre, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Mifflin
- Claverack Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 40289
Reported counties (8)
Bradford, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Lycoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Wyoming
- Somerset Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 40167
Reported counties (4)
Bedford, Fayette, Somerset, Westmoreland
- Borough of Chambersburg - (PA)Municipal · EIA 3329
Reported counties (1)
Franklin
- Borough of LansdaleMunicipal · EIA 10702Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Montgomery
- Bedford Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 40221
Reported counties (3)
Bedford, Fulton, Somerset
- Warren Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 40223Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (5)
Crawford, Erie, Forest, Venango, Warren
- Borough of Ephrata - (PA)Municipal · EIA 5935Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lancaster
- Sullivan County R E C, Inc - (PA)Cooperative · EIA 40291Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Bradford, Lycoming, Sullivan
- Citizens Electric Co - (PA)Investor Owned · EIA 3597
Reported counties (2)
Northumberland, Union
- Wellsborough Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 20334
Reported counties (1)
Tioga
- Borough of Quakertown - (PA)Municipal · EIA 15541Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bucks
- Borough of Perkasie - (PA)Municipal · EIA 14792Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Bucks
- Borough of Middletown - (PA)Municipal · EIA 12474Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dauphin
- Borough of Ellwood City - (PA)Municipal · EIA 5828Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (2)
Beaver, Lawrence
- New Enterprise R E C, IncCooperative · EIA 13205Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (3)
Bedford, Fulton, Huntingdon
- Borough of Blakely - (PA)Municipal · EIA 1823Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lackawanna
- Pike County Light & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15045
Reported counties (1)
Pike
- Borough of Lehighton - (PA)Municipal · EIA 10882Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Carbon
- Borough of Schuylkill Haven - (PA)Municipal · EIA 16780Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Schuylkill
- Borough of Grove City - (PA)Municipal · EIA 7719Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Mercer
- Borough of Olyphant - (PA)Municipal · EIA 14124Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lackawanna
- Borough of Kutztown - (PA)Municipal · EIA 10494Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Berks
- Borough of Tarentum - (PA)Municipal · EIA 18456Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allegheny
- Borough of Zelienople - (PA)Municipal · EIA 21160Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Butler
- Borough of Mifflinburg - (PA)Municipal · EIA 12523Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Union
- Borough of St Clair - (PA)Municipal · EIA 16853Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Schuylkill
- Borough of Hatfield- (PA)Municipal · EIA 8254Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Montgomery
- Borough of Pitcairn - (PA)Municipal · EIA 15104Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Allegheny
- Borough of Girard - (PA)Municipal · EIA 7256Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Erie
- Borough of Berlin - (PA)Municipal · EIA 1618Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Somerset
- Borough of Watsontown - (PA)Municipal · EIA 20206Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Northumberland
- Borough of Weatherly - (PA)Municipal · EIA 20232Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Carbon
- Borough of Smethport - (PA)Municipal · EIA 17337Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
McKean
- Borough of Duncannon - (PA)Municipal · EIA 5442Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Perry
- Borough of CatawissaMunicipal · EIA 3170Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Columbia
- Borough of New Wilmington - (PA)Municipal · EIA 13489Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lawrence
- Mont Alto BoroughMunicipal · EIA 12817Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Franklin
- Borough of East ConemaughMunicipal · EIA 5586Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cambria
- Borough of Royalton - (PA)Municipal · EIA 16375Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Dauphin
- Borough of Goldsboro - (PA)Municipal · EIA 7359Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
York
- Borough of WampumMunicipal · EIA 20070Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Lawrence
- Hooversville Boro Elec Lgt CoMunicipal · EIA 8826Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Somerset
- Borough of Summerhill - (PA)Municipal · EIA 18284Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Cambria
- Borough of Lewisberry - (PA)Municipal · EIA 10959Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
York
- Philadelphia Authority for Industrial DevelopmentMunicipal · EIA 61353Residential service not separately reported
Reported counties (1)
Philadelphia
Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 82
- Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Harbor Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 6458
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- AEP EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55722
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Interstate Gas Supply, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58957
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Respond Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58663
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Dynegy Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59385
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- AP Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56571
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SFE Energy Pennsylvania, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59083
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Just EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 9949
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Verde Energy USARetail Power Marketer · EIA 59620
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Stream Energy Pennsylvania, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56737
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Residents Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59809
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Town Square Energy East, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58973
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- WGL Energy Services, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 20659
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmco Power PA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56573
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- XOOM Energy Pennsylvania, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58339
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Choice Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59055
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Shipley Choice, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59410
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- NTHERM, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 64705
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Public Power LLC (PA)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58118
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- EcoPlus Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66113
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Independence Energy Group LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57453
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spring Energy RRH LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60124
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Polaris Power Services LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66678
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- New Wave Energy CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59812
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Retail Energy Solutions, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56286
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Renaissance Power & Gas, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61059
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Santanna Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59811
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Pure Energy USA, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61922
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Powervine EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62148
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Vista Energy Marketing, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 60696
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- The Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 49746
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- TriEagle Energy, L.P.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 19126
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- South Bay Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 61367
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Viridian Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58162
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Median Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63169
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- StateWise Energy Pennsylvania LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62914
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Agway Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 113
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Anthracite Power & LightRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56220
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- UGI Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56408
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- All American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 61920
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Spartacus Energy Services LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66118
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- All Choice Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 66017
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Energy Coop of New York, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 5880
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Click Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63870
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- ResCom Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59848
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- ENGIE Power & Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57307
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Horizon Power and Light, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59062
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Summer Energy Midwest, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62790
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Power UP Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62156
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Pay Less Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65335
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Tomorrow Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58952
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
On-site energy sellers 4
- Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
- SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
Reported counties (0)
County coverage not reported in this source
No matching providers in this reporting snapshot. Check the official directory above.
Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.
Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.
Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.
Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.
Build a project incentive checklist for Pennsylvania
1 state & utility record
PECO heating and cooling rebates
PECO · Heat pumps
PECO lists residential air-source and ductless heat-pump rebates based on the certified whole-system efficiency rating.
- Benefit
- Air-source heat pumps: $200 or $300; ductless mini-split heat pumps: $150 or $300 under the current published schedule.
- Who may qualify
- PECO residential electric service; new eligible equipment meeting the published ENERGY STAR and AHRI whole-system criteria.
- Before applying or buying
- Ask the contractor to verify eligibility before buying. Submit a complete application and receipt within 90 days of purchase/installation; “up to” efficiency claims alone do not qualify.
No matching records in this reviewed selection. Check the official program sources for more options.
Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.
Federal programs in every state
The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.
Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)
Closed / endedNot available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.
IRS: Residential Clean Energy CreditEnergy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)
Closed / endedThe federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.
IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement CreditHOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates
Eligibility / funding conditionsFederally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.
DOE: Home Energy Rebates ProgramWeatherization Assistance Program
Eligibility / funding conditionsIncome-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.
DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Permits and electrical codes.
Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.
Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.
Before ordering equipment.
Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.
Track permits and interconnection in a project
- Confirm the permit authority
Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.
- Confirm the utility process
Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.
- Document the exact equipment
Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.
For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .
UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.
Different evidence, different scope.
Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.
Open the UL & NEMA referenceScope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .
Official sources.
Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.
- interconnection billingPennsylvania Code: Chapter 75, Alternative Energy Portfolio Standards
- codesPennsylvania DLI: Uniform Construction Code
