RI · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Rhode Island solar regulations.

Choose the correct compensation program before applying for utility interconnection.

Shady lawn along a brick pathway
Springtime at Roger Williams National Memorial, Providence, Rhode IslandPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Rhode Island.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm whether the project is customer-sited net metering, remote/community net metering or another program. Rhode Island Energy tariff links apply to its service territory; local building officials handle construction permits.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Lists Rhode Island Energy, Clear River Electric and Water District, and Block Island Utility District; competitive suppliers are a separate choice.

Rhode Island PUC: Regulated Utilities
Browse 23 reported provider records in Rhode Island

Electric delivery utilities 3

  • The Narragansett Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13214
    Reported counties (5)

    Bristol, Kent, Newport, Providence, Washington

  • Clear River Electric and Water DistrictMunicipal · EIA 14537
    Reported counties (1)

    Providence

  • Block Island Utility DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 1857
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 16

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SmartEnergy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58956
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59059
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • First Point Power, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59793
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Archer Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65262
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Rhode Island, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58631
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Hampshire Power CorporationRetail Power Marketer · EIA 67240
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 4

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Rhode Island

2 state & utility records

Clean Heat Rhode Island — official logo
State · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Clean Heat Rhode Island

Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources / Clean Heat RI · Heat pumps

Clean Heat RI supports eligible heat-pump projects through its approved installer network.

Benefit
Benefit varies by system, household income and eligible project; obtain a program estimate.
Who may qualify
Qualifying Rhode Island electric customers and eligible existing dwelling units; required equipment and installer rules apply. R-410A equipment is ineligible under 2026 rules.
Before applying or buying
Use a Clean Heat RI HPIN installer and complete the required project/assessment and application steps before relying on an incentive. Check remaining funds.
Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources — administrator logo
State · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Rhode Island HOMES rebates

Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources · Heat pumps

OER says the HOMES program launched September 23, 2026 for income-eligible heat-pump projects with modeled energy savings.

Benefit
Project-specific rebate; the state program determines the approved amount.
Who may qualify
Income eligibility and a heat-pump project modeled to reduce energy use by at least 20%; program application rules apply.
Before applying or buying
Follow the linked HOMES program application process and confirm eligibility before committing to equipment. These rebates are separate from expired federal homeowner tax credits.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.