SC · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

South Carolina solar regulations.

Use the current customer-generation tariff and the state’s interconnection procedures.

A view of a bottomland/floodplain forest, with wide based cypress and tupelo trees, cypress knees
Cypress trees at Weston Lake, Congaree National Park, South CarolinaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in South Carolina.

Which rules cover your project?

Do not assume one utility’s solar tariff applies statewide. The Building Codes Council directs project-specific code interpretations to the local building official; confirm the effective code cycle for your permit date.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

ORS explains its electric utility role; municipal systems and cooperatives have different regulatory scope. Confirm the serving provider for the address.

South Carolina ORS: Electric Utilities
Browse 47 reported provider records in South Carolina

Electric delivery utilities 46

  • Dominion Energy South Carolina, IncInvestor Owned · EIA 17539
    Reported counties (23)

    Abbeville, Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, Hampton, Jasper, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Saluda, Union

  • Duke Energy — official logo
    Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCInvestor Owned · EIA 5416
    Reported counties (19)

    Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenville, Greenwood, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Pickens, Saluda, Spartanburg, Union, York

  • South Carolina Public Service AuthorityState · EIA 17543
    Reported counties (3)

    Berkeley, Georgetown, Horry

  • Duke Energy — official logo
    Duke Energy Progress - (NC)Investor Owned · EIA 3046
    Reported counties (13)

    Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter, Williamsburg

  • Berkeley Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 1613
    Reported counties (3)

    Berkeley, Charleston, Dorchester

  • Horry Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 8786
    Reported counties (1)

    Horry

  • Palmetto Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 14398
    Reported counties (4)

    Allendale, Beaufort, Hampton, Jasper

  • Blue Ridge Electric Coop Inc - (SC)Cooperative · EIA 1890
    Reported counties (5)

    Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg

  • York Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 21002
    Reported counties (4)

    Cherokee, Chester, Lancaster, York

  • Laurens Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10768
    Reported counties (7)

    Abbeville, Anderson, Greenville, Laurens, Newberry, Spartanburg, Union

  • Mid-Carolina Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12462
    Reported counties (5)

    Aiken, Lexington, Newberry, Richland, Saluda

  • Aiken Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 162
    Reported counties (9)

    Aiken, Barnwell, Calhoun, Edgefield, Greenwood, Lexington, McCormick, Orangeburg, Saluda

  • City of Rock Hill - (SC)Municipal · EIA 16195
    Reported counties (1)

    York

  • Santee Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 16606
    Reported counties (4)

    Clarendon, Florence, Georgetown, Williamsburg

  • Fairfield Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5929
    Reported counties (5)

    Chester, Fairfield, Kershaw, Richland, York

  • MPD Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 66073
    Reported counties (7)

    Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Lee, Marion, Marlboro

  • Black River Electric Coop, Inc - (SC)Cooperative · EIA 1763
    Reported counties (4)

    Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee, Sumter

  • Broad River Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2212
    Reported counties (5)

    Cherokee, Newberry, Spartanburg, Union, York

  • Greer Commission of Public WksMunicipal · EIA 7654
    Reported counties (2)

    Greenville, Spartanburg

  • Lynches River Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 11355
    Reported counties (3)

    Chesterfield, Kershaw, Lancaster

  • City of Orangeburg - (SC)Municipal · EIA 14164
    Reported counties (1)

    Orangeburg

  • Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (SC)Cooperative · EIA 14175
    Reported counties (6)

    Calhoun, Kershaw, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter

  • Easley Combined Utility SystemMunicipal · EIA 6709
    Reported counties (1)

    Pickens

  • Little River Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 11019Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Abbeville, Anderson, Greenwood, McCormick

  • Edisto Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5644
    Reported counties (8)

    Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Orangeburg

  • Newberry Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13524
    Reported counties (4)

    Fairfield, Laurens, Lexington, Newberry

  • Coastal Electric Coop, Inc - (SC)Cooperative · EIA 3844Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Bamberg, Colleton, Dorchester

  • City of CamdenMunicipal · EIA 2890Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Kershaw, Lee, Sumter

  • Greenwood CPWMunicipal · EIA 7646
    Reported counties (1)

    Greenwood

  • City of Seneca - (SC)Municipal · EIA 16921Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Oconee

  • City of Union - (SC)Municipal · EIA 19431Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • City of Gaffney - (SC)Municipal · EIA 6894
    Reported counties (1)

    Cherokee

  • City of Laurens - (SC)Municipal · EIA 21526Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Laurens

  • City of Newberry - (SC)Municipal · EIA 13523Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Newberry

  • City of Georgetown - (SC)Municipal · EIA 7128Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Georgetown

  • Lockhart Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 11118
    Reported counties (5)

    Cherokee, Chester, Spartanburg, Union, York

  • City of Bennettsville - (SC)Municipal · EIA 1566Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marlboro

  • Clinton Combined Utility SysMunicipal · EIA 3804Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Laurens

  • City of Abbeville - (SC)Municipal · EIA 34Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Abbeville

  • Town of Winnsboro - (SC)Municipal · EIA 20826Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fairfield

  • Bamberg Board of Public WorksMunicipal · EIA 1170Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bamberg

  • City of Westminster - (SC)Municipal · EIA 20490Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Oconee

  • Town of McCormick - (SC)Municipal · EIA 12006Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    McCormick

  • Town of Prosperity - (SC)Municipal · EIA 15433Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Newberry

  • City of Due West - (SC)Municipal · EIA 5402Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Abbeville

  • Haywood Electric Member CorpCooperative · EIA 8333
    Reported counties (1)

    Oconee

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for South Carolina

1 state & utility record

South Carolina Department of Revenue — administrator logo
State · tax creditEligibility / funding conditions

South Carolina Solar Energy Credit

South Carolina Department of Revenue · Solar

A qualifying taxpayer-owned solar system may qualify for the state’s nonrefundable income-tax credit.

Benefit
25% of eligible purchase and installation costs; annual use is limited to the lesser of $3,500 per facility or 50% of state tax liability.
Who may qualify
Qualifying equipment installed in or on a South Carolina facility owned by the taxpayer; certification/licensing and state tax-liability rules apply.
Before applying or buying
Review DOR’s ruling and filing instructions before purchase and claim. Rebates may affect eligible costs; unused credit and carryforward are subject to the state rules.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.