SD · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

South Dakota solar regulations.

Plan around utility interconnection and excess-generation purchases rather than assuming retail net metering.

Layered badlands formations behind fields of green grass under cloudy and billowing clouds.
Badlands National Park, South DakotaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in South Dakota.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm your provider’s service territory, purchase agreement, equipment review and current rate. Contact the Electrical Commission or applicable inspection authority about wiring permits and inspections.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Commission-approved territory map with boundary docket links; some boundaries may be changing, so confirm the provider at the service address.

South Dakota PUC: Electric Territory Maps
Browse 73 reported provider records in South Dakota

Electric delivery utilities 73

  • Xcel Energy — official logo
    Northern States Power Co - MinnesotaInvestor Owned · EIA 13781
    Reported counties (10)

    Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner

  • Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned · EIA 19545
    Reported counties (6)

    Butte, Custer, Fall River, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington

  • NorthWestern Energy — official logo
    NorthWestern Energy - (SD)Investor Owned · EIA 13809
    Reported counties (27)

    Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brown, Brule, Charles Mix, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Marshall, Sanborn, Spink, Turner, Yankton

  • Sioux Valley SW Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 17267
    Reported counties (10)

    Brookings, Deuel, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Lake, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Turner

  • Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative · EIA 19293
    Reported counties (13)

    Bon Homme, Clay, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Turner, Union, Yankton

  • West River Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 20401
    Reported counties (6)

    Haakon, Jackson, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Ziebach

  • Watertown Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 20187
    Reported counties (1)

    Codington

  • City of Brookings - (SD)Municipal · EIA 2285
    Reported counties (1)

    Brookings

  • Black Hills Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1769
    Reported counties (6)

    Custer, Fall River, Lawrence, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Pennington

  • Otter Tail Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 14232
    Reported counties (11)

    Brookings, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, Moody, Roberts

  • Butte Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2655Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Butte, Lawrence, Meade

  • Moreau-Grand Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 12915Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Corson, Dewey, Ziebach

  • West Central Electric Coop Inc - (SD)Cooperative · EIA 20368Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Stanley

  • LaCreek Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 10558Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Bennett, Jackson, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Todd

  • Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD)Cooperative · EIA 3236
    Reported counties (8)

    Aurora, Brule, Buffalo, Davison, Hanson, Jerauld, Miner, Sanborn

  • Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12199
    Reported counties (13)

    Brown, Campbell, Corson, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Harding, McPherson, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Walworth

  • City of Pierre - (SD)Municipal · EIA 15040
    Reported counties (1)

    Hughes

  • Northern Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 13750
    Reported counties (10)

    Beadle, Brown, Clark, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Marshall, McPherson, Spink

  • Grand Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 7484Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Butte, Corson, Harding, Meade, Perkins, Ziebach

  • City of Vermillion - (SD)Municipal · EIA 19788Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Clay

  • Rosebud Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 16286
    Reported counties (4)

    Gregory, Lyman, Mellette, Tripp

  • Cherry-Todd Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3435Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Mellette, Todd

  • MidAmerican Energy Co — official logo
    MidAmerican Energy CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12341
    Reported counties (2)

    Lincoln, Union

  • Bon Homme Yankton El Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 1898Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Bon Homme, Yankton

  • Clay-Union Electric CorpCooperative · EIA 3716Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Clay, Lincoln, Turner, Union, Yankton

  • H-D Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 7870Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin

  • Whetstone Valley Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 20422Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Codington, Deuel, Grant, Roberts

  • Codington-Clark Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 3850Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (10)

    Beadle, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Roberts, Spink

  • Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD)Cooperative · EIA 10632Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Brown, Day, Marshall, Roberts, Spink

  • Dakota Energy Coop IncCooperative · EIA 4720
    Reported counties (11)

    Beadle, Buffalo, Faulk, Hand, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Miner, Sanborn, Spink, Sully

  • City of Sioux Falls - (SD)Municipal · EIA 17265Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Minnehaha

  • City of Madison - (SD)Municipal · EIA 11475
    Reported counties (1)

    Lake

  • Charles Mix Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 3315Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Bon Homme, Brule, Charles Mix, Douglas

  • Cam Wal Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 2986Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Campbell, Potter, Walworth

  • Oahe Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 13853
    Reported counties (2)

    Hughes, Sully

  • FEM Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 6272Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Edmunds, Faulk, McPherson

  • Winner Municipal UtilityMunicipal · EIA 20823Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Tripp

  • Union County Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 19493Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • City of Fort Pierre - (SD)Municipal · EIA 6615Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Stanley

  • City of FlandreauMunicipal · EIA 6390Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Moody

  • City of BeresfordMunicipal · EIA 1601Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Lincoln, Union

  • City of Volga - (SD)Municipal · EIA 19896
    Reported counties (1)

    Brookings

  • Traverse Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 19060Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Marshall, Roberts

  • Nebraska Public Power DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 13337
    Reported counties (1)

    Oglala Lakota

  • City of Elk PointMunicipal · EIA 5771Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Union

  • City of Miller - (SD)Municipal · EIA 12580Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hand

  • Kingsbury Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 10329Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Hamlin, Kingsbury

  • Douglas Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 5328Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Aurora, Charles Mix, Davison, Douglas, Hutchinson

  • City of Groton - (SD)Municipal · EIA 7712Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • City of Parker - (SD)Municipal · EIA 14489Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Turner

  • City of Tyndall - (SD)Municipal · EIA 19333Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Bon Homme

  • City of Arlington - (SD)Municipal · EIA 831Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Brookings, Kingsbury

  • City of Howard - (SD)Municipal · EIA 8919Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Miner

  • City of Wessington SpringsMunicipal · EIA 20359Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jerauld

  • City of Aurora - (SD)Municipal · EIA 1004Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brookings

  • City of Onida - (SD)Municipal · EIA 14138Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sully

  • City of Plankinton - (SD)Municipal · EIA 15134Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Aurora

  • City of Burke - (SD)Municipal · EIA 2534Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Gregory

  • City of Estelline - (SD)Municipal · EIA 5995Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamlin

  • City of Colman - (SD)Municipal · EIA 3735Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Moody

  • City of Big Stone City - (SD)Municipal · EIA 1698Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • City of McLaughlin - (SD)Municipal · EIA 3633Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Corson

  • City of White - (SD)Municipal · EIA 40435Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brookings

  • City of Bryant - (SD)Municipal · EIA 2448Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Hamlin

  • City of HeclaMunicipal · EIA 8379Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Brown

  • City of Faith - (SD)Municipal · EIA 6157Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Meade

  • Town of Langford- (SD)Municipal · EIA 26120Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marshall

  • Town of Pickstown - (SD)Municipal · EIA 58139Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Charles Mix

  • City of Badger - (SD)Municipal · EIA 1080Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Kingsbury

  • Southeast Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17593Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Harding

  • Niobrara Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 13685Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fall River

  • Heartland Consumers Power DistPolitical Subdivision · EIA 40604Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (60)

    Aurora, Beadle, Bennett, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Custer, Davison, Day, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Fall River, Grant, Gregory, Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Meade, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Walworth, Yankton, Ziebach

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for South Dakota

1 state & utility record

Heartland Energy — administrator logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Sioux Falls City Light & Power heat-pump rebate

City of Sioux Falls / Heartland Energy · Heat pumps

The 2026 Power Forward program provides rebates for qualifying heat pumps for the municipal electric utility’s customers.

Benefit
Published tiers include $500 for qualifying mini-splits, $1,000 for qualifying ducted air-source systems, and $2,000 for specified electric-backup or geothermal systems.
Who may qualify
Only Sioux Falls City Light & Power electric customers; new equipment meeting the application’s capacity/system requirements.
Before applying or buying
Equipment must be installed and the application submitted by December 31, 2026. Funding is first-come, first-served; confirm funds before purchase.

No statewide solar cash rebate was verified in this focused review. This heat-pump example applies only to the named municipal utility, not all South Dakota customers. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.