VT · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Vermont solar regulations.

Coordinate the state net-metering authorization with the serving utility’s interconnection review.

pond surrounded by fall foliage with blue sky above
The Pogue in autumn, Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park, VermontPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Vermont.

Which rules cover your project?

Use the current PUC application route and utility tariff for the exact project. Confirm electrical and fire-safety jurisdiction, local siting and any historic requirements. Separate plug-in-device rules do not replace the fixed-system net-metering process.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

State service-territory map; confirm the utility for the exact property and use the current provider’s program terms.

Vermont DPS: Electric Utility Service Territory Map
Browse 21 reported provider records in Vermont

Electric delivery utilities 17

  • Green Mountain Power CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 7601
    Reported counties (13)

    Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham, Windsor

  • Vermont Electric Cooperative, IncCooperative · EIA 19791
    Reported counties (8)

    Addison, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orleans

  • City of Burlington Electric - (VT)Municipal · EIA 2548
    Reported counties (1)

    Chittenden

  • Washington Electric Coop - (VT)Cooperative · EIA 20151Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Caledonia, Orange, Orleans, Washington

  • The Town of Lyndon Elec Dept - (VT)Municipal · EIA 11359Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Caledonia, Essex, Orleans

  • Town of HardwickMunicipal · EIA 8104Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Caledonia, Lamoille, Orleans, Washington

  • Village of Morrisville - (VT)Municipal · EIA 12989Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lamoille

  • Town of Stowe - (VT)Municipal · EIA 27316Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lamoille

  • Village of Swanton - (VT)Municipal · EIA 18371Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • Village of Ludlow - (VT)Municipal · EIA 11305Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Windsor

  • Barton Village, IncMunicipal · EIA 1299Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Orleans

  • Village of Northfield - (VT)Municipal · EIA 13789Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Village of Enosburg Falls - (VT)Municipal · EIA 5915Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Franklin

  • Village of Hyde Park - (VT)Municipal · EIA 9144Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lamoille

  • Village of Johnson - (VT)Municipal · EIA 9806Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lamoille

  • Village of Jacksonville - (VT)Municipal · EIA 9610Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Windham

  • Village of Orleans - (VT)Municipal · EIA 14261Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Orleans

On-site energy sellers 4

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ahana Renewables, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59622
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SunPower Capital, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 59580
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Vermont

1 state & utility record

Efficiency Vermont — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Ductless heat-pump discounts and income bonuses

Efficiency Vermont and participating electric utilities · Heat pumps

Qualifying new ductless systems receive a distributor discount, with additional income-qualified bonuses depending on the electric utility.

Benefit
Standard published distributor discount is $375–$475; Burlington Electric has different amounts, and income bonuses vary.
Who may qualify
New qualifying systems installed in Vermont and on the program product list at purchase; participating HVAC distributor and utility conditions apply.
Before applying or buying
Hire a contractor using a participating distributor. Confirm the utility-specific discount and income-bonus application before purchase; used/refurbished equipment is excluded.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.