WV · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

West Virginia solar regulations.

Confirm the utility’s current tariff and application timing before assuming a compensation structure.

bend in the river
Horseshoe Bend from Grandview, New River Gorge National Park and Preserve, West VirginiaPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in West Virginia.

  • West Virginia Code 24-2F-8 addresses net metering and interconnection, including a utility tariff and the date of an interconnection application.

  • The statute requires the PSC’s rules to address IEEE compliance and a disconnect accessible to the utility.

Which rules cover your project?

Statute alone does not establish the current export-credit rate or legacy eligibility for your utility. Obtain the applicable PSC-approved tariff and confirm local code adoption, wiring permits and inspection responsibilities.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

The PSC home page links its regulated-utility search. Municipal and other provider arrangements should be confirmed for the property.

West Virginia PSC: Utilities Operating in WV
Browse 11 reported provider records in West Virginia

Electric delivery utilities 10

  • Appalachian Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 733
    Reported counties (21)

    Boone, Cabell, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Wayne, Wyoming

  • Monongahela Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12796
    Reported counties (34)

    Barbour, Braxton, Brooke, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lewis, Marion, Mineral, Monongalia, Monroe, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt, Wood

  • The Potomac Edison CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 15263
    Reported counties (8)

    Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral, Morgan, Pendleton

  • Wheeling Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 20521
    Reported counties (4)

    Brooke, Marshall, Ohio, Wetzel

  • Harrison Rural Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 8192Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Barbour, Doddridge, Harrison, Lewis, Marion, Taylor, Upshur

  • Black Diamond Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 1764
    Reported counties (4)

    Clay, Kanawha, Raleigh, Wyoming

  • City of New Martinsville - (WV)Municipal · EIA 13471Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Wetzel

  • Philippi Municipal ElectricMunicipal · EIA 14954Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barbour

  • Craig-Botetourt Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 4471Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Dominion Energy — official logo
    Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 19876Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Grant, Preston

On-site energy sellers 1

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for West Virginia

1 state & utility record

TakeCharge West Virginia — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

TakeCharge West Virginia appliance and heat-pump rebates

Appalachian Power · Heat pumps

Appalachian Power’s program lists rebates for eligible heat-pump water heaters and mini-split heat pumps, among other efficiency measures.

Benefit
Amount depends on the current qualifying product and application; use the utility’s current rebate portal/forms.
Who may qualify
Eligible Appalachian Power West Virginia residential service and qualifying equipment; some measures require a qualified contractor.
Before applying or buying
Verify the exact product and contractor requirements before purchase. Apply using the current online portal or named rebate form and confirm funding/deadlines.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.