WI · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Wisconsin solar regulations.

Use PSC 119 interconnection procedures and your provider’s buyback or net-metering tariff.

Photograph of Lake Superior sandstone rock stack under a blue sky.
Stockton Island shoreline, Apostle Islands National Lakeshore, WisconsinPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Wisconsin.

Which rules cover your project?

Obtain current forms and tariffs from the provider, including a cooperative’s own terms if relevant. Check the local/state electrical inspection and plan-review responsibilities with DSPS and the municipality.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Official electric utility map resources; data accuracy depends on supplied boundaries, so confirm the address with the provider.

Wisconsin PSC: Interactive Service Area Maps
Browse 118 reported provider records in Wisconsin

Electric delivery utilities 118

  • We Energies — official logo
    Wisconsin Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 20847
    Reported counties (28)

    Brown, Calumet, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Florence, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Grant, Jefferson, Kenosha, Manitowoc, Marinette, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine, Rock, Shawano, Sheboygan, Vilas, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago

  • Wisconsin Power & Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 20856
    Reported counties (35)

    Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond Du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Lafayette, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Monroe, Oconto, Portage, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Shawano, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, Wood

  • Wisconsin Public Service CorpInvestor Owned · EIA 20860
    Reported counties (22)

    Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago

  • Northern States Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13780
    Reported counties (28)

    Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Dunn, Eau Claire, Iron, Jackson, La Crosse, Lincoln, Marathon, Monroe, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Washburn

  • Madison Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 11479
    Reported counties (1)

    Dane

  • Adams-Columbia Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 108
    Reported counties (12)

    Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green Lake, Jefferson, Marquette, Portage, Sauk, Waupaca, Waushara, Wood

  • Polk-Burnett Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15344
    Reported counties (6)

    Barron, Burnett, Dunn, Polk, St Croix, Washburn

  • Barron Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 1251
    Reported counties (8)

    Barron, Burnett, Chippewa, Dunn, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, Washburn

  • Riverland Energy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 16060
    Reported counties (6)

    Buffalo, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Pepin, Trempealeau

  • Oakdale Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 13936
    Reported counties (5)

    Jackson, Juneau, Monroe, Sauk, Wood

  • Sun Prairie UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 18312
    Reported counties (1)

    Dane

  • Manitowoc Public UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 11571
    Reported counties (1)

    Manitowoc

  • City of Kaukauna (WI)Municipal · EIA 10056
    Reported counties (1)

    Outagamie

  • Scenic Rivers Energy Coop — official logo
    Scenic Rivers Energy CoopCooperative · EIA 16740
    Reported counties (7)

    Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, Richland, Vernon

  • Superior Water and Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 18336
    Reported counties (1)

    Douglas

  • Northwestern Wisconsin Elec CoInvestor Owned · EIA 13815
    Reported counties (2)

    Burnett, Polk

  • Eau Claire Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 5632Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (8)

    Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Trempealeau

  • Wisconsin Rapids W W & L CommMunicipal · EIA 20862
    Reported counties (2)

    Portage, Wood

  • St Croix Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 17868Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Dunn, Pierce, Polk, St Croix

  • City of Marshfield - (WI)Municipal · EIA 11740
    Reported counties (3)

    Clark, Marathon, Wood

  • Vernon Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 19813Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (7)

    Crawford, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Vernon

  • Dahlberg Light & Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 4715
    Reported counties (3)

    Bayfield, Douglas, Washburn

  • Oconto Electric CooperativeCooperative · EIA 13964Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Shawano

  • Oconomowoc UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 13963
    Reported counties (1)

    Waukesha

  • Jump River Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 9922Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Barron, Chippewa, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor

  • Price Electric Coop IncCooperative · EIA 15356Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (9)

    Ashland, Iron, Lincoln, Oneida, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Vilas

  • Clark Electric Coop - (WI)Cooperative · EIA 3701
    Reported counties (6)

    Chippewa, Clark, Jackson, Marathon, Taylor, Wood

  • Bayfield Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1367Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Ashland, Bayfield, Douglas, Iron, Sawyer, Vilas

  • Dunn County Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 5417
    Reported counties (6)

    Barron, Chippewa, Dunn, Pepin, Pierce, St Croix

  • City of Menasha - (WI)Municipal · EIA 12298
    Reported counties (2)

    Calumet, Winnebago

  • Central Wisconsin Elec CoopCooperative · EIA 3293Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Marathon, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca

  • City of Stoughton - (WI)Municipal · EIA 18181
    Reported counties (2)

    Dane, Rock

  • Chippewa Valley Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 3498Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Barron, Chippewa, Dunn, Rusk, Taylor

  • Pierce-Pepin Coop ServicesCooperative · EIA 15034Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Buffalo, Pepin, Pierce, St Croix

  • Jackson Electric Coop, Inc - (WI)Cooperative · EIA 8574Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (6)

    Clark, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau

  • City of Sturgeon Bay - (WI)Municipal · EIA 18249
    Reported counties (1)

    Door

  • Rock Energy Cooperative — official logo
    Rock Energy CooperativeCooperative · EIA 16196
    Reported counties (4)

    Dane, Green, Rock, Walworth

  • City of Plymouth - (WI)Municipal · EIA 15159
    Reported counties (2)

    Fond Du Lac, Sheboygan

  • Hartford ElectricMunicipal · EIA 8212
    Reported counties (2)

    Dodge, Washington

  • City of River FallsMunicipal · EIA 16082
    Reported counties (2)

    Pierce, St Croix

  • Village of Waunakee - (WI)Municipal · EIA 20211
    Reported counties (1)

    Dane

  • Cedarburg Light & Water CommMunicipal · EIA 3208
    Reported counties (1)

    Ozaukee

  • Rice Lake UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 15938Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barron

  • Two Rivers Water & LightMunicipal · EIA 19324
    Reported counties (1)

    Manitowoc

  • East Central EnergyCooperative · EIA 5574
    Reported counties (3)

    Burnett, Douglas, Washburn

  • City of Sheboygan Falls - (WI)Municipal · EIA 17028Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sheboygan

  • City of New RichmondMunicipal · EIA 13481
    Reported counties (1)

    St Croix

  • North Central Power Co IncInvestor Owned · EIA 13697
    Reported counties (5)

    Ashland, Barron, Rusk, Sawyer, Washburn

  • City of Elkhorn - (WI)Municipal · EIA 5777Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Walworth

  • Shawano Municipal UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 17011
    Reported counties (1)

    Shawano

  • Reedsburg Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 15804
    Reported counties (1)

    Sauk

  • Taylor Electric Coop - (WI)Cooperative · EIA 18383Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Clark, Lincoln, Marathon, Taylor

  • Lake Mills Light & WaterMunicipal · EIA 10605
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • City of Medford - (WI)Municipal · EIA 12265Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Taylor

  • Waupun UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 20213
    Reported counties (2)

    Dodge, Fond Du Lac

  • Richland Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 15983Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Crawford, Richland, Sauk, Vernon

  • Jefferson UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 9690
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • Village of Mt. Horeb - (WI)Municipal · EIA 13036
    Reported counties (1)

    Dane

  • City of EvansvilleMunicipal · EIA 6043
    Reported counties (2)

    Green, Rock

  • New London Electric&Water UtilMunicipal · EIA 13467
    Reported counties (2)

    Outagamie, Waupaca

  • City of Clintonville - (WI)Municipal · EIA 3814Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Waupaca

  • Slinger UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 17324
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • City of Kiel - (WI)Municipal · EIA 10243Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Manitowoc

  • City of Columbus - (WI)Municipal · EIA 4073
    Reported counties (2)

    Columbia, Dodge

  • City of Richland Center - (WI)Municipal · EIA 15978
    Reported counties (1)

    Richland

  • Wisconsin Dells Electric UtilMunicipal · EIA 20844Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Adams, Columbia, Sauk

  • City of New Holstein - (WI)Municipal · EIA 13448
    Reported counties (1)

    Calumet

  • City of Black River FallsMunicipal · EIA 1776
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Bloomer Electric & Water CoMunicipal · EIA 1866Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chippewa

  • Pioneer Power and Light CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15086
    Reported counties (3)

    Adams, Marquette, Waushara

  • Village of Bangor - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1181Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    La Crosse, Monroe

  • Village of Sauk City - (WI)Municipal · EIA 16680Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sauk

  • Village of Prairie Du Sac - (WI)Municipal · EIA 15312
    Reported counties (1)

    Sauk

  • City of Spooner - (WI)Municipal · EIA 17811Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washburn

  • City of Barron - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1278Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barron

  • City of Arcadia - (WI)Municipal · EIA 765Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Trempealeau

  • Algoma Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 307
    Reported counties (1)

    Kewaunee

  • Waterloo Light & Water CommMunicipal · EIA 20182
    Reported counties (1)

    Jefferson

  • City of Fennimore - (WI)Municipal · EIA 6274Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • Brodhead Water & Lighting CommMunicipal · EIA 2273
    Reported counties (2)

    Green, Rock

  • City of Lodi - (WI)Municipal · EIA 11125
    Reported counties (1)

    Columbia

  • Village of Black Earth - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1765Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Dane, Iowa

  • Village of Trempealeau - (WI)Municipal · EIA 19114Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Trempealeau

  • City of Boscobel - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1997
    Reported counties (1)

    Grant

  • City of Cumberland - (WI)Municipal · EIA 4627Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Barron

  • Florence Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 6424
    Reported counties (1)

    Florence

  • Village of Pardeeville - (WI)Municipal · EIA 14451Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Columbia

  • Oconto Falls Water & Light CommMunicipal · EIA 13965
    Reported counties (1)

    Oconto

  • Hustisford UtilitiesMunicipal · EIA 9124
    Reported counties (1)

    Dodge

  • Village of Gresham - (WI)Municipal · EIA 7665Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shawano

  • Washington Island El Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 20153Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Door

  • City of New Lisbon (WI)Municipal · EIA 13466Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Juneau

  • Village of New Glarus - (WI)Municipal · EIA 13438
    Reported counties (1)

    Green

  • City of Eagle River - (WI)Municipal · EIA 5551
    Reported counties (1)

    Vilas

  • City of WestbyMunicipal · EIA 20434
    Reported counties (1)

    Vernon

  • Village of Stratford - (WI)Municipal · EIA 18200Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Marathon

  • City of Cuba CityMunicipal · EIA 4607
    Reported counties (2)

    Grant, Lafayette

  • Village of Mazomanie - (WI)Municipal · EIA 11895Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Dane

  • Juneau Utility CommMunicipal · EIA 9936
    Reported counties (1)

    Dodge

  • Village of Muscoda - (WI)Municipal · EIA 13145
    Reported counties (3)

    Grant, Iowa, Richland

  • City of Princeton - (WI)Municipal · EIA 15385Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Green Lake

  • City of CornellMunicipal · EIA 4369Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chippewa

  • Village of Cadott - (WI)Municipal · EIA 2759Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Chippewa

  • City of Elroy - (WI)Municipal · EIA 5834Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Juneau

  • Whitehall Electric UtilityMunicipal · EIA 20583
    Reported counties (1)

    Trempealeau

  • City of Shullsburg - (WI)Municipal · EIA 17130Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • Village of Cashton - (WI)Municipal · EIA 3156Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Monroe

  • Village of Hazel Green - (WI)Municipal · EIA 8336Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Grant, Lafayette

  • Westfield Electric CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 40036
    Reported counties (1)

    Marquette

  • Village of Benton - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1585Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • Village of Belmont - (WI)Municipal · EIA 1522Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • La Farge Municipal Electric Co - (WI)Municipal · EIA 10525Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Vernon

  • Village of Viola - (WI)Municipal · EIA 19867Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Richland, Vernon

  • City of Argyle - (WI)Municipal · EIA 792Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Lafayette

  • Wonewoc Electric & Water UtilMunicipal · EIA 20924Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Juneau

  • Village of Merrillan - (WI)Municipal · EIA 12336Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Jackson

  • Consolidated Water Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 4247
    Reported counties (2)

    Portage, Wood

  • Badger Power Marketing AuthorityWholesale Power Marketer · EIA 1572Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Shawano

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Wisconsin

1 state & utility record

Focus on Energy — official logo
Utility · rebateEligibility / funding conditions

Focus on Energy Solar for Homes

Focus on Energy and participating Wisconsin utilities · Solar

The 2026 program provides a cash rebate for qualifying residential solar installations served by participating utilities.

Benefit
Single-family solar rebate: $600 per kW, up to $2,400 under the current published schedule.
Who may qualify
Eligible owner/account holder, participating electric utility, new qualifying system and the program’s equipment, orientation and shading rules.
Before applying or buying
Reserve rebate funds before installation. For 2026 purchases/installations, apply within 60 days of completion and no later than January 31, 2027.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.