WY · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Wyoming solar regulations.

Use Wyoming’s net-metering statute with the serving utility’s application and tariff.

A shimmering body of water with green vegetation on the shores and mountains in the background.
Oxbow Bend, Grand Teton National Park, WyomingPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 2 regulation sources

What to know in Wyoming.

Which rules cover your project?

Confirm eligibility and the utility’s current interconnection agreement instead of assuming an advertised system size qualifies. Use the Fire Marshal’s jurisdiction resources to identify the correct permitting and inspection office.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Lists the Commission’s electric utility responsibilities and regulated investor-owned providers; cooperative and municipal scope differs.

Wyoming PSC: Electric Utilities
Browse 36 reported provider records in Wyoming

Electric delivery utilities 36

  • Rocky Mountain Power — official logo
    PacifiCorpInvestor Owned · EIA 14354
    Reported counties (15)

    Albany, Big Horn, Carbon, Converse, Fremont, Hot Springs, Johnson, Lincoln, Natrona, Park, Platte, Sublette, Sweetwater, Uinta, Washakie

  • Cheyenne Light Fuel & PowerInvestor Owned · EIA 3461
    Reported counties (2)

    Albany, Laramie

  • Lower Valley Energy IncCooperative · EIA 11273
    Reported counties (3)

    Lincoln, Sublette, Teton

  • Powder River Energy CorpCooperative · EIA 19156
    Reported counties (5)

    Campbell, Crook, Johnson, Sheridan, Weston

  • Montana-Dakota Utilities CoInvestor Owned · EIA 12199
    Reported counties (2)

    Johnson, Sheridan

  • City of Gillette - (WY)Municipal · EIA 7222
    Reported counties (2)

    Campbell, Crook

  • High Plains Power IncCooperative · EIA 8566
    Reported counties (9)

    Big Horn, Carbon, Fremont, Hot Springs, Johnson, Natrona, Park, Teton, Washakie

  • City of CodyMunicipal · EIA 3881Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Park

  • Carbon Power & Light, IncCooperative · EIA 2998Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Albany, Carbon

  • High West Energy, IncCooperative · EIA 27058
    Reported counties (2)

    Albany, Laramie

  • Wyrulec CompanyCooperative · EIA 21079Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Goshen, Laramie, Platte

  • Bridger Valley Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 2215Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (3)

    Lincoln, Sweetwater, Uinta

  • Wheatland Rural Elec Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 20506Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (4)

    Albany, Goshen, Laramie, Platte

  • Big Horn Rural Electric CoCooperative · EIA 1675Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Big Horn, Johnson, Park, Sheridan, Washakie

  • City of Torrington - (WY)Municipal · EIA 19032Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Goshen

  • City of Powell - (WY)Municipal · EIA 15294Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Park

  • Garland Light & Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 6950Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (2)

    Big Horn, Park

  • Niobrara Electric Assn, IncCooperative · EIA 13685Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (5)

    Converse, Goshen, Niobrara, Platte, Weston

  • Black Hills Power, Inc.Investor Owned · EIA 19545
    Reported counties (3)

    Campbell, Crook, Weston

  • Town of Wheatland - (WY)Municipal · EIA 20512Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Platte

  • Town of Lusk - (WY)Municipal · EIA 11330Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Niobrara

  • City of Pine Bluffs - (WY)Municipal · EIA 15051Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Laramie

  • Town of Basin - (WY)Municipal · EIA 1779Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Big Horn

  • Town of Guernsey - (WY)Municipal · EIA 7759Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Platte

  • Yampa Valley Electric Assn IncCooperative · EIA 21081
    Reported counties (1)

    Carbon

  • Beartooth Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1417Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Park

  • Fall River Rural Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 6169
    Reported counties (1)

    Teton

  • Big Horn County Elec Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 1683Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Sheridan

  • Town of Lingle - (WY)Municipal · EIA 11099Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Goshen

  • NorthWestern Energy — official logo
    NorthWestern Energy LLC - (MT)Investor Owned · EIA 12825
    Reported counties (2)

    Park, Teton

  • Town of Fort Laramie- (WY)Municipal · EIA 6509Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Goshen

  • City of Deaver - (WY)Municipal · EIA 4981Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Big Horn

  • Willwood Light & Power CompanyCooperative · EIA 21664Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Park

  • Southeast Electric Coop, IncCooperative · EIA 17593Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Crook

  • Midvale Irrigation DistrictPolitical Subdivision · EIA 31516Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Fremont

  • WAPA-- Western Area Power AdministrationFederal · EIA 27000Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (15)

    Albany, Big Horn, Carbon, Converse, Fremont, Goshen, Hot Springs, Laramie, Lincoln, Natrona, Niobrara, Park, Platte, Sweetwater, Washakie

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Wyoming

1 state & utility record

Rocky Mountain Power — administrator logo
Utility · grid services incentiveEligibility / funding conditions

Wattsmart Battery program — Wyoming

Rocky Mountain Power · Storage

Qualifying Wyoming customers can earn enrollment incentives and ongoing credits for managed battery participation.

Benefit
Use the current Wyoming & Idaho incentive tab and terms.
Who may qualify
Rocky Mountain Power service, approved battery, required communications and customer-generation approval.
Before applying or buying
Follow the installer/application sequence before installation; review commitment, dispatch and withdrawal terms.

Selected official opportunities, not a complete inventory. Eligibility, participating utilities, available funds and application timing must be confirmed for the service address. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Confirm the adopted electrical, building and fire code editions and amendments with the authority issuing the permit. A utility approval does not replace construction permits or inspections.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.