MD · PLAN BEFORE YOU BUY

Maryland solar regulations.

Use the Maryland PSC small-generator interconnection standards and confirm the inverter’s certification and required settings before purchase.

Sunset over Chesapeake Bay, Maryland
Sunset over Chesapeake Bay, MarylandPhoto details & credits

Sources reviewed · 3 regulation sources

What to know in Maryland.

Which rules cover your project?

Select the utility’s accepted settings profile and confirm county/city electrical and building permits; state solar eligibility is not permission to operate.

Who provides electricity here?

Narrow possible delivery utilities by ZIP or confirm yours

Find the delivery utility on your electric bill first. A retail supplier or on-site solar seller may be a different company; your delivery utility handles the local grid connection.

Check your actual service address.

Use the local delivery utility for interconnection; a retail supplier does not replace that utility.

Maryland OPC local utility contacts
Browse 67 reported provider records in Maryland

Electric delivery utilities 12

  • Baltimore Gas & Electric CoInvestor Owned · EIA 1167
    Reported counties (9)

    Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Baltimore City, Calvert, Carroll, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince Georges

  • Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor Owned · EIA 15270
    Reported counties (2)

    Montgomery, Prince Georges

  • The Potomac Edison CompanyInvestor Owned · EIA 15263
    Reported counties (7)

    Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard, Montgomery, Washington

  • Delmarva PowerInvestor Owned · EIA 5027
    Reported counties (10)

    Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Annes, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, Worcester

  • Southern Maryland Elec Coop IncCooperative · EIA 17637
    Reported counties (4)

    Calvert, Charles, Prince Georges, St Marys

  • Choptank Electric Cooperative, IncCooperative · EIA 3503
    Reported counties (9)

    Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Annes, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, Worcester

  • Hagerstown Light DepartmentMunicipal · EIA 7908
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • Easton Utilities CommMunicipal · EIA 5625
    Reported counties (1)

    Talbot

  • Thurmont Municipal Light CoMunicipal · EIA 18901Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Frederick

  • Town of Berlin - (MD)Municipal · EIA 1615Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Worcester

  • Town of Williamsport - (MD)Municipal · EIA 20729Residential service not separately reported
    Reported counties (1)

    Washington

  • A & N Electric CoopCooperative · EIA 84
    Reported counties (1)

    Somerset

Electricity suppliers / retail marketers 50

  • Constellation NewEnergy, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 13374
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • WGL Energy Services, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 20659
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Inspire Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Just Energy Solutions Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 4100
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Direct Energy ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 54820
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • IDT Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 55815
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • CleanChoice Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58951
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Reliant Energy Northeast LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57037
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MPower Energy NJ LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60218
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • SFE Energy Maryland, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59084
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • XOOM Energy Maryland, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57490
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Titan Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59065
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmco Power MD, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57185
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Rushmore Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59807
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Stream Energy Maryland, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56876
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Public Power & Utility of Maryland, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58116
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Think Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 65310
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Greenlight Energy Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59810
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Major Energy Electric ServicesRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56504
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • AEP EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55722
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • American Power & GasRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59799
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • StateWise Energy Maryland LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62154
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Median Energy Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63168
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Ambit Energy Holdings, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56212
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Green Mountain Energy CompanyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7554
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Services Providers, IncRetail Power Marketer · EIA 55874
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Plus Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56265
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spark Energy, LPRetail Power Marketer · EIA 17710
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Powervine EnergyRetail Power Marketer · EIA 62148
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Alpha Gas and Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58964
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Interstate Gas Supply, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58957
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Viridian Energy PA LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58162
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Nordic Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59088
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • National Gas & Electric, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 63232
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • AP Holdings LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 56571
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • RPA Energy, Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 63695
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Atlantic Energy LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60583
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Eligo Energy, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59054
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Clearview Electric Inc.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 58974
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Discount Power Inc - (CT)Retail Power Marketer · EIA 59993
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Horizon Power and Light, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59062
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spring Energy RRH LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 60124
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Energy Harbor Corp.Retail Power Marketer · EIA 6458
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Park Power LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59797
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Shipley Choice, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59410
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • ENGIE Power & Gas LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 57307
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • North American Power and Gas, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58667
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 59931
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Town Square Energy East, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 58973
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • NextEra Energy Services, LLCRetail Power Marketer · EIA 7279
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

On-site energy sellers 5

  • Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 57313
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter · EIA 59647
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • EverBright, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66036
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Palmetto Solar, LLCBehind the Meter · EIA 66026
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

  • Spruce FinanceBehind the Meter · EIA 59943
    Reported counties (0)

    County coverage not reported in this source

Official logo sources · Initials indicate a logo not yet verified. Municipal-owner emblems identify the owning city or village.

Source: EIA-861 final 2025 detailed data · Reporting year 2025. Names and reported counties are historical survey data, not a live address lookup. A county can have several providers, and a listing does not mean every resident can choose it. Small/territory-only reports may not identify residential service separately.

Credits, rebates, and other opportunities.

Check the program’s scope before comparing savings: a tax exemption, equipment rebate, loan and electricity-export payment provide different benefits. Funding, utility territory, income, equipment and installation dates can limit eligibility. Amounts below are not added together or deducted from product prices.

Build a project incentive checklist for Maryland

3 state & utility records

Maryland Energy Administration — administrator logo
State · rebateApplications listed as open

FY27 Maryland Solar Access Program

Maryland Energy Administration · Solar

The FY27 program accepts upfront solar rebate reservation applications for income-eligible households.

Benefit
Rebate amount and income limits follow the FY27 funding announcement.
Who may qualify
Eligible Maryland households contracting with a contractor on the FY27 MSAP Participating Contractor List.
Before applying or buying
MEA must approve the upfront reservation before installation; payment is requested after installation and interconnection. Check funding before contracting.
Maryland Energy Administration — administrator logo
State · rebateApplications listed as open

FY27 Residential and Commercial Energy Storage Program

Maryland Energy Administration · Storage

The FY27 storage program is open, with an upfront reservation required before installation.

Benefit
See the current FY27 announcement; funding is limited.
Who may qualify
Qualifying residential households and other eligible applicants must meet the FY27 system and installation criteria.
Before applying or buying
Reserve before installation. Published deadline is May 31, 2027 at 3 p.m. Eastern; portal can close earlier when funding is fully requested.
Maryland Energy Administration — administrator logo
State · rebateCheck current availability

Home Energy Rebates launch status

Maryland Energy Administration · Multiple upgrades

Not yet accepting household applications: MEA’s September 30, 2026 update says revised applications were submitted to DOE and launch timing depends on federal approval.

Benefit
No currently claimable household rebate is established by this launch-status page.
Who may qualify
Future eligibility and equipment rules will depend on the approved program.
Before applying or buying
Follow the official launch page; do not assume a purchase made now will qualify retroactively.

Maryland’s separate solar/storage programs are available under their own rules; the state-administered federal Home Energy Rebates programs have a different launch status. This is a curated starting list, not every local incentive or a guarantee of available funding.

Federal programs in every state

The federal rules below apply nationally. State-administered federal rebates still require the local program to be operating and your project to meet its conditions.

  • Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)

    Closed / ended

    Not available for new property placed in service after December 31, 2025. Do not assume a federal 30% credit for a new 2026 solar, wind, geothermal or battery installation.

    IRS: Residential Clean Energy Credit
  • Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit (25C)

    Closed / ended

    The federal home-efficiency credit, including qualifying heat-pump improvements, ended for property placed in service after December 31, 2025.

    IRS: Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit
  • HOMES / High-Efficiency Electric Home Rebates

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Federally funded home-energy rebates operate through participating local administrators. Check the state program’s launch, current funding, eligible measures and application requirements. This is not a blanket rooftop-solar rebate.

    DOE: Home Energy Rebates Program
  • Weatherization Assistance Program

    Eligibility / funding conditions

    Income-eligible households may receive approved home-weatherization services through local agencies. This is assistance delivered through a program, rather than an automatic reimbursement for equipment you buy.

    DOE: How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance
Federal program details & filing sources

Permits and electrical codes.

Maryland Labor explains that some local jurisdictions adopt their own electrical codes and advises checking the local jurisdiction for the applicable adoption.

Use the adoption authority linked below to check the effective date and amendments. The newest published NEC edition is not automatically the edition adopted for your project.

Before ordering equipment.

Two conversations. Keep their answers separate.

Your proposed system and location inform separate local-authority and serving-utility questions, which become dated project records.
A question map, not an approval sequence. Local permit/code questions and utility interconnection/export questions have different scopes; processes and reviewers vary by address and serving utility. Keep permit and interconnection records

Track permits and interconnection in a project

  1. Confirm the permit authority

    Ask the city, county, or state electrical office which building, electrical and fire-code editions and amendments apply to this address. Request the solar/ESS permit checklist and inspection sequence.

  2. Confirm the utility process

    Give the serving utility your proposed capacity, inverter model and operating mode. Ask which interconnection application, tariff, export limits, meter changes and written operating authorization apply.

  3. Document the exact equipment

    Collect model-specific certificates, installation manuals, a one-line diagram, site/roof plans, and the battery/inverter pairing if storage is proposed. Check them with the permit authority and utility before ordering.

For the general permitting and inspection process: DOE: Permitting and Inspection for Rooftop Solar .

UL, NEMA, and system acceptance.

Different evidence, different scope.

UL 1973 concerns battery scope, UL 9540 concerns an exact energy storage system, and UL 9540A is a test method; one does not automatically replace another.
Conceptual scope labels, not certification marks or product approvals. A battery listing or fire-test report alone does not establish acceptance of a complete installed system. Read the exact model/configuration records. Check exact certification and test scope

Check the exact model and approved system configuration. A UL 1973 battery listing or UL 9540A fire-test report does not, by itself, establish UL 9540 certification of a complete storage system.

Open the UL & NEMA reference

Scope and system-level certification: UL Solutions: Energy Storage System Testing and Certification .

Official sources.

Open the source for current forms, eligibility, tariffs, and adopted rules. Utility-specific examples apply to that provider.